We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Waterfront CBD Location, complicated parking, poor internet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront to your Saves list
Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   7 Kitchener Drive, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 38 Hotels in Darwin
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great Waterfront CBD Location, complicated parking, poor internet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Booked a studio apartment for 4 nights early Nov 2012, internet rate of $159.00, not bad for Darwin. The room was in the Medina on the 4th floor, room 437. It was smaller than I anticipated, but quite nice. There was a window that could be opened that had a great view out toward the waterfront parkland and wavepool, with Stokes Hill Wharf and the harbour in the background. There was nowhere really to sit, a small sofa would have been nice but there was simply no room, so a desk chair had to do. The hotel is in a great spot if your looking for a CBD location, it has access to the town centre by a foot bridge, about a 10 minute walk, and the new parklands are very nice. The parking was somewhat complicated, you had to park in a council run carpark next door to the hotel, the hotel only has a limited number of car passes, which cost $10 per day, if you cant get a pass you have to pay via the ticket machine which costs $33 per day and the hotel will refund $23. The internet was a joke, in room access was extremely costly, aparently there was a free half hour with your own laptop in the lobby but it didn't work. In summary it was a nice small studio room in a great location. By the way walk over to Stokes Hill Wharf in the evening, there are lots of take away food outlets and a small bar, great place to have fish n chips and watch the sunset.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swoodbury, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear GlenGoldCoast,

Thank you for your valuable feedback about your stay at the Medina Grand Darwin Waterfront.

I am glad you enjoyed the hotels location with easy access into the CBD and Stokes Hill Wharf.

Thank you again for sharing your experience.

Kind Regards


Saxon Woodbury
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    177
    87
    37
    17
See reviews for
64
156
36
132
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

This was our 2nd visit to the Medina Grand this year with our last visit being for New Year. Since then there seems to be a few hiccups... Our check in was fast however our first room was directly alongside a large air con unit mounted outside the window. It was very noisy and we requested a room change which was immediately processed. The apartments are well appointed, clean and spacious. A joy to stay in. The parking is a nuisance if they don't have any swipe cards left, as you have to pay and then ask for reimbursement. The biggest issue however is the pool. Only 2 or 3 umbrellas for shade, and when we asked if there were any more that could be brought out, told no that's all we have ? Given the UV factor in Darwin I would have thought the hotel would be more sun conscious. Another issue was the pool towels. We waited over an hour for towels, despite us and many others asking several staff, including front desk staff. Is there a shortage of towels at The Medina ? Strangely when the hotel was very busy over New Year we didn't encounter any of these problems. Still a good hotel in the best location. Good dining options on the waterfront and looking forward to returning next year.

Room Tip: Request a room overlooking the wave pool/grassed area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swoodbury, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear CaMaWa

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Medina Grand Darwin Waterfront.

I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our team as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience.

Sincerely,

Saxon Woodbury
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

The parking is madness next to hotel, drive up 6 levels, then get lift down to hotel and depending on your room a very, very long walk! If they run out of passes, which they do, expect more hassle as you have to pay each time you go out and claim back at the end of your visit! It is a nice hotel, good location but this parking feature does make your visit a lot of fuss, if you have young kids and a car please forget it!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swoodbury, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear AndrewWinterFOXTELTX,

Thank you for taking the time to provide some feedback on your recent stay at the Medina Grand Darwin Waterfront.

I was disappointed to hear your comments regarding the Hotel Carpark. Please accept my sincerest apologies.

We have since reviewed the current procedure and are making some changes to insure we are provideing the service and standard that we pride ourselves and one would expect from the Medina Grand Darwin Waterfront.

Thank you again for sharing your experience.

Sincerely,

Saxon Woodbury
Assistant Hotel Manager




Kind Regards,

Saxon Woodbury
Assistant Hotel Manager

In regards to your comments about the Hotel Carpark. We are currently in the process of rolling out a new procedure so that these occurences may be avoided in the future. I apologise if it caused you discomfort during your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Basic room with limited inclusions. Having stayed in motel rooms the previous two nights for $85, paying $150 for this room of compairiable quality seemed like a bit of a rip off.

Granted, the view was lovely, the pool nice and the restaurants being close by is nice, but the air-conditioning struggled, the parking and lift arrangements are poor - how stingy having to pay for parking and overall it was nothing outstanding.

Its not bad, its just not great.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swoodbury, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Sassy G

Thank you for your review on the Medina Grand Darwin Waterfront, I am glad that you enjoyed the view from your room and the Hotel pool.

I look forward to welcoming you back very soon

Kind regards

Saxon Woodbury
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowral, New South Wales, Australia
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed at the Medina for a couple of nights on a business trip to Darwin. Comfortable, spacious room, which was in very good condition and very clean. Plenty of good quality facilities at the hotel. Waterfront and wave pool just to the rear of the premises. Plenty of bars and restaurants within a 1-2 minute walk on the waterfront. Easy quick access by foot to central Darwin via the Skywalk.

Room Tip: Plenty of places on the nearby water front (Irish pub, italian restaurant, etc) to have a beer and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swoodbury, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear BFD

Thank you for your review on the Medina Grand Darwin Waterfront, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay.

I look forward to welcoming you back very soon

Kind regards

Saxon Woodbury
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mona Vale, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite/apartment on the weekend. It was comfortable but we struggled with the air-conditioning - couldn't get it to go down. Unfortunately the only 2 bedroom suites face the road so the outlook was very public and we had to keep the curtains closed for privacy. We had envisioned water/harbour views. The location is great as it in in the Waterfront precinct and is a reasonably easy walk to the city (about 15 mins).
We found one particular staff member particularly difficult on arrival last Friday. It was refreshing to be met with different staff on Monday night - with a much more welcoming and friendly attitude.
The pool was very uninviting, but there is a public wave pool outside as compensation.
We ate out - several food places close by and restaurants on the wharf in walking distance.

Room Tip: Request harbour front with views - otherwise you get a view of the road behind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swoodbury, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear sand_between_the_toe,

Thank you for taking the time to provide some feedback on your recent stay at the Medina Grand Darwin Waterfront.

I was disappointed to hear your comments regarding the team member who assisted you on the Friday afternoon. Please accept my sincerest apologies.

Please note that we strive to provide a high quality service and standard and it appears that we failed on this occassion. I have passed on your comments with the relevant department concerned so that these occurences may be avoided in the future.

It is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Saxon Woodbury
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Rooms are good, hallways narrow with a strange smell at times and seem to be always blocked with cleaning staff trolleys. No good if u have a child troller or pram. No supermarkets or the like in the area. Buffet breakfast very average, tinned fruit. awfull machine coffee, cold hot food etc. Access to the Convention Centre and wave pool good.

Room Tip: Request a waterfront view. Avoid the breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swoodbury, Manager at Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Moby-Wan

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent stay at the Medina Grand Darwin Waterfront. We very much appreciate your feedback as it allows us the opportunity to continually review and improve our service and facilities.

I have shared your feedback with our Executive Housekeeper and Food and Beverage Manager to ensure we understand and focus more on our guests needs.

I am glad you enjoyed the hotels location.

It is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,

Saxon Woodbury
Assistant Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront

Address: 7 Kitchener Drive, Darwin, Northern Territory 0800, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Darwin
#2 Family Hotel in Darwin
#2 Luxury Hotel in Darwin
#3 Business Hotel in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront 4.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Toga Hotels, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Medina Grand Darwin Waterfront Hotel Darwin
Medina Grand Hotel Darwin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adina Apartment Hotel Darwin Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.