We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive but very nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort

Save Saved
You added Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Yulara Drive | Ayers Rock Resort, Yulara, Northern Territory 0872, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Yulara
Orange
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Expensive but very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

We loved the upper class accommodation but it isn't cheap!

The restaurant for both breakfast and dinner is really quite good, but with $35 per head for a full breakfast buffet - again not cheap.

But we weren't disappointed as we expected this would be the must expensive leg of our journey.

My advice would be to save your $$$$'s and lash out here.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    486
    366
    111
    37
See reviews for
187
677
63
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The prices here are expensive, there is no getting around the fact that the whole resort takes advantage of the fact that you have no choice but to pay any amount they choose. Being such an isolated spot, and the only resort. The rooms are far from the lobby, and there was constantly housekeeping staff with trolleys out and sheets being moved around.

I found Desert Gardens to be quite nice. We had a rock view room, that had a nice balcony. The bathroom was very big and well renovated. The bed was very comfortable and we had no trouble with the housekeeping. The Wiru toiletries were great. Another advantage was how close it was to the town square. Don't bother waiting for the coach, as the walk is quicker. Overall my experience here was great and I would stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birdsville, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Stayed here for two nights on business. The devolved open plan style of the rooms is great but the reception/foyer layout and bag arrangements are strange and confusing. Clearly the intent is that everyone will arrive by coach as the car park is a fair hike from reception. Given the location the service and rooms are pretty good and the bathroom was a good size. Room facilities were clean and well maintained. I had wondered why there was an old fashioned oil heater in the room but the first night solved that as the temperature dropped to 1 degree and it became obvious that the air-conditioner was exactly that (just cooling and not heating), needed the oil heater on full to make the room comfortable. Second day it was 4.30pm before housekeeping came to service the room, I was settled so just took towels and coffee. I did note that the two housekeeping staff who were there were dressed in jeans and track suit pants respectively and I noticed many of the other service staff were the same. Struck me as very unprofessional for a quality property. But overall a pretty good stay and I well understand the issues involved with running a property in such an isolated location. Would stay here again

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stayed 3 nights in a desert view room and would probably stay again or recommend this hotel.

The positives are the rooms, which are large and comfortable. The overall resort is very nice with good free activities worth seeking out. The well stocked supermarket was a pleasant surprise and helpful as we are travelling on to other destinations after this stop. Buffet breakfast included in the price was good.

The downsides are that the desert view rooms face out on to a busy road - the main road from the resort to Uluru. This isn't the peaceful aspect in the marketing material. I'd still recommend these rooms over the cheaper rooms, but I'd rather have come knowing that the picture on the hotel web site of an unspoilt desert outlook is not accurate.

The housekeeping was the worst we've ever experienced. On one day the room servicing involved pulling the cover up over an unmade bed and replacing a toilet role. Towels left for housekeeping weren't changed, supplies such as tea bags weren't replaced, and no tidying or wiping surfaces. This wasn't a big deal for us, but I imagine might bother some people.

Parking is a long way from the rooms (in our case I'd say over 1km) and there is no offer of help with bags. Trolleys or a porter service would be good given the price. Next time I'd either bring a bag on wheels or insist that they help with our bags.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

My husband and I did not have a good experience at the Desert Gardens Hotel at Ayers Rock. Even though the place was not very full, being off-season, we were given a room way out in the boonies, far away from the lobby. It was dark and creepy to walk over to it at night. The cost of the room led us to believe we would receive first class service but this was not the case. The bedding comforter was so heavy, it was like being covered with a rock. I was unable to sleep with it on me so got up in the middle of the night to pull out the blanket from the closet. However, I got cold in the early morning so had to request a second blanket for the next night. In talking with fellow tour members, I discovered that they had much nicer bedding: light weight comforter with clean sheets under and over.

We discovered tea cups, tea and coffee packets in a cupboard but no kettle to boil water. Again, we had to ask for a kettle which was provided but, at the room rate we paid, we expected the service to be impeccable.

We were surprised that Yulara was so far from Ayers Rock, although we understand the reason to preserve the area. However, without a car, tourists have no choice than to book a tour with one of a couple of tour companies serving the area. This one can do at the hotel lobby desk. Because you are a captured audience, the tour prices are exorbitant. We paid for half-day tours what we paid for full-day tours including a meal in other locations in Australia.

One enjoyable meal at the Pioneer Pub: selecting our meat (steak, kangaroo steak, emu and crocodile sausages, chicken or prawn kebabs, etc.) and BBQ'ing it ourselves, to be eaten with buffet salads and hot foods and dessert.

Ayers Rock and the nearby Olgas are certainly beautiful natural phenomena and we enjoyed our visit to them but we felt really ripped off by the exorbitant prices of the Yulara resort.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Our family trip for 3 nights was one of our most memorable .Our 2nd floor rock view room @ Desert Gardens hugely contributed to this mostly due to the view. While it was clean, comfortable and spacious for our family of 4 however the price is grossly unjustified. For what we paid, we would expect closer car park access/ free wifi in the rooms and a shower curtain that does its job instead of flooding the floor at each usage.
Customer service is to be acknowledged though as everyone we interacted with was friendly , helpful and smiling.

Room Tip: If you are able, go with the rock view rooms, to see Uluru at every gaze is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014 via mobile

Reception fairly friendly but used to mass tourism. Rooms cleaned very approximately. Unfortunately you feel that the french owner has leveled this hotel to a airport terminal type reception. Wifi too expensive.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter W, General Manager at Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Hi GuidoCarus

Thank you for you review.

I would be happy to follow up any particular issues you had during your stay if you can provide some more detail.
Ayers Rock Resort is owned by Voyages Indigenous Tourism Australia which is wholly Australian owned.
All profits go towards supporting Indigenous programs across Australia.
Please contact me directly so that I can address any feedback you have.
peter.white@voyages.com.au

Kind Regards

Peter White
General Manager
Desert Gardens Hotel

Reception fairly friendly but used to mass tourism. Rooms cleaned very approximately. Unfortunately you feel that the french owner has leveled this hotel to a airport terminal type reception. Wifi too expensive
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort

Address: Yulara Drive | Ayers Rock Resort, Yulara, Northern Territory 0872, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Yulara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Yulara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voyages Desert Gardens Hotel is a superior hotel at Voyages Ayers Rock Resort. Magnificent ghost gums and flowering native shrubs are the setting for this hotel. Voyages Desert Gardens Hotel is centrally located to all resort and touring facilities and offers a range of accommodation, from shaded poolside rooms to deluxe rooms overlooking the desert.You can relax in the comfort of your own private balcony or courtyard, or unwind in the hotel's pool, sipping cocktails from the Bunya bar. It's only a short stroll to the Resort's numerous lookouts, where you can view what is arguably Australia's best sunset, with the spectacular play of colours across the face of Uluru and the surrounding desert. Once the sun has set, dine at Arnguli Grill and savour an a la carte flame grilled menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, ACCOR, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Hotel Yulara
Hotel Desert Gardens
Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort Australia/Yulara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.