We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideally placed to experience the Red Centre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort to your Saves list
Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Yulara Drive | Ayers Rock Resort, Yulara, Northern Territory 0872, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay 5 Pay 3
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Yulara
Stockton on Tees UK.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Ideally placed to experience the Red Centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

The Red Centre of Australia is an extreme area. In view of that we were fully satisfied with our stay there and the staff were very helpful. Well serviced by shuttle bus; local tours come and go via hotel and it is not far from the main airport, Uluru or Kata Tjuta for the drives to sunset, sunrise etc.
The accommodation was clean and comfortable with plenty of space. There were numerous ants who managed to find the inside of the room but in such a location this must be virtually impossible to eliminate totally.
Wifi was unreliable; none of it complimentary but that may also be inevitable in such a remote location. We would be very happy to return and would recommend.

Room Tip: An upstairs room MAY be less vulnerable to creatures?
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    534
    399
    128
    39
See reviews for
206
743
70
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

There is not too much choice in the area and it was a toss up between the Desert Gardens and Sails in the Desert. The room was OK but looked like it could use some updating. We were there because of the tour we did at Uluru. The staff was pleasant but there seemed to be a total lack of communication between the hotel and our tour operator with respect to departure times and facilities information which made us waste a lot of time. We did not eat there because of the tour times and the restaurant just did not look like somewhere we wanted to eat. There is a little grocery store and take out restaurant in the complex and that was a better choice Would we go back to this hotel -- no way!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed only one night in the Deluxe Rock View Room, but what a view.
From the balcony of the room you could see sunset and sunrise of the rock, while enjoying your beer or wine. Very nice beds as well, and plenty of good choices for restaurants around.
It is a huge resort with many different hotels, all joined together by a central kind of convenient shopping area. Check in and check out were very well organised and parking was central, not far from the rooms. The resort is just a short drive from Uluru and Kata Tjuta. The room is quite expensive, but there is no other choice if you want this comfort.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Staff very friendly and helpful. Lots of amenities, i.e. food store, restaurants and shops. Room was spacious with balcony and very nicely furnished. Easy access from airport. Lots of excursion pickups from hotel. One negative was no late checkout. We had to checkout at 3:30 am since our sunrise excursion to Uluru didn't return to hotel until 1.5 hours after 10:00am checkout time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, England
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

All hotels here are owned by the Voyages (Novotel) group and your room key allows you to visit the facilities in any hotel and charge it to your room. That means there is no competition whatsoever and the prices are very very expensive. As an example the Continental breakfast is AUD30. There used to be 4 hotels but one is now staff accommodation. The highest price one, Sails in the Desert, was undergoing major building works which had closed the restaurant so that left this one and the Outback Pioneer; so we chose this.
Reception was consistently undermanned. They had produced guides to the gardens but did not have any. After the costly first day we bought our own breakfast in the local shop and had it in our room. We had a nice dinner in the hotel on our last night which comparatively was not so expansive. Our room was generally undistinguished but it did have a big comfortable bed and effective air con. WiFi was not free but at least you could use the bought time over an extended period.
The only way out of the hotel is to book tours, and they are also very expensive, or to pick up a hire car at the airport. We did the latter and although that is also very expensive it gave us the freedom to visit all the important sites at our own pace. We believed it also saved us money in the end. All attractions are very accessible by car, both around Ularu and also the sites at Kaja Tjuta. Plenty of parking at this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

There's not much to chose from and the rooms are about the level of a Motel 6. The food is basic.. The staff is helpful but I wonder how they can get personnel to stay there. Urulu is 1500 from Sydney and in the middle of no where. The people really work hard to make it significant, but once you have scene the rock, that's it. It does not compare to experiencing Capital Reef, Monument Valley, Zion, Mesa Verde, etc., etc.

Room Tip: Really, it doesn't make a difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Almost all the hotels in Yulara are the same, Yo might even notice that they have been built from the same materials, so the differences are almost none. THe standard is averaga but the price is really high, but there you won't find anything cheaper. In general the hotel was nice, the service was really good, but it was nothing from outside of this world.

Good thing is the parking really close to the hotel.

Room Tip: We had a room with a desert view and it was really nice and private. Some rooms have windows on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort

Address: Yulara Drive | Ayers Rock Resort, Yulara, Northern Territory 0872, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Yulara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Yulara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voyages Desert Gardens Hotel is a superior hotel at Voyages Ayers Rock Resort. Magnificent ghost gums and flowering native shrubs are the setting for this hotel. Voyages Desert Gardens Hotel is centrally located to all resort and touring facilities and offers a range of accommodation, from shaded poolside rooms to deluxe rooms overlooking the desert.You can relax in the comfort of your own private balcony or courtyard, or unwind in the hotel's pool, sipping cocktails from the Bunya bar. It's only a short stroll to the Resort's numerous lookouts, where you can view what is arguably Australia's best sunset, with the spectacular play of colours across the face of Uluru and the surrounding desert. Once the sun has set, dine at Arnguli Grill and savour an a la carte flame grilled menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Hotel Yulara
Hotel Desert Gardens
Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort Australia/Yulara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.