We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront to your Saves list
Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Kitchener Drive, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Darwin
1 review
“Great stay!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Beautiful views, neat and well presented room. Close to many attractions and restaurants. Would have liked a bigger bathroom and the walk from the car park lift to the room was considerable. Overall lovely stay and well priced. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralph D, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront, responded to this review, April 28, 2013
Dear Missem88,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay at Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront and thank you for taking the time to provide us with your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Ralph D'souza
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    177
    87
    37
    17
See reviews for
64
156
36
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is a nice apartment hotel,the rooms are very new, clean and well set out. My room had a king bed,bath/shower small lounge and kitchenette.
Air conditioning works well especially hen you've been out in the Darwin heat and humidity all day.

My only disappointment is you can't turn the air conditioning off at night which means you freeze and dehydrate at the same time, otherwise it's all good.
The pool looked great as did the gym, neither of which I had time to use but it did look nice. Make sure you try for. Room on level 4 top floor and ask for an ocean view otherwise your room will face the street and a cliff wall.

Room Tip: High floor ocean view, away from lifts
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralph D, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Dear AvHoche,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay with us. Our housekeeping staffs work tirelessly to ensure our apartments & pool areas look impeccable and your feedback will encourage them.

Our air conditioning is centralised and designed to keep up with the Darwin heat. However, we are also environmentally friendly wherein our air conditioning stops if the guests open their balcony doors to enjoy natural temperatures.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront.

Kind regards,
Ralph D’souza
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

My Partner and i stayed at the Adina for a night for a lil romantic get away, we were greeted by some fantastic service at the front desk.
Whilst it seemed a fair trek to Our room it was nice bed, was very comfy not an issue with the Air conditioning as i have seen from other guest who have stayed here.
Pool area was great with the exception of the 2 young children doing bombs and flips in to the pool, Maybe more attention from the staff to halt this behavior but also ultimately its the parents responsibility to care for there children.
F&B staff where great, drinks were spot on and the Breakfast was more than adequate in the morning.
Will be staying again when the time arises.
Well done Adina!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralph D, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Dear Beno613,

Thank you for staying at The Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront and for sharing encouraging feedback through TripAdvisor.

The team takes great pride in the service they offer and your feedback inspires them to create moments of delight for our guests.

We will learn from your feedback and pay more attention to the pool so that our guests can enjoy every moment in our lovely pool area.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.

Thank you,

Kind regards,
Ralph D’souza
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

I woke this morning to a room at 16.9 degrees. When I arrived the airconditioner control panel was broken. I managed to convice reception that this was the case and they replaced it, saying 'this happens all the time'. I then had a dub-dub fan all night. This was fixed the next morning, however despite opening the window and calling reception the room temperature persisted at below 22 degrees. This can't be good for this beautiful environment.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralph D, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear Sazette114,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us some feedback on your recent stay at the Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin.

We’re disappointed to hear that you had problems with our air conditioning. Please be assured that this doesn’t happen all the time as we regularly monitor and service our air conditioning. I will share your feedback with my team so that we improve the way we manage and follow up whenever air con related problems are reported.

We hope you will give us an opportunity in the near future to give you a true reflection of the high standards we try to set at Adina.

Kind regards,
Ralph D’souza
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Room was nice. Location awesome. Staff great. Only downside was the air conditioning was not the best in the room which made it hard to keep it at the right temp. Will stay there again when we are having a night out in town

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ralph D, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear KiwiNT,

Thank you for your wonderful remarks, which I have shared with our staff. We are thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Ralph D'Souza
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Pros: Good location. Near convention centre, wave pool and restaurant precinct.

Cons: Dirty hotel, needs a scrub. Rooms have uncomfortable beds and aircon is a bit flakey (air con is essential in Darwin). Staff are pretty bad or at best disinterested. Checking in was slow. Food was quite bad at breakfast, poached eggs were hard and dry. Fruit salad was not fresh and seemed to be fermenting. Business facilities terrible: no work spaces, patchy Internet access which seemed off more than on.

Stay here if its cheap. Not if you want a nice time.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swoodbury, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear MattoTravel,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us some feedback on your recent stay at the Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin.

I am sorry that your stay did not meet your expectations.

I have shared your feedback with our team to ensure we understand and focus more on our guests needs.

I am glad you enjoyed the hotels location.

It is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Saxon Woodbury
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

You don't come to Darwin for the history and culture that's for sure. They seem to be hung up on 2 events in their history; a cyclone and a bombing raid. It seems that nothing else has ever happen in Darwin.

I was pleasantly surprised with the hotel on arrival. The hotel entrance is beautiful looking, modern, elegant and clean.

No issues with the room, all the usual facilities available (fridge, TV etc) and at a relatively cheap price. The hotel is located on the waterfront as the name suggest.

There are old World War II oil tunnels about 5 minutes away which are not very well advertised or promoted, but it costs about $6 to get in and can provide an hours entertainment about pre- and post-war Darwin.

It has a small pool area which was never over-subscribed. Quite noisy when the kids are splashing around in but but ok generally. On a positive note, it does have a bar attached to it so you can enjoy a cold beer while relaxing in the pool. This is awesome and we spent many hours doing this.

The hotel attached to the restaurant is extremely expensive and with a poor selection of food. From memory the buffet breakfast id $30 per person. For a buffet. Ridiculous. I only ate there once. You'd be better off going across the waterfront to the Irish place, much cheaper is you can tolerate the poor service and downbeat Irish employees. There are other good restaurants on the waterfront or within a short walking distance.

The gym is just a couple of treadmills, a cross-trainer a bike and a few light free weights. Minimal.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swoodbury, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear SeanVintin,

Thank you for your review on the Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back

Kind regards

Saxon Woodbury
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront

Address: 7 Kitchener Drive, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Darwin
#2 Family Hotel in Darwin
#2 Luxury Hotel in Darwin
#3 Business Hotel in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront 4.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Toga Hotels, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Grand Darwin Waterfront Hotel Darwin
Medina Grand Hotel Darwin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.