We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Beach

La Beach
51 Marina Blvd, Darwin, Northern Territory, Australia
(08) 8941 7400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 248 Restaurants in Darwin
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Darwin, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Definitely the best fish & chips in Darwin. Everything about this place is great - the staff, the location, the scenery & the price. It's the best spot to take a picnic rug down and watch the sunset with kiddies playing on the beach or the grass area.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    26
    16
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
australia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“ideal spot in Darwin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed this terrific, low key cafe at Cullen bay..easy system to order, pay as you go with beeper to alert when meal ready.. we both had some wonderful fresh gold band schnapper, with fresh salad and of course chips.. beautifully cooked both battered and grilled. Terrific outlook, not expensive and definitely one to come back to.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Best Barramundi in Darwin!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We are Barramundi lovers and on our recent trip to Darwin we had quite a few Barra meals but the meal we had at La Beach was definitely the best! We simply loved getting the fish and chips in butchers paper and sitting on our chairs out the front on the grass watching the sunset. To top it off the barra was superb - cooked perfectly and reasonably priced! We are only sorry that we didn't find this restaurant until the day before we left Darwin. We will definitely return next time we visit Darwin.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great position but get there early”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

we had planned to eat fish and chips and watch the sunset however we lined up for about 20 minutes to place our order to only be told that they had run out of certain things and there would a forty minute wait. Disappointing as we were recommended this restaurant by friends. My recommendation is to get there early and order quickly!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“spectacular sunset and delicious seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

I came here years ago when it was a fancy restaurant. New management has meant that there is no longer the table service or white linen tablecloths but this has in no way impacted on the quality of the seafood.

The restaurant now has a more casual and relaxed feel which "goes with the Territory" and is really family friendly. The service was fantastic and the location was amazing. Oysters, Barramundi and champagne watching the sunset = very happy family.

Highly recommended if you want an easy good quality and casual dinner with amazing views.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Beach also viewed

 

Been to La Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.