We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Probably the best choice in the area” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Walpa Lobby Bar

Walpa Lobby Bar
Sails in the Desert | Ayers Rock Resort, Yulara, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
+61282968010
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 11 Restaurants in Yulara
Price range: $16 - $49
Cuisines: Australian
Restaurant details
CONCORD
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Probably the best choice in the area”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I had dinner here with my family and although there was not a huge menu, everyone was able to find something to eat. The server was attentive, the bartender was clearly enjoying his night and putting on a bit of a show, they had a live singer who was quite good and the food was fine (not big portions but about what you would expect). The cost of the dinner was less than half o what it would cost to eat at the hotel's buffet so from that point of view, it was a good value.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    23
    10
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great meals, service and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

This bar is attached to the Sails in the Desert Hotel. There are not many tables but the atmosphere was quiet (for a bar) and quite upmarket with an excellent, reasonably priced menu and friendly attentive staff. I wish we had gone there a second night instead of the disappointing Geckos Bar

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Little Choice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Just the normal steak sandwiches , buyers , clubs etc and the service is very ordinary. You have to go looking for someone to help you.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea N, General Manager at Walpa Lobby Bar, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear janwholeboxndice,

thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.
I am sorry to hear that you found our food selection to be average and service not readily available. We will consider this for our upcoming menu reviews and reinforce our service credos with new staff members.

Best regards,

Andrea Nestle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Terrible Service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We had to wait a whole hour before we got our food and we were not the only ones. The place appeared to be very short staffed. The food was ok.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea N, General Manager at Walpa Lobby Bar, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear MMHMelbourne

Thank you for your review.

I would like to extend my apologies for the prolonged delay on your meal delivery at Walpa Bar. Please know that this is not the experience nor standard of service we endeavour to provide. Your comments have been address with both our Director of Food and Beverage and Executive Chef to ensure this does not occur in the future.

I wish you all the best in your future travels.

Kindest Regards

Andrea Nestle
General Manager
Sails in the Desert Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Top Contributor
273 reviews 273 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Watch the deliveries”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We ordered the triple mini burgers and vegetable platter. The plater was to come with three varieties of bread. We got none. When we asked we were given one. When I showed the menu to the wait staff we got a second and an apology that the truck had not shown up. No reduction in price and no explanation for why we had not gotten bread at first. This may be due to the staff being new, but at the prices that are charged I found this a bit disconcerting. Also note that if you get coffee here before breakfast, event though you are paying almost $400 per night, they charge extra for it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrea N, General Manager at Walpa Lobby Bar, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Dear applejuice12

Thank you for your review.

Please accept my apologies for the less than ideal dining experience you received at Walpa Bar. Please know that this is not the quality product we endeavour to provide our guest and to hear that we were unable to meet your expectations in saddening.

Since your comments our staff both front and back of house have been given further training on the quality of both food and service standards expected to ensure this does not occur in the future.

I wish you all the best in your future travels.

Kindest Regards

Andrea Nestle
General Manager
Sails in the Desert Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walpa Lobby Bar also viewed

 
Yulara, Red Centre
Yulara, Red Centre
 

Been to Walpa Lobby Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Walpa Lobby Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.