We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sails in the Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sails in the Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort to your Saves list
Sails in the Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Yulara Drive | Ayers Rock Resort, Yulara, Northern Territory 0872, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay 5 Pay 3
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Yulara
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

Only stayed one night(regretfully). Ground floor room spacious, great bed, clean, cool and quiet. The lawns and pool looked beautiful. Evening meal was very pricey. Be prepared for that. Use of credit card attracts an additional 1-2% surcharge everywhere you use it. Eateries outside the hotel look like a cheaper alternative if you have the time to try. I could revisit with the idea of just "chilling" under the shade near the pool.

Room Tip: The best of the string of alternatives at the rock. Just watch the cost of meals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    470
    295
    97
    57
See reviews for
265
615
46
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (270)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

From the friendly and welcoming staff at reception, the comfortable and spacious rooms, the beautiful gardens with the most magnificent ghost gums, the large public areas with dining areas, bar, shops, art displays etc, our 4 night stay was just wonderful. With two early morning tours, we collected a more than adequate breakfast box from reception to send us on our way. We then just needed a coffee at our first stop. The whole Yulara resort is beautifully set out and guests are able to use pools, bars, shops etc at any of the hotels. A regular resort bus shuttles guests between. All pre- booked tours run like clockwork. The town square has a number of shops, dining options and cultural activities so there is always something to do.
Australia's Red Centre is a must see. It is a stunningly beautiful and magical place, full of amazing sites and with a cultural history that needs to be experienced to be appreciated.
And yes- the flies are a pain, but with probably the world's most unglamorous fashion accessory, the insect net, they are not an issue. Everyone wears them! A wonderful place to stay in a very special part of Australia.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Voyages owns about 5 lodging sites located on one large property near Uluru - from camp sites to Sails; with very few other options available. Sails is the most upscale of the properties and quite decent. Contemporary furnishings, bathrooms a bit tired as are the hallways. Went on the Desert Awakenings tour - only 9 of us and Ned, our guide. FABULOUS! A highlight of our trip to Australia.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Easily the most beautiful five star hotel I've ever stayed in, a total pleasure for the senses from the minute you enter the lobby. Indigenous art and clever garden planting complement the desert setting, and it's all light and airy, like being at the beach.

Large, beautifully decorated and light filled rooms, with two comfortable double beds. Generous toiletries and towels. Masses of space, huge balcony with a view towards Uluru and over a little garden area.

We stayed on the 3 night with breakfast package. In house food was fantastic - the breakfasts are a gourmet delight, whatever kind of brekkie you enjoy. We ate twice at the bar, and enjoyed it both times - rather expensive though.

Staff are very pleasant, friendly and unfailingly helpful and polite. Best experience on holiday ever.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We recently spent two nights in a Terrace room and could not fault the hotel.
Our room was very spacious and had a huge terrace balcony, the room was immaculately clean.
My only gripe was the shower over the bath, it was a huge step for me to get in and out of the bath and while there was a grab rail it was on the back wall.On the last morning I slipped trying to step out, as the bath was slippery, and hit my head on the side of the bath. A grab rail near the front edge and better non slip surface in the bath would help.

All staff were helpful and friendly, we had breakfast in the buffet each morning and the variety and quality of the food was excellent.
We also had room service one night and the food was excellent and arrived within half and hour.

I would stay here again and thought it was worth the money given the unique location.

Room Tip: If you can afford the extra for the terrace room it is worth it for the space and the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa (Mesa County), Colorado
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
112 hotel reviews
Reviews in 108 cities Reviews in 108 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Surprising to see so much grout mold and dirt in a dry climate! Also much accumulated dirt around faucets and in the corners of the bathroom--simply a lack of thorough cleaning. One of 2 sinks sprayed water all over the counter and onto the mirror. Inexcusable at nearly $400/night with claims of recent refurbishment.

We stored cheeses, fruit, & croissants in mini-fridge for a quick, early morning departure, but the freezer door apparently didn't close due to frost buildup and water leaked all over our food, ruining all. Ants swarmed in the tea/coffee/kettle area, although insect spray was provided.

Lovely room decor, but poor reading lights and no free WiFi in room. Notice in room asked guests to report centipedes. We saw one trying to access sliding glass door of #131 and reported it.

Renae, reception, was completely disinterested. She also brushed off our suggestion that our moldy bath and malfunctioning faucet and refrigerator needed serious attention with a quick, insincere, "sorry about that." Doubt anything was addressed after we checked out. There is little choice of accommodation in Ayers Rock, so perhaps they don't need to care and can charge whatever they like for substandard cleanliness.

Common areas, restaurants, lobby and gallery were lovely, however. We had a delicious dinner at the Arnguli Restaurant in Sails' sister hotel, and enjoyed our excellent waiter (originally from Russia). Waiters in the restaurant at Sails were also friendly and helpful, as was staff in the gallery.

Room Tip: Try to be moved if your room is unclean or substandard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSAILS, General Manager at Sails in the Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Dear FourWinds_11,
Thankyou for your review.
I am glad to see you found our restaurant and gallery staff friendly and our lobby area lovely.
It is truly regrettable to read of the housekeeping and service issues you encountered during your stay. I sincerely apologize that we have not met your expectations and I hope that the fridge malfunction was reported and rectified immediately for you.
All of our guests are important to us and we strive to deliver a truly memorable experience to each guest. I will address with our team the importance of receiving our guest’s feedback in a positive manner and ensuring guests that their concerns are being dealt with.
Again I do apologize and hope that overall you enjoyed your experiences here in the red centre.
Best Regards
Leon Pink
General Manager
Sails in the Desert
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

Stayed two nights at this hotel in a king sized room. Room was indeed king sized and spacious bathroom, but a little bit 'tired'. However spotlessly clean. Corridor/lift to access room all a bit tired as well . However reception and public areas all well maintained and comfortable. Had dinner once in hotel, very nice, chocolate fountain a nice touch! Breakfasts also high standard.
We went on the sounds of silence dinner and that is not to be missed, apart from sunset over ayres rock which is fantastic, the night sky itself after sundown was breathtaking, and an astrologer guiding you through it all.
Hotel an easy walk to 'village' center and nice little mix of shops/cafes etc.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sails in the Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sails in the Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort

Address: Yulara Drive | Ayers Rock Resort, Yulara, Northern Territory 0872, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Yulara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Yulara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sails in the Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 232
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Australia's Red Centre, the five star Sails in the Desert hotel beautifully contrasts Uluru's raw natural beauty with a decidedly luxurious outback holiday experience. Soaring white sails crown Ayers Rock Resort's Sails in the Desert hotel, shading 228 luxury five star rooms and suites. Discover the passion behind Aboriginal art at Sails in the Desert's Mulgara Gallery. Then be lulled into complete relaxation by one of the Red Ochre Spa's package treatments. Sails in the Desert hotel features an expansive gumtree lined heated swimming pool and a diversity of modern dining, bar and lounge options. Choose Sails in the Desert for an outback holiday with a unique style and modern luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sails in the Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sails In The Desert Ayers Rock Hotel Yulara
Sails In The Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort Australia/Yulara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sails in the Desert Hotel, Ayers Rock Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.