We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yummy again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hanuman Alice Springs

Hanuman Alice Springs
82 Barrett Dr | Double Tree by Hilton, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
08 8953 7188
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Indian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: A favourite dining experience for locals and visitors since 2001. Hanuman Alice Springs is conveniently located inside the Crowne Plaza Hotel, a 5 minute drive from the centre of town.The Asian mood is created through the clever use of decor, artifacts and lighting - a stunning contrast to the surrounding Central Australian desert landscape.
Australia
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“yummy again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

This the 3rd and last one for me to try, having been to the original in Darwin and the one in Cairns, and once again it was the same amazing food. The menu has been similar in each, which means we could order our favorite, bara curry, sharing is hard the meals are so good, luckily they are always a decent size, the roti is light flaky and hard to just have one, even the rice is tasty. We just love these restaurants, they are so consistent with service and food. The setting is fun too as you sit near the lobby , so there is always someone to watch!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    138
    43
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Keswick, Virginia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

This is a Thai owned/operated restaurant in the Crown Plaza Hotel. This is the best restaurant in town as observed by the locals that had come dressed up for group parties and an evening out. We had the Indian food b/c we had had Thai not too many days before. Others with our tour had the Thai food and raved about it. We had the beef Vindaloo and the chicken Chindari with rice. Both were excellent and large portions that we could not finish. We could have shared one dish. Good service, attractive, upscale atmosphere. A real surprise in Alice Springs.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Hanumans - lovely food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

I've been to Hanuman twice, good for a special occasion and to share food with a group of friends. I loved all of it, can't say I have found a better place yet in Alice Springs. Don't worry about the prices, it is worth it!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice springs
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Consistently great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

Great food, great service and great decor. If you are looking for a little fine dining in Thai, Indian then best visit this restaurant it's tucked away inside Crown Plaza. You should book this in advance as a very busy eating place for locals and guests alike.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best In Alice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Definately the best place to eat in Alice. Im a bit of foodie and this place has not let us down once. Service is usually good, prices maybe slightly exi, but thats alice. In general anything off the small plate menu in particular is excellent. Also have eaten at the darwin version and this is probably better. Oh yeah, and you have to book but can often do it on the day if a small table.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hanuman Alice Springs also viewed

 
Alice Springs, Red Centre
Alice Springs, Red Centre
 

Been to Hanuman Alice Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hanuman Alice Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.