We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not much choice at the Kings Canyon” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kings Canyon Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Kings Canyon Resort to your Saves list
Kings Canyon Resort
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Luritja Rd | Watarrka National Park, Kings Canyon, Northern Territory 0872, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kings Canyon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not much choice at the Kings Canyon”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Which doesn't encourage a great resort. If you want to see the canyon you need a place to stay and the resort is one out of two.

The rooms surely were nice ones but are worn and outdated now. We didn't have fresh linnen and needed to ask twice for fresh ones. The food in the restaurant is ok but really expensive, the breakfast is excellent. If you stay there choose a small room, the big Spa Rooms with whirlpool are not worth the money.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel H, General Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Kings Canyon Resort about the rooms standard and the meals. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed the breakfast. We are trying a unique Outback BBQ theme for the breakfast with the food cooked fresh to order.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide feedback. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    270
    216
    125
    62
See reviews for
161
428
22
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wollongong, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We booked a standard room but were upgraded to a Deluxe Spa Room at no extra cost even though we were only staying one night. We found the spa room to be lovely with good linen and we took advantage of the spa which was wonderful. It is expensive but it IS in the middle of nowhere and they have the cost of keeping the resort looking clean which would be a huge job considering the size. We went outside to the pub for dinner which was BBQ cooked to your liking with a salad bar. Again, expensive but OK. You have to expect to pay these prices. The only real negative is the laundry is very far away from the cabins and for people travelling this can be a small inconvenience. All in all though a very nice stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel H, General Manager at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Kings Canyon Resort in the Deluxe Room. It is ironic that the room you booked was closer to the laundry.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide feedback. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We stayed in a resort room with a Queen bed, nice ensuite with large basin (great for doing laundry in) and a shower over the bath just in case you need a soak after exploring the canyon).
The room was spacious and clean with tea/coffee making facilities and a small fridge. The general store on site didn't have much on offer and nothing gluten free so if you have food allergies make sure you stock up before arriving here. There was no microwave in our room either so we couldn't have bought TV dinners even if we wanted to. We had pizza at the bistro on the first night which was okay. Our second night we had Scotch fillet and Barramundi at $32 a meal plus $17 for two lemon squashs and 2 cappuccinos. The meals were very nice beyond expectation. The friendly staff at the bistro were fabulous. We opted for a couple of games of pool instead of watching the local entertainment "The Roadies" with their bush songs and audience participation. We did the 45 minute walk behind the resort which was badly burnt from the bushfire earlier this year but were happy to see lots of new plants beginning to grow again. The resort has a sunset viewing area of Kings Canyon for photo opportunities. We enjoyed our stay at Kings Canyon resort and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clementine M, Marketing Manager, Parks & Resorts Australia at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Kings Canyon Resort in the service standards and the meals. We are very pleased to be able to pass this on to all our staff.

Good tip on the laundry although we do have a laundry for the guests of the Resort which is separate to the washer and dryers in the 6 amenities blocks in the campground.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide feedback. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This resort was way more expensive than it should be, but hey, there is no where else to go, so you have no choice (unless you want to rough it more than you have too).

I went there with VERY LITTLE expectations and I was pleasantly surprised - its better than I thought. Yes its basic, but I have been in worse. The place is clean and the room with the spa has good views, the doors lock (which is good) -- although I had a person come straight into our room with HIS key so expect the unexpected when your in the room. Apparently this oversight happens quite often!!!

As others have stated, the staff are all 'new' and they don't know anything about the area, so this is very disappointing. Don't expect them to be helpful at any tourist information/guidance.

Breakfast is ok however it doesn't really cater for people with allergies. ie. the fruit selection is minimal if any.

The main restaurant looks simple, but the meals are excellent. Another pleasant surprise.

Grog is expensive. We paid $50 for 4 UDL rums.

We were given a $50 credit on departure that we could use anywhere in the resort. It would have been nice to be told about this on arrival as we would have used it on our grog or restaurant bills...

Don't go there with any expectations and you will come away feeling ok... realise your paying the big $$$ for the room only because there is nowhere else you can stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clementine M, Marketing Manager, Parks & Resorts Australia at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Kings Canyon Resort in a Deluxe Spa Room and the meals.

Staffing in any remote location can present a challenge, however, we do have people that have worked here for over 6 years and our entertainers, 'The Roadies', have been coming here for 13 years on and off! We of course run regular training sessions and familiarisations with the local area to ensure all staff can provide the right level of service and local knowledge for our guests.

Thank you for bringing to our attention the breakfast requirements for people with allergies - I have discussed this with the Head Chef.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide feedback. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in the "resort" at $330 for a spa room. That's a lot for a basic cabin where the only eating option is a truck stop cafe across the road, however it seemed the only decent option we could find at King's Canyon if you didn't have your own caravan. The spa turned out to be a success because we were pretty weary and battered after the rim walk - but it was worth doing. However you are left feeling Australia is pricing itself out of the world tourist market with such extortionate pricing and such misleading advertising - a resort!!!!! Give me a break. By the way, if you are self driving to Alice Springs from there and you have hired a decent 4 wheel drive, a prado or better, then give Palm Valley a visit on the way. The locals called it extreme 4w driving, but we were novices and we made it, although the last couple of Kms is scary - but exciting and palm valley is great.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clementine M, Marketing Manager, Parks & Resorts Australia at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Kings Canyon Resort.

I have considered your comments about the Desert Oaks Bistro, it is close to the service station and Outback Store and I am guessing that is where your comments stem from. It is also in the same complex as the Thirsty Dingo Bar and the Outback BBQ. We are also proud to offer the Under the Desert Moon dining experience to round out our offering for people of all budgets and requirements

Thank you again for taking the time to provide feedback. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

this resort has suffered from a recent fire-one of the restaurants remains closed months later. the staff were very friendly-the main attraction is the local national park which is stunningly beautiful-but several of the staff new little info about the trails in them. the rooms were clean but run down-for the price charged this place needs a makeover. the food at the local restaurant was excellent and average price by aussie standards-$70-80 for 2 at dinner with a glass of wine.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clementine M, Marketing Manager, Parks & Resorts Australia at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Kings Canyon Resort and I very happy to enjoy the meals that you had during your stay.

The restaurant you speak of was closed prior to the fire and remains closed as it now also requires repairs from the fire. However, we do have other options available for dining including the newly launched Under a Desert Moon dinner experience.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide feedback. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed in the budget accommodation. Room is spacious and clean. It has great view of the Kings Canyon. Common areas such as kitchen, bathroom and toilet are disappointing. The kitchen do not have any utensils and you have to hire them. Toilet and bathroom are built for tropical environment. It is freezing cold in winter. When we were there, there was no hot water.

Room Tip: Room over looking the Canyons.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clementine M, Marketing Manager, Parks & Resorts Australia at Kings Canyon Resort, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at Kings Canyon Resort in the Lodge rooms in the campground.

The resort doesn’t charge for the loan of cooking utensils, crockery, cutlery, etc, - these are free. All that we ask is that you leave a deposit which we return in whole when the equipment is brought back.

I am sorry to hear that the amenity block that you were using had no hot water during your visit. All 6 amenities blocks do have hot water now although we did have to recently replace a hot water unit in B Block.

Thank you again for taking the time to provide feedback. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kings Canyon Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kings Canyon Resort

Address: Luritja Rd | Watarrka National Park, Kings Canyon, Northern Territory 0872, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Kings Canyon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kings Canyon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kings Canyon Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 164
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kings Canyon Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kings Canyon Hotel Kings Canyon
Kings Canyon Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kings Canyon Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.