We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful atmosphere, excellent food and friendly service, we loved it.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red Ochre Grill Restaurant Alice Springs

Red Ochre Grill Restaurant Alice Springs
57 Todd Mall, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
+61 8 8952 9614
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $8 - $41
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: The Red Ochre Grill Restaurant Alice Springs is fully licensed with innovative & exciting dishes specialises in Australian seafood, Australian game meat, bush food and regional Australian cuisine. Dine in the vine covered courtyard or inside in air-conditioned comfort.The restaurant is tastefully decorated in the colours of the outback, featuring a gallery of world-class panoramic photos of Central Australia taken by Ken Duncan.The Red Ochre Grill Restaurant is situated in the heart of the Todd Mall is open 7 days 6.30am - 9pm for breakfast, lunch, dinner or for just a great cup of coffee. EARLY BIRD DINNER OFFER : 20% off your food dinner bill when dining in the Red Ochre Grill Courtyard. Must contact restaurant before 6pm. Courtyard reservations 6 to 6.45pm and order placed before 7pm. Not available on spilt bills, Sundays or Public Holidays. This discount may not be used in conjunction with any other offer. Closed Christmas Day.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Wonderful atmosphere, excellent food and friendly service, we loved it.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2011

What a great resteraunt in the centre of Alice Springs shopping mall, it was such a warm friendly atmosphere surrounded by breathtaking art of Alice Springs. My family were greeted by great staff, David & Vanessa, and really took care of us escpecially since we had two very young boys. The food was as good as you get in any of the well known resteraunts in Melbourne, even 2 young fussy eaters ate their entire meal. We ate there a couple of times and it didn't disappoint. Thank you.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Red Ochre Grill Restaurant Alice Springs, responded to this review, June 24, 2011
"We hope we made you SMILE"

Thank you for the family stamp of approval; positive feedback is much appreciated by the hard working staff.

Special thanks to the most difficult of all food critics; "the 2 young fussy eaters who ate their entire meal"

Kindest regards

Ron Thynne - General Manager
Aurora Alice Springs/Red Ochre Grill
Alice Springs NT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    221
    74
    44
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Very pleasant staff, good service and great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

We were travelling with our intellectually handicapped son. The staff were very helpful and accommodated his wishes - which made our stay more enjoyable.
The restaurant had a good ambience and we thoroughly enjoyed having our meals there.
Breakfast was great as it had a good selection and accommodated our early departures.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Red Ochre Grill Restaurant Alice Springs, responded to this review, June 15, 2011
"We hope we made you SMILE"

Thank you for your review, the staff appreciate your kind remarks "Very pleasant staff, good service and great food” and I am most pleased that this helped contribute not only to your dining experience but also made your overall stay with Aurora Alice Springs more enjoyable.

Thank you for staying and dining with us.

Kindest regards

Ron Thynne - General Manager
Aurora Alice Springs/Red Ochre Grill
Alice Springs NT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

This is suppose to be a great restaurant in Alice. We took a friend who was visiting there for lunch and we all had the Eggs Benedict. It was way overpriced we spent over $60.00 for 3 lunch meals of egg and just plain tap water. I mean come on they were eggs on toast. There was a few pieces of Rocket lettuce that they called salad there wasn't any dressing on it. The Eggs Benedict was really pretty good. The poached eggs were on a thick piece of pumpkin bread. The price and wait time was really poor. We waited about 45 minutes and we were the only 3 in the place. Escentially there was no customer service there. I have eaten here for dinner in the past and the wait time was 2 hrs again the food was good but, was way overpriced for a small piece of meat.

  • Visited March 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Red Ochre Grill Restaurant Alice Springs, responded to this review, June 14, 2011
"We hope we made you SMILE"

Thank you for the review and kind words about the food been good and apologies for the wait for your meal. It is a reminder that with the ever changing casual staffing in Alice Springs we must always continue our staff training in customer awareness.

What can I say about the Eggs benedict; they are and have been one of our most popular brunch meals with many repeat customers. The lunch menu description is as follows - Eggs benedict shaved leg ham, soft poached eggs topped w hollandaise sauce on toasted pumpkin seed bread - $16. but you said " we spent over $60.00 for 3 lunch meals of egg and just plain tap water" I am not sure how you spent over $60, the total for what you said you had is only $48.

I appreciate constructive criticism but when you exaggerate the price you paid just maybe your waited time may have been a little exaggerated as well, 45 minutes for your lunch and heaven forbid 2 hours for dinner; really !!!!

We do appreciate your patronage and hope you do try the Red Ochre again.

Kind regards
Ron Thynne - General Manager
Aurora Alice Springs/Red Ochre Grill
Alice Springs NT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury,ON
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
136 helpful votes 136 helpful votes
“We first dined here in 2003 and it's even better now.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2011

We enjoyed dining under the vines on Todd Street 8 years ago, so we tried it again. It's even better in 2011. Whether you just want a good coffee in the shade, a good lunch or dinner, this is probably the best place in downtown Alice.
Try the Australian tasting platter, kangaroo sausage, local olives, barramundi bites, or the barramundi fishcakes appetiser. The wine list is good and reasonable, the service very friendly and good.
The Early Bird specials make it even better. And evening parking is free nearby.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Red Ochre Grill Restaurant Alice Springs, responded to this review, June 4, 2011
"We hope we made you SMILE"

It's great you tried the Red Ochre again and found it’s even better than your last visit 8 years ago, a much appreciated comment.
We do vary the menu from time to time, our latest lunch, dinner menu and special offers have been updated on The Red Ochre web site (click on the link above under restaurant details)
Let’s hope you don't wait another 8 years to visit us again.

Kindest regards
Ron Thynne - General Manager
Aurora Alice Springs/Red Ochre Grill
Alice Springs NT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Excellent Food & Service, but a bit chilly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

This restaurant is attached to the Aurora hotel, where we were staying, so it became an easy option when we didn't want to travel far.

It is popular, so if you want an inside table it is best to book. We didn't book so had to take an outside table which despite having a heater was a little chilly.

The food was very good (I had the lamb shank pie) and was washed down with an agreeable red. Although the service was a bit slow, the staff kept us informed and we were in no rush once we had the wine.

  • Visited May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AuroraAliceSprings, General Manager at Red Ochre Grill Restaurant Alice Springs, responded to this review, May 31, 2011
"We hope we made you SMILE"

Thank you for your review, yes it is certainly cold in Alice Springs in the evenings and early mornings during winter with nice sunny days.

The lamb shank pie is very popular dish during these cool evenings and your suggestion of booking early is encouraged by us as we offer 20% discount off the dinner menu if you make a booking before 6pm to dine between 6pm-7pm (Monday - Saturday)

The inside of the Red Ochre restaurant is heated in winter but as you mentioned we were fully booked inside and although the outside courtyard area has heaters it still can be a little chilly outside.

I will pass your kind comments onto the staff, very much appreciated.

Kind regards
Ron Thynne - General Manager
Aurora Alice Springs NT
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red Ochre Grill Restaurant Alice Springs also viewed

Alice Springs, Red Centre
Alice Springs, Red Centre
 
Alice Springs, Red Centre
Alice Springs, Red Centre
 

Been to Red Ochre Grill Restaurant Alice Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Ochre Grill Restaurant Alice Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.