We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food and excellent, friendly service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Arnguli Grill

Arnguli Grill
Yulara Drive | Desert Gardens Hotel, Yulara, Northern Territory 0872, Australia
+61 2 8296 8010
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 11 restaurants in Yulara
Price range: $28 - $75
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Arnguli is the local Indigenous name for the bush plum. The plum flourishes even in the driest areas. Its importance in desert life is immortalised in dreaming stories and artwork.A gem of Australia’s rugged heart, the bush plum is a fitting name for a restaurant that celebrates its stunning surroundings. Executive Chef Kellie Quazi selects and transforms the finest produce from around Australia into a modern culinary experience. Quality products from every corner of the country are enlivened by local Indigenous flora, spices, grains and seeds
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Lovely food and excellent, friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

We had the Arnguli tasting plate for our entreé and it was excellent. The kangaroo was cooked perfectly and very tender. The main of venison pie was very tasty and the desserts were well presented. The service was very good too - a very nice restaurant overall.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Good food and caters for children”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This restaurant offers good quality food, whilst providing for children with a kids menu, complete with colouring & activities. This is the 2nd nicest place to eat at Ayers Rock Resort. Mayu, at Sails, is a fine dining experience, best enjoyed sans children- but kids fit in quite ok at Arnguli Grill. The service here was good, also.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Fabulous breakfast each day”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We had buffet breakfast included in our stay. It was fabulous.

The restaurant Supervisor (?Emma?) was absolutely lovely and nothing was too much trouble for her. We asked one morning for a chocolate milkshake for our son and each morning thereafter the milkshake magically appeared which we thought was fabulous service.

The food was great, we LOVED the croissants and ate enough so that most days we didn't need lunch.

Unfortunately the restaurant was booked out each night during our stay so we didn't get to experience the evening meals :(

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A surprising gem.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Three course meal, wines and excellent service. The meal at all stages was a delight with everything prepared, cooked and presented to perfection. The price was no more expensive than expected for the quality and remoteness of location. Recent bitter reviews by other "Tripadvisor reviewers" caused a little angst, but after a wonderful evening I have no second thoughts in highly recommending this restaurant - choices are limited in Yulara, but if you have the money to spend, and the time to sit down and appreciate the food and service, this is the place to come to.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walberswick, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“The worst steak we've ever eaten”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

After a memorable day walking around Uluru we were ready for a steak dinner. The pricing at AUD$40 to 55 was eye watering but to be expected given our location. Encouragingly the maitre de for the evening was very welcoming and the cocktail barman more than willing to make martinis to our specification. However the kitchen staff were something entirely different. Located in one of those open to view kitchens their apathy was obvious. They were much more interested in cleaning up and finishing their shift than they were in cooking our steak. They clearly cooked it straight from the fridge and then served it on cold plates. As evidence, the flavoured butter pats on top of each steak had not melted a jot. Each steak was ice cold in the centre. Regardless of the price it was the worst steak I have ever eaten and for the price it was appalling.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RM_Desert_Gardens, Manager at Arnguli Grill, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Funover50s,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback and for your compliments to our Restaurant Host & Bar Person, I am however disappointed to hear that the meal did not meet your expectations and that you felt that the kitchen staff were not committed to providing you the high Arnguli Grill standard. Arnguli Grill prides itself on providing a selection of the finest steaks and produce from around Australia, from which our dedicated staff prepare and serve, and to hear that you did not receive this standard is very disappointing. I have followed up through our restaurant logs as we take all raised concerns very seriously and unfortunately can find no record of your complaint or dissatisfaction, as we always do our best to ensure that our patrons leave happy and that any issue is quickly rectified or compensated accordingly before leaving the restaurant.
I am sorry that you did not enjoy your meal with us and I wish you safe and enjoyable travels for the future.

Best Regards
Michael Augustin
Hotel Operations
Desert Gardens Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arnguli Grill also viewed

Yulara, Red Centre

Been to Arnguli Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Arnguli Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.