We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not many choices at Uluru” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort to your Saves list
Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Yulara Drive, Yulara, Northern Territory 0872, Australia (Formerly Voyages)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Yulara
Springfield, Virginia
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Not many choices at Uluru”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed here as part of a package tour. Our room was adequate, but not great. In view of the location, perhaps this is one of the few options. The breakfast was also adequate, but nothing to write home about. The outback is so unique, and so far isolated that this may be the best that can be done. I would stay here again for a single night, but it could be a prob if you were staying a longer time. I do not know the cost of the rooms, since this was a package tour, but I suspect that it is pricey due to the location and the lack of alternatives.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, General Manager at Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Keena_b

Thank you for review.

It is pleasing to understand that you found your stay with us to be satisfactory and that you would choose to stay with us again should you visit the area.

Our room prices vary depending on the type of accommodation that is booked as we try to cater for all types of budgets.

Once again thank you for your feedback and all the best in your future travels.

Kind Regards

Daniel Lukritz
General Manager
Outback Pioneer Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    398
    418
    141
    81
See reviews for
178
572
122
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Prague
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

There are not many hostels to choose from in the middle of the desert in the middle of Australia. As I spent 400 dollars for a flight return ticket to get there from Sydney and it wasn't only one trip I intended to undertake in Australia I was looking for some affordable acommodation. Eventually I was very suprised by the quality of the hostel, cleanliness and very professional service. There was also a swimming pool, kitchen, a room with the computers and opened bar. Right behind the hostel there is a beautiful lookout to the Ayers Rock - that big stone.
What I really appreciated was that when you land to Ayers Rock the buses are ready to take you to your hostel for free. In the whole resort is one little square with ATM, post office, supermarket, restaurants. There is running a shuttle bus between the hostels and main square. Also when you book any tour the bus pick you up in front of your hostel. Pretty easy and very comfortable. I was there in May when the weather was very nice and perfect for a walk around the Rock (which takes about 2 - 3 hours). Enjoy it. Betty

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

My expectations were low, after reading the reviews. Our room was basic, no frills. Glad we only stayed one night. The pool however, was surprisingly large and refreshing. We tried the burgers, at the pioneer kitchen (on site) and were impressed. Big and juicy. Short walk to the town square, there's a free shuttle, that takes you around the resort and a free shuttle to and from the airport.

Room Tip: If you take the shuttle bus, try to be first in line for the check-in. The process is very slow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, General Manager at Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Keena_b

Thank you for review.

It is a pleasure to read that the hotel swimming pool provided a refreshing way to unwind after a long day touring.

I will be sure to pass your praises on the burgers to the kitchen team whom I am sure will be as pleased as I am to understand they were able to exceed your expectations.

Once again thank you for your feedback and all the best in your future travels.

Kind Regards

Daniel Lukritz
General Manager
Outback Pioneer Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warragul, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Nice surrounds, breakfast in restaurant was fine. Dinner at Desert Gardens was superb and recommended by receptionist at the Outback. Staff were very lovely but a basic hotel close to Formule 1 therefore difficult to say value for money. Also realise the cost of business in the location but would do it differently next time.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, General Manager at Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear mish123Ireland

Thank you for review.

It is wonderful to know that your stay with us at The Outback Pioneer and Lodge met your satisfaction and your meal at Desert Gardens Hotel was superb.

Your kind comments regarding are staff are very welcome and I will be sure to inform our team of your praises.

Once again thank you for your feedback and all the best in your future travels.

Kind Regards

Daniel Lukritz
General Manager
Outback Pioneer Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I stayed here in the 4 bed dorms for 3 nights in March. Receptionist was efficient but not particulalry friendly. Your credit card is charged an extra 20 dollars as a deposit for the key, which they give back to you in cash at the end of the stay. I had the room to myself one night and only one other occupant on the other nights. Room had A/C and I slept well. the showers were close by and fine, not the cleanest ever but hot. I didn't really use the communal facilities. I hired a car from ayers rock airport which had a 300km limit which means a trip to kings canynon would be costly. If youre on a tight budget and staying at Uluru, there's really no other option but to stay here as everywhere is extortionist. The most cost effective way to do Uluru is to fly to alice springs and take the Rock tour which I would do if again or else I hear that Jetstar will be flying to Uluru from June which might reduce costs. and buy a fly net!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, General Manager at Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear mish123Ireland

Thank you for review.

I am so pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. I would like to however apologise for that we did not meet your expectations when it came to both the cleanliness of the showers or the unfriendly customer service at reception. These matters have been addressed with the appropriate managers who have refined current procedures to ensure occurrence does not happen in the future.

Once again thank you for your feedback and all the best in your future travels.

Kind Regards

Daniel Lukritz
General Manager
Outback Pioneer Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Stayed for three nights which gave us time to explore Ayers Rock and surrounding area.
The room was one of the most expensive rooms I've ever booked, but nothing else cheaper at Ayers Rock (unless you camp!)
Room was fairly basic... first impression from outside was a breeze-block building with a tin roof!
Upon entering the room, it was fairly decent inside, quite large, clean & comfy with a good size bathroom. Air conditioning was good and we slept well there.
The nearby supermarket is well stocked and not too overly priced. The fresh bread was good and together with cheese and cooked meats made a cheaper alternative to the onsite restaurants. The cheapest food establishment served good pizzas, located oposite the bar,
where live music was played most nights.
The "Sound of Silence" evening was very good, if not very expensive again ... but it's a one off and a great atmosphere, dining under the stars with Ayers Rock as a backdrop!
All in all we had a good time here and would stay again if ever in that part of the world.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, General Manager at Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear SIGNMAN8

Thank you for your review and tips for fellow travellers.

It is wonderful to read that contrary to your expectations the Outback Pioneer provided you with a pleasant stay and great pizza!

Once again thank you for your feedback and all the best in your future travels and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Daniel Lukritz
General Manager
Outback Pioneer Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

I was travelling with my 11month baby daughter through Australia in March 2013. One of the places we decided to go to was to visit Ayers Rock in the Outback. After travelling 6 hours, we finally arrived at the Outback Pioneer Hotel. It was around 11am when we arrived. That day was 40 degrees Celsius and, bush flies all over. At the hotel, people were checking in and being handed their keys. When it was our turn, I asked the rep who was attending to me (Peyton) if they received my request for a room away from the pool area. She said that it was not ready and that I will have to wait. So I asked how long will I have to wait especially since I had a hungry, hot baby who also needed changing. She said in a very cold way 'well check in is really at 3.00pm, so it could be anytime between 11am and 3pm'. I said 'but people are being checked in and given their keys right now, you just gave the person in front of me their keys' and asked her if she can call Housekeeping and ask them if they can get the room ready as soon as possible as I was travelling with a baby. Now, why do I have to tell Miss Peyton to have some kind of a semblance of a heart, to see that I was travelling with a baby and to call housekeeping. Moreover, she was so cold and impersonal and uncaring when she told me that I may have to wait for 4 hours..when she was handing everyone else who came off that plane with me their room keys. This soured my impression of the hotel immediately and I had to go outside to wait with the baby on the benches of the outdoor bar. It was only when the lovely Alex came along half an hour later to tell me that the room was ready. He was so kind and friendly and very helpful. The other staff members were lovely too...the lady at the Pizza place, the guy who helps with the luggage and the housekeeping staff. All nice people. The only ZERO of that place was Peyton. Ironically, she was training someone that day but she herself needs HUMAN training.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort

Address: Yulara Drive, Yulara, Northern Territory 0872, Australia (Formerly Voyages)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Yulara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Yulara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Looking for traditional Aussie hospitality? You'll find it at the Voyages Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge - with your choice of 3 1/2 star hotel or 2 star lodge accommodation, from comfortable, affordable hotel rooms and budget rooms to dormitories. This hotel is perfect for the demands of travellers looking for quality service in relaxed surrounds. This is a place where friendships are made and good times are had by all. Taste Australia's pioneering past, as you enjoy a beer and some outback delights at the do-it-yourself Outback BBQ, and swap stories of your day's adventures. Alternatively, opt for the peace and quiet of the Bough House Restaurant. The Voyages Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge is ideal for those who want to enjoy all that Ayers Rock (Uluru) has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outback Pioneer Hotel, Ayers Rock Hotel Yulara
Hotel Outback Pioneer
Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort Australia/Yulara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outback Pioneer Hotel & Lodge, Ayers Rock Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.