We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing dinner!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Ochre Grill Restaurant Alice Springs

Red Ochre Grill Restaurant Alice Springs
57 Todd Mall, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
+61 8 8952 9614
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $8 - $41
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: The Red Ochre Grill Restaurant Alice Springs is fully licensed with innovative & exciting dishes specialises in Australian seafood, Australian game meat, bush food and regional Australian cuisine. Dine in the vine covered courtyard or inside in air-conditioned comfort.The restaurant is tastefully decorated in the colours of the outback, featuring a gallery of world-class panoramic photos of Central Australia taken by Ken Duncan.The Red Ochre Grill Restaurant is situated in the heart of the Todd Mall is open 7 days 6.30am - 9pm for breakfast, lunch, dinner or for just a great cup of coffee. EARLY BIRD DINNER OFFER : 20% off your food dinner bill when dining in the Red Ochre Grill Courtyard. Must contact restaurant before 6pm. Courtyard reservations 6 to 6.45pm and order placed before 7pm. Not available on spilt bills, Sundays or Public Holidays. This discount may not be used in conjunction with any other offer. Closed Christmas Day.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

The food was amazing and great value for the quality! The staff could not have been more attentive and the atmosphere was lovely. Highly recommend the kangaroo as it was delicious!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Red Ochre Grill Restaurant Alice Springs, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
"We are glad we made you SMILE"

Thank you for the review and also all previous reviewers while I have been on leave.

We seemed to have made most of you SMILE, thank you.

Kindest regards,

Ron Thynne - General Manager
Red Ochre Grill Restaurant/Aurora Alice Springs
Alice Springs NT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    223
    75
    44
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sevres, France
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We had a meal on the terrasse of the Red Ochre after our return from our Outback Safari. We were very impressed with the quality of the food served and the friendly and helpful staff.
Cheap kids menu, big plates, and very nice desserts !

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esch-sur-Alzette, Luxembourg
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Had a meal at the Red Ochre after our return from our Outback Safari. We were very impressed with the quality of the food served and the friendly and helpful staff. Recommendable ++

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Nice food and a great manager”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights and, in addition to breakfasts, had an evening meal here. I tried the Kangaroo whilst my wfe had the Pork Belly Roast. The food was great, though we felt that the plates were cold. The manager, Jodi, addressed the issue immediately in a friendly and professional way, and impressed us enormously. I should, of course, have mentioned my concern immediately, but hadn't wanted to make a fuss. Jodi was brilliant, and ensured that we were only left with positive thoughts about the hotel and restaurant. My advice to fellow travellers is not to be afraid to tell a staff member if you're not completely satisfied, as they are interested in your welfare and will sort it out. Well done, Jodi!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“A Good One”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We ate here twice - once for lunch. Second time was for an early dinner where with a pre-booking and arrival/ order before 7.00pm gets a 20% discount on most menu items. And its a good lot of menu choices.
We thoroughly enjoyed the food, the experience and the attention of the friendly staff.
Definitely a good place to eat - proably one of the best for casual dining in Alice.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Ochre Grill Restaurant Alice Springs also viewed

Alice Springs, Red Centre
Alice Springs, Red Centre
 
Alice Springs, Red Centre
Alice Springs, Red Centre
 

Been to Red Ochre Grill Restaurant Alice Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Ochre Grill Restaurant Alice Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.