We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too pricey” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront to your Saves list
Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Kitchener Drive, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 37 Hotels in Darwin
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Too pricey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

The location is excellent. The staff were great. Breakfast was friendly. Dinner was ok. The biggest issue is value for money. The price per room warrants a top class value for money experience. The quality of dinner food and slow dining service let it down. For the money, make wifi free.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralph D, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Dear Anthony D,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront.

We're glad to read that you enjoyed breakfast and found our staff helpful. I will share your feedback about your dining experience with our Food & Beverage team so they can looks ways to improve the overall dining experience.

Thank you again for sharing the experience of your stay with us and we hope to see you again next time.

Kind regards,
Ralph D’souza
Assistant Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    217
    97
    43
    18
See reviews for
80
190
41
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk, Uk
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

The Adina is on the newly developed waterfront which is a fantastic location. Our room was well laid out and equipped with everything we needed. We were above a bar restaurant but when the balcony doors are shut the room is well insulated from any noise. The reception staff were really helpful, we had a problem with a hotel pick up for a trip we had booked (not through the hotel) and they obligingly phoned the tour operator and got it sorted for us. We didn't try the hotel restaurant as there are lots of other restaurants on the waterfront. There is also a small mini mart but avoid using this for your self catering supplies as it is 50% more expensive than Coles supermarket which is a 15 minute walk into town. Outside the Adina the waterfront has a large green area and a section of the sea walled off with a fake beach for safe swimming, alternatively there is a wave pool with a limited number of sunbeds (get there early!) shallow pools and fountains, boogie boards and inflatable rings. It's $7 to go in and well worth it as it is a lot of fun. The Adina also has a small pool and Jacuzzi which is very handy for a cooling dip, out of the sun, at the end of a day of hot and humid exploration.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms face trees in a seating area out the front, this obscures and view, although it do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralph D, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Campbell2pink,

Thank you for the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback!

The team and I were delighted to read your comments about our location and the layout of our rooms. My team were especially pleased by the comment you made about them being helpful so thank you for this recognition, it is much appreciated.

Thank you again for sharing the experience of your stay with us and we hope to see you again next time.

Kind regards,

Ralph D’souza
Assistant Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagait Beach
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

Great location, comfortable room. However, we were told the buffet breakfast was available until 10.30am - we arrived at 10am after a very needed sleep in, only to discover the staff clearing away. No option was given. When we mentioned this at check out, the staff couldn't have cared less. Very disappointing as everything else was very good.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralph D, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Michelle D,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront.

I have shared your comments with the reception team so we are careful and ensure we give out the right information. Our breakfast buffet is open until 10:30 am on weekends and I believe there was a lapse in communication. We usually get good reviews about the helpfulness of our team and I'm disappointed that we didn't deliver on this occasion. Your feedback gives us the opportunity to work on our shortcomings and improve our service standards.

Thank you again for sharing the experience of your stay with us and we hope to see you again next time.

Kind regards,

Ralph D'souza,

Assistant Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Darwin Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traralgon
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014

The location of the Adina is fantastic. It is right on the foreshore and within a short walk to swimming, fantastic array of restaurants and cafes and close to the city You can have a great time without going anywhiere, despite the fact that there is so much to do.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralph D, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear John S,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront.

I am so glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us.


Thank you for pointing out our great location in your review. The waterfront precinct does offer a fantastic variety of activities & dining options and it’s wonderful that you were able to enjoy some of the attractions on offer.

Thank you again for sharing the experience of your stay with us and we hope to see you again next time.

Kind regards,

Ralph D’souza
Assistant Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katherine
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Fantastic accommodation, great views and attentive staff. Meals were of exceptional quality at a reasonable price and I wouldn't hesitate to stay again.
The staff were all very friendly, even ringing my room on the second night to check that all was well and whether I needed anything. Having to pay separately for parking was the only, & minor, complaint.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralph D, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Andy B,

Firstly, I would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review about Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront.

We’re so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay!

My team were especially pleased by the comment you made about them being friendly & attentive so thank you for this recognition, it is much appreciated.

Thank you again for sharing the experience of your stay with us and we hope to see you again next time.

Kind regards,

Ralph D’souza
Assistant Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Very good quality resort style accommodation with excellent guest room & function rooms and friendly polite staff who treated me as a valued customer that they wanted to return. Book early to avoid disappointment

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralph D, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Peter B,

Thank you for the time you have taken to provide us with your feedback!

The team and I were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. My team were especially pleased by the comment you made about them being polite & friendly so thank you for this recognition, it is much appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront in the near future.

Many thanks,

Ralph D’souza
Assistant Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

This apartment hotel is in a great location! The staff for very friendly and incredibly helpful. We were catching up with close friends and the adjoining rooms were great. The beds were comfortable, the rooms were clean and well presented and the apartment had all amenities you could want away from home. This is the second time we have stayed here and just love it - well done Adina.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralph D, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear StefBrisbane,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront.

I am so glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Thank you for pointing out our great location in your review. I am also pleased that you found with our team to be friendly & helpful, and I will certainly share your comments with them.

Thank you again for sharing the experience of your stay with us and we hope to see you again next time.

Kind regards,

Ralph D’souza
Assistant Hotel Manager
Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront

Address: 7 Kitchener Drive, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Darwin
#2 Luxury Hotel in Darwin
#4 Family Hotel in Darwin
#5 Business Hotel in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront 4.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Toga Hotels, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Grand Darwin Waterfront Hotel Darwin
Medina Grand Hotel Darwin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.