We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Accommodation” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort to your Saves list
Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   Yulara Drive | Ayers Rock Resort, Yulara, Northern Territory 0872, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
3 Night Rate w/ Breakfast
Wollongong
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Average Accommodation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The apartment was nice and big, plenty of room. The biggest letdown for us was the air conditioning. Visiting in January, obviously it was extremely hot, but the air conditioning didn't really cope. At night the bedrooms didn't seem to cool down very well. They supply a couple of fans in the apartment. It was quiet at night and the beds were very comfortable. It was clean, and we had everything we needed in the kitchen. The outside balcony definately needed cleaning - everything covered in red dust. We were able to use the pool in an adjoining hotel, but the water was so warm, not much point. Cold water in the apartment was almost as hot as the hot water, so no cold shower. Buffet breakfast was great. If you go out early and have paid for breakfast, you can pickup a takeaway breakfast box from reception from 5am. It was ok, nothing compared to the buffet.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RM_Desert_Gardens, General Manager at Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Admeloz

Thank you for your review.
I am delighted to read that your apartment not only met but exceeded your expectations and provided everything you needed for an enjoyable stay.
I would like to apologise for the displeasure felt towards both the air conditioning unit and the warm temperature of your cold water. January 2013 was the hottest January on record for many years with temperatures rising to the mid forties. We are currently in the midst of reviewing our current systems in order to help prevent a reoccurrence.
I have discussed your comments in relation to the outdoor furniture not being cleaned to your satisfaction with our Executive Housekeeper who has since implemented corrective measures to ensure all outdoor furniture is cleaned to a high standard at all times.
Once again thank you for taking the time to provide us with you review.

Kindest Regards

Leon Pink
General Manager
Desert Gardens Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    140
    137
    53
    22
See reviews for
162
90
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Drouin, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

My family of 5 just got back from Uluru from Drouin Victoria. The lobby of the Emu Walk apartments is lovely and so were the staff, just lovely. The Apartments? SO basic.
We weren't happy with the room but we weren't upset over it either. It was just WAYYYYYY overpriced. I would think if those rooms were in Melbourne or Adelaide they would fetch $180 Maximum for 5 people. So for $500 for 5 people it was shocking. However I understand that considering it is a tourist location, then of course they will charge more so I do understand that. The room was perfectly clean. The sheets weren't the best quality, no doona cover on the doona, just an old quilt on top of a wrinkled sheet. However. I arrived after midnight, so I am genuinely lucky they gave me a room in the first place and maybe they quickly rushed up to the room to prepare it while we were at reception..? It's possible. There was no linen provided for the pullout couch even though we told reception how many guests there would be, so I just took the beeding off the bed and gave it to the person on the pullout couch. I think I was expectionally spolit when I stayed at Coober Pedy in an amazing place so I may be comparing it to that which was half the price for 10 times the amazingness. The lady at the reception desk was utterly lovely and such a pleasure. She made the room worth it. Don't get me wrong, it wasn't bad. But for the price, it just wasn't nice. Was it clean? Yes. Did it have room? Yes. Easy to get to? Yes. It just reminded me of my first apartment when I was a teenager. Everything you need, but you don't love it. Since everything at Uluru is expensive (which is fair enough) it was ok. Would I stay there again? If I had to, yes. If I had another choice, probably not. Considering I arrived after midnight with no booking, they were amazing to even help me in the first place though. As such I feel guilty writing that it could have better. I write this only so that others know this: If you go there expecting heaven...you will be very dissapointed. If you go there expecting very basic but safe and clean accommodation then you wont mind. It'd be a very good and safe base to explore Uluru and they had an entire kitchen, though very basic.

Room Tip: Try to get an apartment as close to the carpark as possible as it is a small walk with stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RM_Desert_Gardens, Manager at Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Amanda R

I appreciate and thank you for your valuable review.
It gives me great pleasure to hear of the kind and courteous service that was displayed to you by our front office team. Your sentiments have been passed on to our Front Office Team and they were pleased to hear of the enjoyable experience they were able to provide you during your stay.
We often receive positive reviews regarding the value of Emu Walk Apartments at Ayers Rock Resort and to understand that you did not share these views are saddening. I recognize that your stay was one of enjoyment and I am delighted you have informed us with this honest feedback.

Kindest Regards

Michael Augustin
Hotel Operations
Desert Gardens Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights with my partner and our 4 grown up children. There was a bed settee in the lounge area for 2 of the children but after spending ages trying to put it up we rang housekeeping to be told they knew it was broken. They quickly brought 2 camp beds which were adequate. No wardrobes or cupboards in the 2 nd bedroom. Kitchen wasnt particularly well equipped and catering for 6 wasnt easy. Apartment was ok but would benefit from a wash and brush up.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RM_Desert_Gardens, Manager at Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear H&R Kent

Thank you for your constructive feedback.
Please know that I am sorry for the out of order beds that were set up in the room and I am pleased to hear this was promptly rectified.
We genuinely appreciate your feed back regarding the interior design and overall facade of the apartments. We are currently in the process of putting together a refurbishment project with the intention to create a more contemporary feel.
Once again thank you for taking the time to provide your review.

Kindest Regards

Michael Augustin
Hotel Operations
Desert Gardens Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Only stayed for one night, the staff were friendly but apartment needed some TLC and some extra attention is needed to improve cleanliness in apartment, there were lots of cobwebs, mould in bathroom and you couldn't sit on the balcony outside as it hadn't been cleaned in quiet a while.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Stayed for one night so that we could visit the Rock. Apartment comfortable near town square with shops, post office and cafes. Having checked out in the morning we were able to use the air conditioned comfort of the Desert Park Hotel (and could have used the pool) whilst waiting for our airport transfer.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Loved our stay here for three nights. Staff were very helpful from the moment we began our reservations. The two bedroom apartment offered lots of space, well equipped kitchen and restful lounge. Connected to the Desert Sands we enjoyed the swimming pool, bar and laundry facilities (although the sun's heat was far more effective than the dryer). Free car parking allowed easy access to the Park. Close to the supermarket and village square was a treat. Only downside was the lack of available wifi in the Desert Sands despite paying for a voucher, learning only later after a frustrating few hours, the service was down.

Room Tip: two bedroom rooms very spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RM_Desert_Gardens, General Manager at Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear kirstine2013

I found it wonderful to read the feedback you have provided and I would like to thank you for taking the time to do so.
Your kind comments regarding the hotel swimming pool, in room facilities and convenient location of your apartment are very welcome and I am glad to hear of your memorable experience whilst staying with us at Emu Walk Apartments.
Please do accept me sincerest apologies for the absences of wifi available. Please do accept mu sincere apologies for the problems you experienced with wifi. We have addressed these problems with contracted supplier.

Kindest Regards

Leon Pink
General Manager
Desert Gardens Hotel | Emu Walk Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

4 of us stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment for 1 night and then 4 days later in a different 2 bedroom apartment for 3 nights. The first apartment was OK, but not as good as the 2nd. There were a few minor issues with the 2nd apartment when we checked in, but they were addressed immediately. The service was good. The kitchen was well equipped and we did most of the cooking ourselves. T
The pool was too far from the apartment. The resort is spread out and we were at the other end.

The supermarket was well stocked and prices were very reasonable. We ate once at Gecko cafe. The service was poor. It took forever to get the food and some water. I had a light meal of goat cheese souffle. It was the smallest I have ever seen, a few mouthfuls and overpriced. I mentioned it when I was paying the bill. The waiter said that they get the same complaint all the time. You would think that they would fix it if everybody is complaining.
Buffalo burger at Outback Pioneer hotel Pioneer Kitchen was good and the biggest burger I have ever seen.
Overall, it was an excellent experience, (my second time) and the trip to the Ayers rock is a must. Word of warning though. Alcohol prices are the highest I have ever seen anywhere. Bring your own if you can. A 6 pack of Boag beer is $26 and the cheapest wine is $30. I can buy that wine for about $5-$7 in Sydney.

Room Tip: The apartments facing the back, ie bush, are much better
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort

Address: Yulara Drive | Ayers Rock Resort, Yulara, Northern Territory 0872, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Yulara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Yulara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emu Walk Apartments are Voyages Ayers Rock Resort's self contained apartments.Sheltered behind gardens of native trees and forming a walkway through the heart of the Resort is an avenue of terraced apartments. Spacious and well equipped, the Voyages Emu Walk Apartments can cater for up to six people - ideal if you are holidaying with family or friends. All apartments are self-contained, with separate kitchen, living and bedroom areas.Located just minutes from the hub of the Resort, the Town Square, including mini supermarket and shops, these apartments provide everything you need to cook up a storm. Or, if you're not in the mood for cooking, you're nice and close to all of the fabulous resort restaurants, including Gecko's café. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Agoda, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Hotel Yulara
Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort Australia/Yulara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Emu Walk Apartments, Ayers Rock Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.