We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good & clean for one night stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Alice On Todd Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Alice On Todd Apartments to your Saves list
Alice On Todd Apartments
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   5 Strehlow Street, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0871, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Sofia, Bulgaria
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Good & clean for one night stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

This efficient place is a good refreshing stop if you're traveling through the "red centre", nothing more. We stayed in a nice, clean apartment, quite convenient, but very cold. We could not warm it even after a whole night of full power air conditioning. Do not expect any service, after 5pm even the reception is "do it yourself". There is a convenient jogging spot - the alleys next to the dry (in July) river Todd. This was the first place in Australia (No. 5 in our trip) with a free internet! Bravo!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    48
    10
    6
    3
See reviews for
37
28
7
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

So bad!!! Self contained is a joke, they offer a portable stove top. The room I got was like a dungeon. All rooms face the pool which is a nightmare. Staff are rude. Cleanliness is very poor. Games room is pretty good for families. Spa is regularly broken.
What makes this place the pits is when you raise your concerns with staff they laugh in your face. It seems they expect to offer nil customer service due to
the isolation of the place.
The rooms are not secure and are vulnerable to drunk locals breaking in during the night. The location is poor and is a good 3kms outta town.
It's also noisy. Overall terrible. Don't waste your money.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Stayed at Alice on Todd on our trip through central Australia. The recently refurbished apartments are clean, spacious and modern. There are lots of facilities to keep the kids entertained and the riverside location is just lovely. The kids loved the pool and play areas!
The linen was clean and the staff were incredibly friendly and more that willing to help us and advise us on how to get the best out of our stay.
If I get the chance to revisit Alice Springs, Ill definitely be staying here again. Great family friendly property!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Passing thru town, my family stayed in this apartment for three nights whilst Checking out 'The Alice', it was a friendly stay, the manager went out of her way to give us a great insight as to what is around, the accomodation was clean, the appartment was well suited to our needs, i would definately use Alice on Todd again.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AliceonTodd, Owner at Alice On Todd Apartments, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Hello Monique

Many thanks for your review. We are very happy that your stay was enjoyable.

Hope to see you again sometime
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

These apartments are too far out of town if you don't have a car. Approximately 20/30 minute walk. Not ideal in such a hot place. Once there, we were advised by a number of people that it is too dangerous to walk on dark due to the problems with the Indiginous people. A Taxi will cost you $10 a trip.
We had an upstairs two bedroom apartment which was very spacious, the linen was clean and the beds were comfortable. However, the rest needs a good clean, especially the floors. The bathroom floor tiles were in need of a good scrub (drip marks could be seen around the toilet). We felt more comfortable wearing thongs in the shower.We reported a septic ordour in the bathroom which was overpowering. The complaint was attended to promptly however it returned in a matter of no time. We pruchased airfreshners. We were advised that this was a commmon problem in Alice Springs.
The lounge chairs could also do with some dry cleaning and repairs to an armrest would be recommended.
We would not recommend staying at Alice on Todd Apartments, as I feel that we could have had better accommodationsure for $195 per night.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AliceonTodd, Owner at Alice On Todd Apartments, responded to this review, May 1, 2012
Hello Veronica and thanks for providing a review of Alice on Todd Apartments.

We value reviews both good and bad and I am very sorry to hear you have had a disappointing stay with us.

The floor coverings are coming up to 9 years old, and as such are losing their shine. The good news is, they are being replaced throughout the complex right now. I am very sorry that our refurbishment is not timed well for you. If you ever make it back, i would love to show you around.

Over the next few months, the apartments at Alice on Todd will receive new furniture (lounge chairs, dining settings etc) and floor coverings, vanities and kitchen cupboards/benchtops. Due to the nature of our business we have to do this gradually as we have a busy booking sheet. We didn't get an opportunity to do this in the quiet time as there wasn't one this year.

Thanks again for your review and rest assured it is taken on board. We are very proud of Alice on Todd and are disappointed if we don't meet expectations. I will post the new pics on Trip Advisor once they are done.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2012

My husband and I were on a 3 month touring holiday to Australia and stayed in 23 different locations and this was the worst apartment we had in the whole 3 months. We arrived on the Ghan train in early December for a 2 night stay before moving on tho Uluru. It was a studio apartment with a kitchenette, there was linoleum on the floor with holes in it where the bed feet had worn it away. In the kitchen there was a silly 3 legged table which if you were not careful would tip up. The cooking facilities were bar minimum and we decided to buy ready meals from supermarket. The apartment was downstairs in a corner with a communal door to the upstairs apartment and if you have early risers above running up and down the stairsand banging doors it can be very annoying, also for the whole time we were there a white transit van was parked outside our window so we had very little light. The complex is quite away from centre of Alice and in 40 deg heat you do need a car for getting around as it is too far and too hot to walk the distance. We enjoyed our time in Alice Springs but we would definitely not return to Alice on Todd. The grounds could have done with a good tidy up and sweep if nothing else.

Room Tip: Wouldn,t recommend staying here more of a back packers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AliceonTodd, Owner at Alice On Todd Apartments, responded to this review, April 2, 2012
Hello Pauline

As one of the owners of Alice on Todd, I would like to assure you that when I see a guest review anything with the word 'disappointing' in it, then I am surely as disappointed as they are. I would like to thank you for taking the time to post a review, as whether good or bad, they give us an opportunity to take a good look at our business and how we are viewed by our guests.

I have had a good look into your review and interviewed the managers and staff on the circumstances around your stay. I have also inspected the apartment you stayed in and would like to respond as below.

1. The holes in the linoleum - Yes, when I got down on my knees and looked under the bed I could see the holes - tears from the bed feet. Thank you for pointing it out, they will be repaired. We are currently about 40% into our refurbishing program where we are replacing all the linoleum across the property with timber finished vinyl planks. They look very good. The unit you stayed in has been moved up the list to be done shortly. We had not noticed the tears and it had not been brought to our attention by guests on our feedback forms.
2. The 3 legged table - I was able to unbalance the table by putting all my wight on the one point. I'm wondering if I would do this in my normal course of eating, but I take your point. It can be unbalanced if someone wants to. We haven't come across this type of complaint before. We will be interviewing studio guests over the next 4 weeks to get an idea on the issue. The studio apartments aren't huge, and there aren't a lot of small table options which is the main reason we selected them. Thanks for the feedback and we will investigate.
3. The cooking facilities - Our studios are a simple design for the travelor will budget as a high priority. They are advertised as having a kitchenette, rather than a full kitchen as there simply isn't the room. We consider they are functional in this capacity. You didn't mention what you were missing from your kitchenette expectations? If you can let me know I can look into it. We provide in our kitchenettes a bar fridge, microwave, sink, double cooktop element, frypan and pots, knives, forks, spoons, plates, glasses, mugs.
4. The noise upstairs and the van - This point is particularly disappointing because not unlike the others, it could have been easily dealt with at the time of your stay. A simple call to the Reception would have resulted in either a room change or a vehicle move. Yes it would have blocked your front window from light, but there was a double glass sliding door the other side of the room. Regardless it would have been great to have had an opportunity to fix this while your were with us.
5. The grounds - are our manager's pride and joy..I am extremely surprised by this comment. The only explanation I can come up with is that the gardener was on annual leave while you were here and we may have fallen behind without him. We had only just taken delivery of a $3000 monster sucker-vac for the leaves and garden which they all love using, so I will be keeping an eye open to ensure it's regular use.

Pauline I would just like to emphasise one thing that I touched on in point 4. Most of these problems you endured could have been solved very easily while you were here. If we don't know you are unhappy we can't fix it and it is very disappointing to find out after the fact that we had an unhappy customer that we might have made happy if we had the chance. We all have different expectations and needs and we try very hard to cater to the majority. However on the odd occasion, if we have let someone down we will do our utmost to set things right. I would urge you (and anyone else reading this response) to keep this in mind wherever you are traveling as I am sure you will find most accommodation places have a similar view.

Alice on Todd has a feedback form which you may have noticed on the coffee table. It has a review section and a maintenance section for guests who may like to point out things we may have missed (like the holes in the linoleum under the bed). I have found one before you stayed (14th November) and after you stayed (17th January). Both had very similar responses.
Service/staff - Excellent
Rate Apartments - Very Good (best rating is excellent)
Resort Grounds - Very Good
What impressed you - service, facilities, staff

When I read these, I am confident we are on the right track.

That's not to say we can't be better though, so gain, thank you for taking the time to review our business. I wish you the very best for your future travels.

Damien
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

We rented the 2 bedroom apartment before heading out to the Outback and again on the return. The manager was extremely nice to us, even when we accidentally forgot to tell her we were staying another night and even when we had a dog there for an hour outside while we unloaded our bags. She's very patient with families. :-)

Both of the 2 bed units we stayed in were on the top floor. The first unit was a 2 bed, 2 bath with pull-out couch in living room and a small dining/kitchen area. The second unit was a 2 bed, 1 bath and it had an extra bed (stored under bunk bed when not in use), but no pull-out couch in the living room. The dining area is slightly smaller in this unit, however this unit comes with a washer! There is A/C , heat and one TV. Although I don't think the 2 bed 1 bath unit had A/C in the bedroom. (It has a fan though, which was enough.) The kitchen has pots, pans, dishes so you can cook and eat in your apt.

Positives
1.This hotel is located close enough to downtown Alice Springs (if you have a car).
2.It has free internet!
3.Staff cleaning the rooms are very pleasant and will help you with extra towels, sheets, etc.
4.There is a pool, kids area (somewhat tired looking), and communal washers/dryer. Bring $1 coins for the communal washers and dryer.

Negatives
1.Rooms and decor are dated.
2.The dryer is not good. It takes a LONG time and eats your money! Try to hang your items using the drying rack conveniently located in your apartment.

There is a hot tub area, but we didnt have time to try it.

Overall this is a nice option for families on a budget.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Alice On Todd Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alice On Todd Apartments

Address: 5 Strehlow Street, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0871, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Alice Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alice On Todd Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
57 contemporary styled Self Contained Apartments, to suit all types of travellers' requirements. Situated overlooking the banks of the Todd River, Alice on Todd provides a unique option for the Alice Springs visitor. The apartments feature private courtyard or balcony, free wifi in rooms, reverse cycle air conditioning and modern kitchens appointed with the latest appliances. Each apartment has individual laundry facilities and undercover parking. Guests can also enjoy the landscaped pool, spa, barbecue area and games room, children's playground. Pets are welcome on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Alice On Todd Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alice On Todd Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.