We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Longitude 131

Save Saved
You added Longitude 131 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Longitude 131
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Yulara Drive, Yulara, Northern Territory 0872, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Classic Uluru
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Yulara
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A wonderful stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Longitude in two "tents" for three nights in late August. Upon arrival we were greeted and given champagne and a overview of our itinerary and hotel stay. We were informed that we should "make ourselves at home" and help ourselves to the fridges and bars as we please. We felt very comfortable throughout our stay and were treated extremely well by all staff.

The "tents" are amazing! They have non-interrupted views of Uluru, which is just perfect to wake to to! Electronic blinds & fly screens make it all the better. The beds are very comfortable. The Australian discoverer theme was done tastefully in both our tents.

The table 131 dinner under the stars was a fantastic opportunity. But being there in winter meant sitting in the dark was freezing!
The chefs do a great job with the menu, incorporating local Australian ingredients as much as possible. We found that it would have been better for the lunch menu to change daily or 2nd daily as we ended up repeating and having to choose from & eat the same things...bit repetitive. But dinner changed each night and breakfast was great. The staff were excellent at pairing wines with the different courses and were eager to please. The service was really great.

The organized tours were good & incorporated exactly what you would want to do/see in Yulara. The hotel was happy to drop you off/pick you up from extra activities as you please.

We felt very privileged as the "star talker" gave us a special talk and look through his telescope on our last night. As there was a full moon out for our table 131 dinner which obstructed the stars earlier in our stay.

There are iPads provided in each room with great free wifi. And the hotel provides privileged check in when flying virgin which meant we were able to skip the queue! A really nice touch!

Make sure you allow time to just enjoy the hotel room and facilities!

Everything is taken care of and you can really just enjoy your stay in Yulara without having to worry about a thing!

I would definitely recommend, and wouldn't stay anywhere else whilst visiting the red centre!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    251
    38
    14
    6
    2
See reviews for
22
224
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in July and are still talking about the unique experience which was the first and somewhat indulgent leg of our holiday, before venturing to the top end and then west. The staff of course set the scene for the 'experience', taking care of everything in a discreet yet friendly and expert manner. Each member was great including the enthusiastic guides, but special mention to Samantha who went out of her way to personalise our experience and cater to our individual tastes with wines etc.. The accommodation was lovely, the communal and dining areas relaxed yet elegant and the food experience was exquisite; a paradox in the wilderness! The Rock itself, its colours at sunset, is extraordinary and a hike around Kata Tjuta with some of the other guests was a highlight. One small disappointment was the dining under the stars; the night was windy and cold and therefore uncomfortable despite best efforts of the staff and the aboriginal dance was a bit tokenistic. This was overridden however by the entire experience. Unforgettable.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We've just spent three nights here for Nigel's birthday. Resort is a bit tired but staff are amazing and food delicious. They went out of their way to make the trip special arranging a private dinner and recommending the base walk, the camel rides and the helicopter flight all of which were incredible. Expensive but worth it for a special treat . Highly recommended

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We were lucky to have 4 nights at Longitude 131 and couldn't have asked for a better break. Absolutely everything is taken care off. We didn't put our hands in our pockets once except to buy personal items on a trip to town. Every meal, every drink, and tour is included.
In house touring staff: Ned, Graeme, Liz and Kelly, were knowledgeable, friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. Don't miss the Mala walk sunset tour.
Shona, the head chef produced dish after perfect dish on a dinner menu that changed daily, including cooking in the dark for a very special dinner under the stars. Seems petty to complain that the nearly full moon during our visit meant there were fewer stars to admire! Lunch and breakfast don't vary but there is plenty to choose from and the restaurant staff, lead by Samantha, were very attentive. 'Make yourself at home' is absolutely true here. Other guests were friendly and relaxed.
Our 'camp' bed had an unobstructed view of Uluru in all her glory and it was like sleeping on a cloud. Great shower,
There is no gym and the pool is not heated - that could be an asset in winter, even here.
Nothing was a problem to guest services manager, Jake and his team, even to bringing in a yoga mat for us to use. Spoiled doesn't begin to describe it. We will be back ... with friends.
The perfect destination for an instant wind-down and stress-free getaway.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fantastic but we had Jane Webb so very private and closest to the Rock!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This was such a great experience. The hotel is fantastic. Right from registration on arrival with delicious champagne and canapes, to being shown to your beautiful tent with breathtaking views of the rock, to the luscious dinners and endless treats awaiting you around every corner! It truely is a luxurious treat and we spent a really fun three days being utterly spoilt, eating and drinking the most beautiful food and wines. Its a real switch off being able to just leave your purse in your room for a few days and know that every whim will be catered for ... just ask and you will receive!

Yes this hotel is expensive but considering the prices of other hotels in Yulara, and the cost of food, drink, tours and transport etc., we felt it was worth the price and it really was a unique experience. The "tents" you sleep in are five star luxury, ultra modern chic and comfortable.... the bed was like sleeping in a cloud with the most amazing view of the rock... right down to the view of the rock from the actual shower! The rooms really are gorgeous and I'm surprised to read other reviews here which have commented on poor pillow quality etc - believe me I am a fussy customer but these rooms really are sublime.

The staff do their very best to make you feel like you're very cherished and valued to them which is really nice. Jenny, Jake, Kane and the others, thank you for making an extremely memorable few days for us this July.

A tip for future guests: dont feel obliged to go on all the tours ... there are routine tours arranged each morning and evening and while these are nice, some of them are a little too long in my view and at times felt a little like padding...also the tour of the cultural centre was not really interesting as it's mainly a gift shop. So if I had one regret after my few days at Longitude its that I didnt get more time to just relax in my wonderful room and soak up the beautiful resort.

All in all a fabulously memorable few days.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

For this much money, the lodge should be managed to perfection, but there are areas for improvement. Yes, the rooms are very private, gorgeous, and have unsurpassed views of Uluru. The included guided walks and activities offered to guests are informative, and encompass most of the walks one might want to take while at Uluru. The lodge is very accommodating if guests wish to take different walks and will arrange drop-offs and pick-ups, as needed. For the included walks and activities, the guides try to make them as private as possible, given the hundreds of people who gather to view the sunrises and sunsets at Uluru. In addition, the guides provide an impressive amount of information on the aboriginal legends, the ecology, geology and history of the area. We would highly recommend the Valley of the Winds walk; this is not offered by the lodge, but a shorter walk at the Olgas is offered, and the lodge arranged to drop us off at the beginning of the Valley of the Winds walk, and pick us up at an appropriate time.

Food in the restaurant is of high quality, and although dinner is a set menu, the guests are presented with the menu earlier in the day and the chef will make changes if the food is not to your liking.

Although we did not experience this ourselves, one set of guests staying at the same time as we were had housekeeping issues with their room.

Additionally, I felt that the timing of the evening activities and early morning activities could have been scheduled better so that the guests had more time to sleep. In addition, the early morning departures were, at times, a bit chaotic, with guests trying desperately to get some coffee before leaving and the only offering a one-cup Nespresso machine. For one early morning activity, the breakfast is served at the visitor's center and is a pretty meager offering.

The lodge tries to replicate the highly rated "Sounds of Silence" dinner, but we were disappointed in the service--water and wine were not promptly refilled; there was no music, but just a short aboriginal dance performance, and the dinner itself was held far too late at night given the very early departure for the sunrise activity the next day.

For all that, Longitude 131 does provide the best possible experience when visiting Uluru, in terms of privacy and overall service.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben P, General Manager at Longitude 131, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear ssgtravel,
Thank you for taking the time to review your April visit to Longitude 131.
You're right, 'it should have been perfect' and we are truly sorry that is wasn't.
Since your departure a few months ago we have overhauled the morning and evening touring - especially the morning departures. We have delayed the departure giving our guests more time in bed and more time to enjoy a full breakfast before tour - if they wish. There are plenty of attendants on hand to ensure the coffee is flowing!
We have also revised the order of service for Table 131 to ensure smooth running, warm guests, a timely conclusion & plenty of refills.
Once again, sincere apologies for not measuring up as we intend to do with every guest.
Many thanks for your kind comments on the rest of you visit - they are very much appreciated.
Kind regards,
The Longitude Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chertsey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights and was amazed how much there was to do with the included guided walks and the local additional tours - we did the camel trek. The staff were really friendly with a can-do attitude. The food was excellent, with very good wine choices and the staff were only too pleased to substitute anything that wasn't to your taste

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben P, General Manager at Longitude 131, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear OttershawBlade,
Thank you for your generous comments regarding your recent visit to Longitude 131.
We are so glad that you had a wonderful time.
We find that 2 days is only just enough time to cover all the main aspects of the area - 3 days means you can really get to enjoy the property as well and also take in the Valley of the Winds walk or a walk around the rock.
We're glad you enjoyed the food and the wine and absolutely always happy to substitute where not to taste or fancy!!
Many thanks once again for coming to stay and safe & happy travels,
The Longitude Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Longitude 131? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longitude 131

Address: Yulara Drive, Yulara, Northern Territory 0872, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Yulara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 hotels in Yulara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Longitude 131 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timeless and enriching, Longitude 131° lies at the gateway of the dual World Heritage listed wilderness of Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park, complete with 5-class luxury and private views of the sun rising and setting over Uluru (Ayers Rock). With just 15 tents in total at Longitude 131° you only have to share this amazing experience with just a few others. Venture to Uluru and Kata Tjuta and you are exposed to an expansive living cultural landscape which very few are able to experience. Whether you spend your time learning of the ancient cultures of traditional owners, or exploring the stunning flora and fauna with expert guides, face to face with this irresistible land, your senses come alive.The evening also offers up an experience to last a lifetime. Dine out under the spectacular desert night sky at Table 131°. An intimate three-course dinner is served with the finest wines under a glittering canopy of stars. This is, without doubt, the perfect way to wind down after an amazing day of discovery. Children 10 years and over are welcome at Longitude 131°. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Longitude 131 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longitude 131 Hotel Yulara
Longitude 131 Resort
Longitude 131 Australia/Yulara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Longitude 131, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.