We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a little expensive but good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Ochre Grill Restaurant Alice Springs

Red Ochre Grill Restaurant Alice Springs
57 Todd Mall, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
+61 8 8952 9614
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 70 Restaurants in Alice Springs
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $39
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Red Ochre Grill Restaurant Alice Springs is fully licensed with innovative & exciting dishes specialises in Australian seafood, Australian game meat, bush food and regional Australian cuisine. Dine in the vine covered courtyard or inside in air-conditioned comfort.The restaurant is tastefully decorated in the colours of the outback, featuring a gallery of world-class panoramic photos of Central Australia taken by Ken Duncan.The Red Ochre Grill Restaurant is situated in the heart of the Todd Mall is open 7 days 6.30am - 9pm for breakfast, lunch, dinner or for just a great cup of coffee. EARLY BIRD DINNER OFFER : 20% off your food dinner bill when dining in the Red Ochre Grill Courtyard. Must contact restaurant before 6pm. Courtyard reservations 6 to 6.45pm and order placed before 7pm. Not available on spilt bills, Sundays or Public Holidays. This discount may not be used in conjunction with any other offer. Closed Christmas Day.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“a little expensive but good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We were going to a local show so needed to be out on time - the staff were very good on making sure that our order was taken in plenty of time and were very friendly - did find the menu to be a little on the expensive side but the servings were very large and of very good quality I took the three course option soup and main very tasty but must admit the desert was not to my liking but all in all it was by far one of the best meals we had eaten on our trip to central Australia.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Red Ochre Grill Restaurant Alice Springs, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
"We are glad we made you SMILE"

Thank you for the compliments, much appreciated by the staff. We do have varied prices and specials on offer for dinner of which you choose the 3 course meal deal for $40.

Kindest regard

Ron Thynne - General Manager
Red Ochre Grill restaurant/Aurora Alice Springs
Alice Springs NT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    242
    87
    49
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Went in for a quick bite to eat and was pleasantly surprised. I'm not a huge meat eater but wanted to give kangaroo a try. After sharing my fears with the waitress that the meat might be too gamey she suggested the best way to have it cooked. It ended up being one of the most tender and tasty steaks I had.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Red Ochre Grill Restaurant Alice Springs, responded to this review, June 22, 2013
"We are glad we made you SMILE"

Thank you for the review, yes the kangaroo is a very popular dish and we recommend it eaten medium/rare to enjoy it's unique flavour.

Kindest regards

Ron Thynne - General Manager
Red Ochre Grill Restaurant/Aurora Alice Springs
Alice Springs NT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The 'special' meal was disappointing. I'd pay more for something else next time. Its a great location with a friendly vibe but the food was very average. Unfortunately the young wait staff were more interested in having fun together than waiting on tables. Drinks and meals were missing and had to be asked for on our table and several others around us. I'll go back and try this place again though as it came recommended to us.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Red Ochre Grill Restaurant Alice Springs, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
"We hope we made you SMILE on your return visit"

Yep, I would be disappointed like you were if I was recommended to a restaurant and the service and food were not up to the recommendation.

My apologies and I hope your return visit was a much better experience.

Kindest regards

Ron Thynne - General Manager
Red Ochre Grill restaurant/Aurora Alice Springs
Alice Springs NT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Meat!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

A bit of a meat eaters delight. Though we found the cost of the meals expensive, the servings were big and of the three of us none could finish what was on their plate. Food was tasty. Staff very friendly and helpful. Centrally located.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Red Ochre Grill Restaurant Alice Springs, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
"We are glad we made you SMILE"

Thank you for the review and feedback; sorry about the price but it sounds like you got your money’s worth and enjoyed the experience.

Kindest regards

Ron Thynne - General Manager
Red Ochre Grill Restaurant/Aurora Alice Springs
Alice Springs NT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
164 reviews 164 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Definitely good for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

A nice casual restaurant with a good lunch menu, and we also visited on another occasion for morning tea. Staff are friendly and the food is good.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Red Ochre Grill Restaurant Alice Springs, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
"We are glad we made you SMILE"

Thank you for taking the time to comment, much appreciated.

Kindest regards

Ron Thynne - General Manager
Red Ochre Grill Restaurant/Aurora Alice Springs
Alice Springs NT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Ochre Grill Restaurant Alice Springs also viewed

Alice Springs, Red Centre
Alice Springs, Red Centre
 
Alice Springs, Red Centre
Alice Springs, Red Centre
 

Been to Red Ochre Grill Restaurant Alice Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Ochre Grill Restaurant Alice Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.