We stayed for 3 nights in a premier studio room, check in was slow it took 15 mins and during that time they only served 2 other people. The hotel is new, the location is ok, you can walk across the bridge and get to Smith St in 5 mins. There is very little around the waterfront itself, main outlets are a coffee shop and 2 bars/restuarants, some of the units are still empty and even on the Sat afternoon we arrived it was pretty quiet.
We had a premier studio room which was a good size, the double bed was 2 singles pushed together but it wasn't uncomfortable. The room had a TV, ipod dock, sofa and coffee table. The kitchenette was well equipped with cutlery, plates, mugs, glasses and also had a fridge, kettle, toaster and microwave all of which worked well. The hotel also provided sponge, washing up liquid, tea/coffee and sugar. The air-con was quiet and worked well.
Other reviewers had noted the poor housekeeping, the only issues we encountered was our bin wasn't emptied on the first or second day, nor was the tea/coffee replenished. On my way to reception I saw the housekeeping lady in the hall who rectified the problem immediately. The studio was clean, not spotless but definately clean, there was a little dust in the bathroom and when we arrived the towel rail was off the wall, a simple tightening of screws with our swiss army knife resolved that though!!
The gym and pool are very small, I don't think the hotel should advertise they have a gym, a better description would be a fitness room as it's very very small and only had 2 running machines, 2 cross trainers an exercise bike, then some free weights and a bench - not what I'd call a gym! The pool is also tiny considering the number or units/rooms at the hotel, I counted approx 15 sun loungers/chairs, while we were there the hotel wasn't busy at all but I can imagine it would be unbearable during times of even medium occupancy. Also the pool area isn't exactly private, nor is the gym, eveyrbody walking past on the waterfront can see through the screens into the pool area and then into the gym.
If you can get a bargain it's probably worth staying here, but I wouldn't go out of my way to stay here if I were in Darwin again. We paid £50 per night and at that price it represented good value as we used the kitchenette in our room, the pool and gym but I wouldn't pay much more than that.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay at Medina Grand Darwin Waterfront.
Report response as inappropriate
We appreciate the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback. In relation to the points you have raised I have addressed your concerns with both my Housekeeping and Front Office team to improve our overall guest experience.
I would like to thank you providing this feedback and if you would like to discuss this in more detail, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.