We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well-priced and great for lunch or a coffee” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kulata Academy Cafe

Kulata Academy Cafe
Town Square, Ayers Rock Resort | Yulara Drive, Yulara, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
+(61)282968010
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 11 Restaurants in Yulara
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: The Kulata Academy café menu includes a wide range of freshly prepared sandwiches along with salads and breakfast classics like fresh yoghurt, smoothies and fruit options. An array of cakes and pastries from the Resort bakery are complemented by Grinders espresso coffee and a selection of T2 tea. Located in the Resort Town Square.The café is run by the trainees of Ayers Rock Resort's National Indigenous Training Academy under the guidance of supervisory trainers and offers trainees a comprehensive food and beverage training facility empowering them in a safe learning environment.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Well-priced and great for lunch or a coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Nice coffee and the Subway-esque sandwich bar is a great idea. The fact that they train up and employ local Indigenous peoples is also great.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    91
    27
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Top Contributor
279 reviews 279 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“Lots of potential”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

It is great to see young Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islanders taking jobs at the Resort that were previously the domain of backpackers. It will be even better when we see more local Anangu showing off their country. That said, the Academy Cafe is a great idea and is giving young people a great opportunity to develop their skills. The quality of the food and the coffee we had was great, though the chai my wife had was a bit ordinary. To improve this further, it would be good to have people serve you rather than just yell out your name so you can collect your order. A few other little things could be improved, like having proper cutlery rather than flimsy plastic forks and spoons.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice food and coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

The food and coffee were good however there is a lack of choice to eat at Yulura so this cafe is very busy and pricey .

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fresh & healthy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Great value real food. Coffee best in town, great job staff! Highly recommend for eat-in or take away

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good food and also one that made us feel good!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

On our recent 3 day visit to Uluru we had our lunch here every day. Probably the only place in Yulara that did not feel over-priced! We basically made use of the sandwich bar at which you could choose every aspect of your sandwich. The food was fresh and tasty. They also did good coffeee. The sweets looked vey good but we did not try these because of weight control considerations!

The staff, who seemed friendly and competent, were students at the Indigenous training academy. This means that not only were we having a good meal but also helping them get qualified!

If and when we return to Uluru this would be the only place we would consider having lunch!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kulata Academy Cafe also viewed

 
Yulara, Red Centre
 

Been to Kulata Academy Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kulata Academy Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.