We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Youth Shack

Youth Shack
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Youth Shack to your Saves list
Youth Shack
69 Mitchell Street, Darwin, Northern Territory 801, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Darwin
North Qld
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Like a few reviews we ended up here after a 3am flight when the rest of Darwin were wanting $300+ check in at 3am = cash only as their credit card machine is switched off at 10pm very strange so bring cash! For $90 the room was ok - double bed - awful thin pillows - was quiet enough and a/c worked well - shared bathroom was clean(ish) good location central to the CBD

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbe T, Manager at Youth Shack, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Hi jjaus,

Thank you for your review.
Our Eftpos facilities are out not available during 10pm and 6am which we apoligise for the inconvenience.

Thank you again for your review feed back as all is welcome.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    38
    32
    20
    39
See reviews for
3
30
50
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

This hostel is ideal if you're the kind of traveller who isn't so much into travelling, but drinking and shouting and generally being revolting.
It seems to be set up to cater to the lowest common denominator, and I guess will continue to do so to get business. However, I have never stayed somewhere so gross - the cleaners did a good job each morning but within hours it was truly disgusting again.
The management could deal with this by choosing to respond differently with people who leave rubbish, used sanitary products, half eaten food, etc in all the shared public places.
But the attitude of the managemnt seems lenient towards those being so disrespectful, loud, offensive and genuinely unhygenic? Not sure why, but avoid it if you think that sounds unpleasent. It is. We only booked there 'cos other accom was full on the long weekend.
However, if you enjoy drunkenly throwing up in carpeted hallways, leaving chicken out on the shared tables on hot days to attract flies, or increasing your chances of catching some hygiene-related illness, this place is for you.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbe T, Manager at Youth Shack, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Hi there,

I'm sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay with us in our hostel as we do pride ourselves on providing great customer service and a place to call home for many.

Our backpacker has a high number of young travelers that come to Darwin to either experience the top ends beautiful surroundings such as Kakadu and Litchfeild or stay and work.
We cater for all ages providing private rooms for the travelers that feel sharing with fellow tourists is not their thing.

As we are located on Mitchell St which is the heart of Darwin City our guests do like to enjoy themselves and in some cases will be noisy when returning back from a night out which is why we have a night manager to make sure everyone is being considerate of all our guests.
We also have a night cleaner around to ensure our hostel is keep clean at all times.

Thank you for your review as all feedback is welcome
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puchong
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Took a 4 bed dorm and stayed 6 nights. Air condition works well but the only disadvantage is the power points. Only 2 for each room. Fortunately my roommate had an extension wire. Check in at 9.45PM and as there was a change of shift, only check in at 10.30PM. So do remember to avoid the change of shift when you check in. Had my own personal car park which is complementary if you stay here. It is first come first serve. They also have a good pool to relax in. Notice they have 2 free diners per week if you buy a drink at Batji but miss this one as I notice it only when I check out. The hostel is also near Woolworth and Coles which is an advantage if you are cooking your own. Kitchen is clean and this hostel is very central location.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbe T, Manager at Youth Shack, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Hi David,

Thank you for your review and i'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us while in Darwin.

We are in the perfect location right in the heart of Mitchell street just a stroll away from the supermarkets and right next door to the pubs.
Providing dinner for guests staying with us is a great way for everyone to socialise and creates a great environment .

Thanks again and i if you ever come back to Darwin make sure you pop in and say hi...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed in a 4 bed dorm and private room.
Check in was prompt and we were in a 4 bed dorm, it was ok for 2 nights but for longer may have been a bit cramped, was clean though. After a 3 day camping tour I was looking forward to a warm shower but they were cold and this continued.
We went on our tour and returned to a private double room. It was ok but was next to the pool and bar so was really noisy. The music started at 9am in the morning which I think is a little bit early.
The location was really good, right in the centre of the clubs, restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbe T, Manager at Youth Shack, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Hi Natasha,

Thank you for your review on our hostel all feedback is welcome.

In regards to our hot water i checked when you stayed with us and we were experiencing trouble with our hot water system,this has been fixed since then and there is now hot showered guests all around.

With being on Mitchell street and also our hostel having a bar does tend to get a little noisy, although our music cannot be played after 10 pm i understand there are some loud backpackers that have caused disruption whilst trying to sleep which we have addressed.

Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night in a private room as it was the only place left. Thank god it was only one night. All bad reviews are true, the whole place smells of cheese. The toilets are on a whole new level, used tampons and blood on the floor, flooded toilets, no toilet roll, pictures are attached. As we left a cockroach was crawling across the bed. The whole place is full of drunk chavs, one of which was comatosed in the toilet when I went in at 6am. We've stayed in loads of hostels across Australia and this was the worst by far - filthy and no atmosphere at all, more like a half way house than a hostel. AVOID!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbe T, Manager at Youth Shack, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Hi

Thanks you for your review, i'm sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your stay here.
I can see in your review you have commented on the state of the toilets and i apoligise for that, we have hired a night cleaner to now make sure all communal areas are clean during the night as this is when a lot of our guest get in from a night on Mitchell street.

We are a Backpackers and tend to get a lot of travelers who take to Mitchell street a little to hard and end up back at our hostel and not necessarily in there bed.

We have a very lively hostel with our bar, holding games and interactive activities for our guests to get involved in also free dinners 4 times a week to keep a social atmosphere and full belly's.

Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

At 39, I was a bit nervous about staying at a backpacker's, particularly one with Youth in the name. However my husband and I stayed in a double room with private bathroom, and found it very much like a basic motel room, but with the benefits of being clean, close to everything, and having inexpensive drinks down by the pool at Batji Bar. We were fortunate to be there when a great friendly crowd was staying, and didn't mind the little bit of noise on a Friday/Saturday night (when we weren't part of it!). No issues recommending this place to anyone wanting no-frills accommodation. Clean, tidy, central, air conditioned, inexpensive and fun! If you don't like drinking or the noise of a party, you could request a room farthest from the pool (though Mitchell St is really a party atmosphere anyway with pub beside and opposite!) I would stay there again. Took earplugs but didn't use them.

Reception staff were always helpful, Bar staff attentive and friendly. The only down side would be the lack of WiFi in the rooms, but not a huge deal for us.

Had shared kitchen for which you could borrow pots, crockery, cutlery for a deposit. We didn't use it, but looked great for backpackers.

Room Tip: We had room 402, one flight of stairs up and only the second door along. Convenient not to have to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbe T, Manager at Youth Shack, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Hi Jacqui,

Thank you for your review.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Youth Shack. It is an added bonus being so central to the nightlife of Mitchell Street.

We hope that one day you will come to stay with us again here at the Youth Shack.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laois Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Situated in a great location, rooms and common areas are kept very clean, great nights grains end by the staff, I.e backpacker nights BBQ etc. would stay here again :) arrived here in the middle of the night and the staff were very helpful, lockers in all bedrooms only negative thing I would say that there should be more power points beside each bed in the rooms, but not a massive issue either! Has wifi bar jobs board and job shack too :)

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Youth Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Youth Shack

Address: 69 Mitchell Street, Darwin, Northern Territory 801, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 41 Specialty Lodging in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 85
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Youthshack is located right in the beating heart of Darwin's tourist and central business district. This means Youthshack Hostel is near all the main attractions, pubs, shopping centres and beaches. Our Darwin hostel has all the modern comforts and facilities to cater all travellers from around the world! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, HostelBookers, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Youth Shack reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Youth Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.