We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Big Dissapointment” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort to your Saves list
Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Yulara Drive | Ayers Rock Resort, Yulara, Northern Territory 0872, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Yulara
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A Big Dissapointment”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

This is definitely not a 4 star hotel. But they are still charging 4 star prices, The whole place could do with a good cleaning and a refurbishment. The staff at reception and at Gecko's were very nice,but they are fighting a losing battle .The whole resort is simply a means of extracting money from tourists. My advice is to try and do Ayers rock as a day tour and save yourself a lot of money.

Room Tip: Try somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    532
    395
    128
    39
See reviews for
205
740
70
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We really liked our 2 nights stay at this resort. It was very clean and you always have to think about it's location: Somewhere in the middle of nowhere, but a few minutes drive from the Uluru. We expected to have more flys and insects in our room but there were simply none. Amazing. The room was very clean, the staff attentive and nice. The breakfast was okay. We took dinner in different locations outside this hotel. At the evening it is great to sit at the pool and watch the stars above.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harshaw, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Lovely & comfortably spacious rooms with balconies/porches. The dining was world class and attractive. Truely the most amazing breakfast - much more than just the "full English" . A few tips - no elevators, so if stairs are an issue, specify ground level accommodations. Also, the showers are in the tub (as opposed to separate stall) with no grab bars for safe access. This made showering for an elderly member of our group impossible. I don't know if the property had "handicapped" friendly units.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australind, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

let's put a couple of caveats out there first.

ok - the view is great (if you get the room with the view), but for the same price, I've had a view at Sydney Harbour .. which arguably, is just as spectacular view (if you're into that) ... so that's probably putting the price up a bit.., but not that much ...

Ok - it's remote ... but the IGA supermarket prices weren't excessive? so is this why its expensive? I dont get the excuse that it's remote and people have to adjust expectations - there are some VERY expensive lodging options within throwing distance, and direct flights from Sydney and Perth to this place - it is NOT isolated to the point that it cant be upgraded easily.

so those two things out of the way, I really dont understand how this hotel, can charge what they do, and claim it's a 4.5 star hotel?

The kettle didnt work, and then the replacement kettle didnt work...
The air conditioning, I couldnt figure it out, and we're talking 35 degree temperature days people - this NEEDS to be improved - a pissy little switch with scratched out numbers (becuase it was probably installed in the 70's), saying OFF, LO, MED, HIGH - which didnt apparently even do anything, is poor - very poor
Dont think that you're gonna spend time in the resort though lounging around the pool, because it's freezing cold, and the size of two car parks (the actual space for a car, not the building)
The restaurant had a steak for $50 - now frankly, if this place can't even get the air conditioning right, why am I going to spend this on a steak.
no power points? there were two in the bathroom? but even the lamp was hard wired into the wall? We need to charge our camera, laptops and all of modern technology (which granted was probably a Gramophone when this place was built) - we need power points!

positives

the view
The balcony - saw the sunrise from the balcony
the king size bed ... all very nice

please at least improve the air conditioning and give the place a bit of a modernisation....

Room Tip: view - you MUST get a view, otherwise why stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larchmont, New York
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for two nights on our honeymoon. I think a lot of people fail to understand that you are traveling to a very isolated part of Australia and need to adjust your standards a little bit. It is not a four star resort but it is still far superior to what you can expect to see in other parts of the world that are similarly isolated. The hotel is a bit older but the rooms were still clean and modernized. Our bed was very comfortable. I'd have no problem staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

After reading previous reviews which gave this hotel poor ratings we were pleasantly surprised to find that the hotel met all our expectations. We stayed in an upstairs deluxe rock view room, the room was quite large, well lit, clean and very comfortable. We also took a helicopter ride around the Rock and the Olga's, a must do. As expected everything price wise is over the top, but you can eat cheaper at the Town Centre. We also went to the Sounds of Silence Dinner. Food was OK but experience was worthwhile. We also ate at the Arnguli Grill (Desert Gardens Hotel) food and service excellent, only let down was the outrageous price for a cup of tea, which was hot water and a tea bag.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blue mountains
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Stayed at Desert Gardens for 3 nights in August. The first night we moved rooms due to the mould in the shower being extremly bad. THe room we moved to was a nice King room and had a great view. Staff extremly friendly and always avaiable to assist. Thank you

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort

Address: Yulara Drive | Ayers Rock Resort, Yulara, Northern Territory 0872, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Yulara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Yulara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 218
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Voyages Desert Gardens Hotel is a superior hotel at Voyages Ayers Rock Resort. Magnificent ghost gums and flowering native shrubs are the setting for this hotel. Voyages Desert Gardens Hotel is centrally located to all resort and touring facilities and offers a range of accommodation, from shaded poolside rooms to deluxe rooms overlooking the desert.You can relax in the comfort of your own private balcony or courtyard, or unwind in the hotel's pool, sipping cocktails from the Bunya bar. It's only a short stroll to the Resort's numerous lookouts, where you can view what is arguably Australia's best sunset, with the spectacular play of colours across the face of Uluru and the surrounding desert. Once the sun has set, dine at Arnguli Grill and savour an a la carte flame grilled menu. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Hotel Yulara
Hotel Desert Gardens
Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort Australia/Yulara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Gardens Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.