We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and really nice place!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Overlanders Steakhouse

The Overlanders Steakhouse
72 Hartley Street, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
61 8 8952 2159
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 69 Restaurants in Alice Springs
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Itala, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good food and really nice place!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

We enjoyed out 1kg steak.... Cooked perfectly!! Place for tourist for sure but with good quality food!
We loved the flangs on the tables that signed the customers nationality! We still have the menus, you can take them as a souvenir!

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    50
    48
    29
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

The staff were lovely, defiantly a tourist menu with the roo/camel/emu meat choices, the rest of the menu is very 70's. I loved the touch of the flags. We had a good night with great company, I guess I was a little disappointed with the food.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakes Entrance, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“reply to Ruined my husband's birthday”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

I stand by everything I wrote on my review. I am afraid that the author of the restaurant reply is lying. Ben Keith, an Aboriginal girl attended to us, not you. We were never offered any alternative other than to pay for what we had eaten, nor did you offer to pay for the one drink that we had consumed. Your reply is a lie. I'm sure that without the buses coming in you'd not be in existence anymore. Instead being defensive, how about working out how to make a place that could be great better. The next night we went to Red Ochre. It was excellent. Feel free to read that review.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant, ok meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Lovely restaurant geared to tourists with friendly helpful staff. However the kangaroo burger I had was not very good. I've had kangaroo burger and steak in Oz before on this trip which tasted much better. Other meals may have been better, my wife's sausages meal was quite good.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

Friendly staff and good food! all home made. we had a very good steack and also I recommend the Kangooroo and Crocodile salad! The desserts were also home made and so was the Ice Tea.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Overlanders Steakhouse also viewed

 
Alice Springs, Red Centre
Alice Springs, Red Centre
 

Been to The Overlanders Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Overlanders Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.