We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very tidy and nice hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Youth Shack

Save Saved
You added Youth Shack to your Saves list
Youth Shack
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Youth Shack
69 Mitchell Street, Darwin, Northern Territory 801, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 39 Specialty lodging in Darwin
Darwin, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very tidy and nice hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I just stayed there for one night, but the
First
impression is very good... Nice helpful staff, awesome pool in
The middle of the hostel and tidy rooms with air conditioner and fan! There is a nice bar where you can till all your.. The location is perfect... Next to a Coles and not far away from all the ATMs.. It is also near to the Best club in darwin... The monsun...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    30
    26
    16
    33
See reviews for
1
28
36
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Being a mature traveller I was really worried about using a hostel but Tuesday who is part of the family run hostel completely put me at ease. She gave me a room in the quiter part of the hostel . It was a 4 bed and the girls were very respectful. The showers and toilets are very clean. It has a really happy atmosphere. All the staff are vrry friendly. The have a small area that has a lovely lady who gives great advice about trips and does all the booking. For travellers looking for work there is slso the job shack where Tuesday will help you find a job. Kitchen area is large and well kept. They also have a low tolerance of alcahol in the rooms which again is taking into account the comfort of others.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the 400s it is lovely and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

very clean, excellent facillites i.e. swimming pool , laundry, bar etc. close to all shops,pubs , restruarants. staff are very friendly and helpful. first visit to this hostel but definately would stay here again !
highly recommend!!!

Room Tip: stay here at the youth shack
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

Ive stayed here heaps of timesits a great place, facilities are awesome theres a pool and a deck for sunbathing. The rooms are small but adequate for what you need, its nice and clean and locations great. The staff are awesome too!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyon, France
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

I stayed there just for one night and changed hostel for the rest of my stay in Darwin !
the staff is quiet friendly and the reception is clean, but once I got in my dorm, the painting was falling off, it smelled bad, there is no space for everybody suitcases. They do provide with lockers but 2 of them where broken, I couldn't put my padlock on.

there is a bar and a swimming pool. It pretty much a party hostel. I had just come back from a tour through Kakadu national park , I was looking foward to a good night sleep..did not get it ! it's noisy (even with my earplugs), and the matress was uncomfortable. It had the shape of the previous people who slept on it.

no Free WiFi. No included breakfast.

the location is good though. it's in a busy street with lots of bars, shops and restaurants. the shuttle to the airport is just at the back of the building, very conveignant.
I would not recommend this hostel. it is not worth the 30$ a night I paid !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

This place wasn't bad. Every room had fans and air con, important at this time of year.
The bar was great, and last night if we bought any drink (even a coke) there was a free steak and salad. TV room was good. Didnt actually swim in the pool but it looked good. This place is probably one of the better options for backpackers in Darwin.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

When booking I did understand you get what you pay for but after spending the extra money to book out an entire room which was confirmed for me and my three friends we arrived to be told they had only made the booking for two of us (but paid for a four person room) and that we all had to be split us up into four different rooms. Not being happy about this we asked for some kind of refund, discount or drink at the bar and they said it was "not their problem, not all bookings are gaurenteed!" After spending around half an hour at reception we finally managed to get into two rooms in which one smelt and looked disgusting and the fan didnt work, the other on the other hand was not too bad still had dirty sheets from the last backpacker.
If your just looking for a bed and thats all this is the place but i wouldnt recommend to my friends!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Youth Shack? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Youth Shack

Address: 69 Mitchell Street, Darwin, Northern Territory 801, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Top End > Darwin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 39 Specialty lodging in Darwin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Youthshack is located right in the beating heart of Darwin's tourist and central business district. This means Youthshack Hostel is near all the main attractions, pubs, shopping centres and beaches. Our Darwin hostel has all the modern comforts and facilities to cater all travellers from around the world! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Agoda, HostelBookers and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Youth Shack reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Youth Shack, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.