We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good option from more expensive offerings” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge - Ayers Rock Resort

Save Saved
You added Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge - Ayers Rock Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge - Ayers Rock Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Yulara Drive | Ayers Rock (Uluru), Yulara, Northern Territory 0872, Australia (Formerly Voyages )   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
FREE Breakfast Offer
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Yulara
Camden, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Good option from more expensive offerings”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in early May 2013 and really found this to be a very good option considering the cost of other accommodation available within Ayers Rock Resort.

On entering the Resort, the way to the Pioneer Hotel was clearly signposted as was the large reception area which was very well presented. The reception staff were very pleasant and check-in took no time at all. We had booked a standard room and were allocated one which was just behind the reception and facilities area. That area contained not only reception, but also Bough House restaurant, unfortunately only opening a week after we left, a large BBQ area where you buy your own meat and cook it, The Kitchen for light meals, the bar and bottle shop, the common room which has wifi and also the swimming pool.

Our room was furnished with a comfortable queen bed and a single bed, and all of the furnishings and fittings were quite good. The front door opened onto the courtyard area between the blocks of units, and the rear glass door opened onto a paved area under a veranda flanked by native arid plants. Quite an attractive layout. Bathroom was about standard size for a room of this type.

One gripe I had is in regard to power points. There was only a single at bench level in the bathroom and a double above the luggage bench near the room entry. A battery charger had to be used in one of the doubles, but a charger is so wide it blocks off the second point and bulky below the points so it could not be used in the bathroom, so that left a the bathroom to be used to charge phones, Kindle, and also to boil the jug which only had about a 20cm cord and the points above the luggage bench were about 45cms above the bench. To work on my notebook I had to do so on batteries, but I did find another unused power point hidden behind one of the bedside tables that I could use to recharge it. Little things, but SO easily rectified if the architect had knowledge of the needs of a modern traveller.

There was a modern wall mounted air conditioner over the bed area, but although the daily temperatures were just over 30c, we not once needed to turn it on as the room remained cool all day which surprised me. This is due to the design I imagine and, if so, huge kudos to the architects for that, but no excuse for lack of power points.

There is no wifi or internet to the rooms, only to the common room close to the bar area. The charge is $10 for 1 hour or $25 for 24 hours usage, not 24 hours in time. I found the speed to be adequate, but if only running on the $10 entry code you cannot sign out and come back later to pick up the rest of the unused time – you lose it. The 24 hour access does permit signing off and on as desired.

I have read that in the past the Pioneer Hotel was regarded as the backpacker zone, and while I saw from the literature that there are backpacker facilities, the lodge region is far from that demographic type and very suitable for all ages who are looking for a cheaper alternative to stay within the Ayers Rock Resort. My small gripe earlier about power points would not stop me from staying here again or recommending it to others.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, General Manager at Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge - Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Frommy

Thank you for your wonderful review and I am pleased to read that the Outback Pioneer Hotel and Lodge provided all of the facilities one needs for a comfortable and relaxing stay.

I appreciate your comments regarding the power points available in our rooms and thank you for bring this to my attention. It is with feedback such as yours that allows us to constantly make improvements to our product and increase our satisfaction of our guests.

Once again thank you for your feedback and all the best in your future travels and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Daniel Lukritz
General Manager
Outback Pioneer Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,006 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    101
    344
    363
    123
    75
See reviews for
157
489
108
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penrith, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Room was clean and comfortable. Had a problem getting the shower to work, had to call for help from reception and the workman they sent down even had problem getting it to work. Need suction bath mats in baths with showers over then. Staff friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, General Manager at Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge - Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Alice B

Thank you for your review.

It is always wonderful to read when our guests have an enjoyable stay with us and I will be sure to pass your praises onto our staff.

Rest assured your suggestion of suction bath mats has been noted and our Executive Housekeeper is currently investigating implementing these in the future.

Once again thank you for your feedback and all the best in your future travels and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Daniel Lukritz
General Manager
Outback Pioneer Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Travelers to Uluru have a few options as to accommodations; if you're on a budget and don't mind having fewer amenities, Outback Pioneer will do. This hotel seems to double as a hostel, with many rooms that are dorm-style and share a large public shower/toilet. Our room was not with the dorms--it was private and had its own bathroom, but be sure to specify if that's what you want to book.
There is one television in a public room, and food options onsite are limited. Outback's one indoor restaurant only served buffet breakfast during our stay (early April). For lunch, there was a walk-up counter where you could buy fish/chips, sandwiches, etc. Dinner was even more rustic; we bought assorted meats at the open-air counter near the bar, took them to a large array of public grills, and cooked our own. Salad bar was free with purchase of meat, but if you're wanting a quiet dinner in air-conditioned comfort, walk to one of the other hotels. We found the buffet too expensive for the small amount we tend to eat in the morning, so we walked into the town center, where there are two dining options open in the morning, a deli and a sit-down restaurant.
We checked out the other, swankier hotels while we were at Uluru--before you go, decide how much you're willing to pay for a more upscale experience. Outback is the least luxurious of your choices, but rooms were clean and air-conditioned, there was a pool, and the grounds were pretty well kept up.
Not sure what other hotels were offering in terms of bar-life, but Outback Pioneer had a full and rollicking bar every night we were there (mid-week).

Room Tip: Before you book, ask about the different levels of accommodation. Also, rooms near the bar may have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, General Manager at Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge - Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear dolby05

Thank you for your review and I am happy to here that the Outback Pioneer Hotel and Lodge provided a great place to stay with clean comfortable rooms and a great atmosphere in our very popular Outback Bar.

I appreciate your comments regarding the limited dining outlets at the Outback Pioneer however we are readily praised for this and it is saddening to understand that in your case we we did not meet your expectations.

Once again thank you for your feedback and all the best in your future travels and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Daniel Lukritz
General Manager
Outback Pioneer Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Our room was simply and sparsely furnished: two beds, a table, two chairs, and a TV. The bedspreads were a little thin and due for replacement. The bathroom appeared to have been recently renovated: The tile looked new and freshly grouted. There was also a clothesline. TV reception was spotty. Internet is available for a charge.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, General Manager at Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge - Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear SDAG

Thank you for your review.

I am delighted to understand that you were satisfied with your accommodation however your comments regarding your thin sheets is concerning. Please know that we do take such feedback constructively and this matter has been addressed with our Executive Housekeeper who is currently sourcing replacement sheets. My apologies for any inconviences this may have caused during your stay.

Once again thank you for your feedback and all the best in your future travels and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Daniel Lukritz
General Manager
Outback Pioneer Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This is one of two accommodations close to Uluru (aka Ayers Rock). The rooms are tiny but clean. It is basic. The food is adequate. The only business of this area is tourist and attractions and activities are well ran and on time. This is pretty far in the outback, but the Aussies are well capable to keeping everyone entertained and very proud of their history.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, General Manager at Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge - Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Dear LoveKenya

Thank you for your review.

It is pleasing to understand that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Outback Pioneer Hotel and Lodge but also your time in the red centre. We endeavour to create a unique cultural experience for our guests and to understand that in your case we have achieved this is wonderful .

Once again thank you for your feedback and all the best in your future travels and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Daniel Lukritz
General Manager
Outback Pioneer Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We have stayed for 2 nights in a 4 bed doorm room but we were lucky as no one else joined us these 2 nights. The room was quit big and it was clean, further away from reception. Toilets/bath were located just outside our block, it was ok but needs a little bit more of cleaning. They offered a great variety of food along with live music, which was great, as what else you need after a hot day near Uluru.
It was the cheapest option in the ear but we do not regret by booking it, as it was clean, informative, helpfull staff. what else you need

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Dimas, CA
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Our cement-block motel was clean and equipped with a kitchen area (refrigerator, microwave, kitchen sink with draining countertop, electric kettle, and all dishes/utensils needed). There was a small table with chairs in addition to two beds. Because our tours left at 5:30 a.m., we utilized the kitchen area to prepare supplied instant coffee and tea, and food (purchased at the market in the towncenter). The antique TV needs to be replaced with a flat screen, and the 3 or 4 channels available were disrupted by stormy weather. The pool area was in need of repair, with loose and dirty tiles and older chairs marring this asset. This hotel had a covered outdoor pub, barbeque restaurant, bottle shop, and fast-food type counter. An indoor restaurant seemed to be closed during our visit. We took the free bus to other hotels in the resort for nicer dining options. Be sure to check the resort bus schedule as there are breaks in service that might result in a missed reservation. The other hotels seemed to have the same cement-block construction, but with more stories and nicer amenities. And the flies--horrific, overwhelming pests. We bought nets to put over our heads so we could at least stand to be outside. The flies kept us from trying the pub and barbeque restaurant. While a $10 wi-fi card was advertised, I tried twice unsuccesssfully to buy one. The staff at the hotel seemed to be new and still in training.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the road that runs through the property as trucks and buses use this roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge - Ayers Rock Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge - Ayers Rock Resort

Address: Yulara Drive | Ayers Rock (Uluru), Yulara, Northern Territory 0872, Australia (Formerly Voyages )
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Yulara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 hotels in Yulara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge - Ayers Rock Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for traditional Aussie hospitality? You'll find it at the Voyages Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge - with your choice of 3 1/2 star hotel or 2 star lodge accommodation, from comfortable, affordable hotel rooms and budget rooms to dormitories. This hotel is perfect for the demands of travellers looking for quality service in relaxed surrounds. This is a place where friendships are made and good times are had by all. Taste Australia's pioneering past, as you enjoy a beer and some outback delights at the do-it-yourself Outback BBQ, and swap stories of your day's adventures. Alternatively, opt for the peace and quiet of the Bough House Restaurant. The Voyages Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge is ideal for those who want to enjoy all that Ayers Rock (Uluru) has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge - Ayers Rock Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outback Pioneer Hotel, Ayers Rock Hotel Yulara
Hotel Outback Pioneer
Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge - Ayers Rock Resort Australia/Yulara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge - Ayers Rock Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.