We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely exceptional!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Longitude 131

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Longitude 131 to your Saves list
Longitude 131
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Yulara Drive, Yulara, Northern Territory 0872, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Classic Uluru
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Yulara
UK
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Absolutely exceptional!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

We were concerned when reading reviews that maybe we had invested too much of our hard earned cash in staying here, so were wondering before we arrived what to expect.
What we discovered from the moment we stepped off the plane and were met by Jake and Liz was we had made 100% the right decision and we were staying at a hotel where the service is exceptional!
We have often said hotels were excellent and then gone on to highlight a minor negative, sorry but here there is not one negative we can highlight. The whole experience is bliss, you have to think about nothing,these guys have thought it out for you, from knowing the better places to take you in the public viewing areas at sunrise, to driving out to rendezvous with great breakfast picnics.

The chef is one very talented lady and the way food allergies are handled was the best we have ever seen. Every meal is excellent, perfectly balanced tastes dinners in the Dune House were Michelin star standard and the paired wines were very well chosen and high end.

All the staff are engaged, have a positive can do attitude and will do all they can to make your stay unbelievable, sometimes things just happen and you do not even notice and that is the mark of a great place.

Let them sort out any additional trips you want to make, as they handle all the logistics, it was a bit special though to take off from the hotel helipad for our trip out to Lake Amadeus

And even when it is time to go they look after you sorting out and printing your boarding passes and handing them in personalised envelopes. Pity British Airways could not actually deliver the booked flights but that's another story!

Well done Longitude, and to anyone wondering is the cost worth it, yes, 100%

Room Tip: All the tents are exceptional no need to worry on that score
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben P, General Manager at Longitude 131, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Palya UKtog,
Thank you so much for your generous words, we are so glad to have allayed your pre-arrival concerns. We are at pains to offer the service you describe and the whole team is commited to ensuring our guests' experience is truly memorable. Jake, Liz & Seona (the Chef) are part of an incredible group of dedicated people making up the Longitude experiental luxury.
We will continue to strive to achieve the very best and it is comments & reviews such as yours that really inspires us to do so.
To top off your stay with a visit to Lake Amadeus is really something everyone should do to complete their immersion of this beautiful, sunburnt country.
Many thanks again for taking the time to review Longitude and we'd love to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    42
    17
    6
    2
See reviews for
30
264
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shellharbour, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

My wife & I stayed 3 nights in February for her birthday. The staff were wonderful. Do yourself a favour.....you have to stay at this place. It feels like home and you are treated like family. It rained for the entire stay, so we missed the different colours of the sun reflections on the rock, but we saw waterfalls and ponds only seen about 1% of the time. There wasn't a chance to be disappointed as the accommodation, food & wine, location and staff were impeccable. Good complimentry wine list. We'll go back again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben P, General Manager at Longitude 131, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Palya John M,
Thank you so much for your kind review, we are all thrilled that you had such a good time and that Kay enjoyed her special birthday! Indeed, it was wet but what a rare & spectacular sight to see Uluru with waterfalls and full waterholes! You will have to come back to see it in its sensational sunlit splendour...perhaps another birthday? We have also noted your other comments and will get these rectified as well and be even better for your return!
Many thanks once again for coming to stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

This is as good as it gets. I am traveling alone Down Under and even though this is regarded as a couples place, I enjoyed my stay. Also, there where other solo travellers.
To lay in your bed and see the Sun rise and set at Uluru cannot be described, you simply have to get here.

Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben P, General Manager at Longitude 131, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Palya Bearsfoot,
You are absolutely right, we whole heartedly welcome the solo traveller and aim to make their experience just as special as any other visit. We love to share our unique spot in front of this amazing natural icon with everyone and make them feel part of the Longitude family.
You are also right in that nothing can describe or prepare you for the magic of the sunset and the spiritual quality of sun rise over Uluru.
Thank you again for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My husband and I decided to stay here for our wedding anniversary ... it was a perfect choice!
Firstly, you need to understand that Longitude 131 is in the middle of a desert, kilometers from anywhere. It's going to be hot. It's going to be dusty. The animals are nocturnal.
That being said, the service, food, accommodation, tours, everything in fact, were phenomenal.
Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, from locating a band-aid to making a quick trip into town on the way to the airport. All the staff went out of their way to ensure that their guests' every request was attended to quickly and professionally. Each and every one of them deserves a pat on the back for doing such an amazing job. We have stayed in a lot of hotels around the world, both luxury and basic, and can say with complete honesty that the service is second-to-none.
The food is exceptional, both in presentation and taste, as well as variety. Bearing in mind the location of the hotel (remember we mentioned the fact that the hotel is in the middle of a desert?) you do not expect to have fresh seafood available every night. The menus each day were excuisite and chef was happy to cater for individual dietary needs.
The tours were informative and very well put together (yes, you will need to get up early if you want to watch the sun rise, but the staff really don't have any control over the timing of that particular event!). All the tours were well catered and the guides were very diligent in ensuring that all the guests had adequate supplies of water for the excursions and made sure that everyone remained aware of the harsh effects of the sun/climate before setting out.
The accommodation was fabulous. The room was cleaned twice a day (!) and the complimentary minibar was well stocked. No complaints on the aircon at all - all that desert sun gives it plenty of power to run through the night if necessary.
You can watch the sun set in your own back yard, but there is only one place where you will see the sun set and rise against the backdrops of Uluru and Kata Tjuta. There is only one place where you can appreciate the majesty of 'The Red Centre' and hear the genuine stories of the Anangu.
If you wish to visit the region, then you can do no better than to stay at Longitude 131.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben P, General Manager at Longitude 131, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Palya Wes and Stella,
Thank you so much for your kind comments on your recent stay with us at Longitude 131.
You have really managed to capture the essence of what we aim to offer our guests in this harsh but beautiful environment.
All the staff, from our front of house to our kitchen to our tour guides, will be absolutely delighted that they have made your stay so comfortable as that is what we all wish for with every visit.
We will continue to offer this amazing experience and service to future guests and will see what we can do about those sunrise times!!!!
Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Reading some of the last reviews, I can only mention the opposite: fantastic and worth the money! We stayed at Longitude during Christmas (3 days) in 2011 and were impressed by the scenery, the food, the wine lists, the excellent service and enthusiasm of the staff and the management. We will come back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben P, General Manager at Longitude 131, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Palya Levigne_greebe,
Thank you so much for your kind review and comments. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. We constantly strive to give our guests a wonderful experience and it is heartening for all to receive such positive feedback.
We look forward to welcoming you back to this unique part of Australia!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

My husband and I have been discussing how we would review our stay at Longitude 131. If Uluru in on your bucket list then "bite the bullet" and pay the price but be aware that you are not getting $2000 per night worth of value. What you are getting is a unique experience in luxury tents in harsh conditions. The a/c can't keep up with the heat, the water is hot, there are bugs/spiders. The staff was friendly and helpful but lacked a certain professionalism. While the food was very good, by the third lunch the menu had been recycled from the first day and items that were not available the first day were still not available the third day.
Our biggest complaint was that the bus taking us to our first tour of Uluru should have been running for at least 30 minutes to have it cooled down before we boarded. It was so unbearably hot that we were afraid someone was going to have a heart attack. That was totally unexceptable. We were so disappointed in that experience that we opted not to take any other tours. As it turned out other guests told us we made the right choice.
We were quite happy with the accommodation but for $2000 per night the bed could have been a lot more luxurious. You need to add more 'bang for the buck' like transfers should be via helicopter with a quick fly-over the rock and landing at the resort where guest should be greeted with champagne on the heli-pad. The chef should have visited each table to discuss the food choices. I guess our expectations were based on the price paid not the limited conditions. PS: The wine selection was the highlight for us.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben P, General Manager at Longitude 131, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Palya Barry and Joan,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Longitude. I am sorry we did not meet your expectations. Your visit was during a particularly hot period where temperatures were rarely below 115F and yes, the air conditioning did struggle in all areas. We are currently looking at ways to alleviate this scenario.
I am surprised at your comment regarding the professionalism of the staff as they are our finest asset and are often at the forefront of the reviews. Having said that, we will endeavour to offer a first rate service at all times.
We have revised the lunch menu and the issues you encountered should no longer occur.
I am pleased that the wine list met your expectations.
We do take these reviews seriously and we will be addressing the areas of concern and we hope to meet the expectations of our future guests.
Thank you once again for your constructive comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

I stayed in November 2012.I just could not bring myself to write about it until now.It is so overpriced and not even close to being value for money.This is not even close the best Australia has to offer. Iam happy to pay S1800 to S2200 a night and for that I expect the best.I will start with the negatives.The room was clean but needed a good vacum very dusty.Holes in the towels.The bed was hard not very comfy.The pillows were a joke,$15 from K Mart .I addressed this and was assured they were hotel quality.This is not the case Tontine polyester ,cheap and no support.Dont even think of staying for a third night its a repeat of the previous night.We did and were left totally alone at the Dune House we managed to get an order in for our entree then the staff left in golf buggies to attend to guests at the Cultural dancing.If we were anywhere else we would have just got up and left but that was not an option.The air conditioning was pretty pathetic and it was only around 30*. For me breakfast was a nightmare because I wanted sourdough toast which is on the menu but ended up with cold wholemeal sliced . The pool was small and very cold.On a positive the food was good at lunchtime but the dinners were a bit of a hit or miss.The wine selection is excellent.The staff are beyond amazing very helpfull.The views off course are amazing Uluru is amazing but then the best things in life are often free.To finish the local towns hotels and Longitude 131 are all owned by the same hotel group and they have a monopoly on this entire area ,when we went into town we could not believe what embarrasing dumps you expected tourists to stay in.Yes some money has been spent on Sails refurbishment the rest of the place is dirty and depressing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ben P, General Manager at Longitude 131, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Ratchel,
Thank you for kindly reviewing your stay with us at Longitude 131 in November last year. I am very disappointed that we have clearly not kept up our usual high standards. The Housekeeping issues have been addressed but should never have occurred in the first place. I am sorry that you found he bed uncomfortable – it is not a comment we have heard before but we do understand that everyone has different preferences. Had this been mentioned at the time we could have added a further mattress topper for added softness. The pillows, I assure you, are of a high standard, but again we should have addressed this by offering an alternative.
Your experience in the Dune House on the third night should have been a memorable evening for the right reasons and I will address the disappointing experience you had. I will also address the miscommunication in the kitchen with your breakfast requests – again, simple enough, but we let you down.
Thank you for your kind comments on the food, wine and staff; I am very pleased that we maintained standards in those areas.
I cannot really comment upon your impression of our town but am sorry that you did not enjoy the visit.
Again, I sincerely apologise for the areas where you were let down and assure you these will be addressed. Thank you for bringing them to my attention, we will ensure that these issues do not reoccur.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Longitude 131? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longitude 131

Address: Yulara Drive, Yulara, Northern Territory 0872, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Yulara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Yulara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Longitude 131 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Timeless and enriching, Longitude 131° lies at the gateway of the dual World Heritage listed wilderness of Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park, complete with 5-class luxury and private views of the sun rising and setting over Uluru (Ayers Rock). With just 15 tents in total at Longitude 131° you only have to share this amazing experience with just a few others. Venture to Uluru and Kata Tjuta and you are exposed to an expansive living cultural landscape which very few are able to experience. Whether you spend your time learning of the ancient cultures of traditional owners, or exploring the stunning flora and fauna with expert guides, face to face with this irresistible land, your senses come alive.The evening also offers up an experience to last a lifetime. Dine out under the spectacular desert night sky at Table 131°. An intimate three-course dinner is served with the finest wines under a glittering canopy of stars. This is, without doubt, the perfect way to wind down after an amazing day of discovery. Children 10 years and over are welcome at Longitude 131°. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Despegar.com so you can book your Longitude 131 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longitude 131 Hotel Yulara
Longitude 131 Resort
Longitude 131 Australia/Yulara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Longitude 131, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.