We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away from there” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Haven Backpacker Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Haven Backpacker Resort to your Saves list
Haven Backpacker Resort
3.5 of 5 Hostel   |   3 Larapinta Drive, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia (Formerly Larapinta Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
Warsaw
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Stay away from there”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

I stayed there for one night before my Uluru trip. The room was big, with aircon, a fridge, a kettle and some fre tea/coffe but unfortunately that's the end of advantages. The staff were unfriendly and impatient, the pool was the size of a puddle and rather seedy. Reception closes at 20:00 and there's no one you could complain to when the people next room are throwing a huge noisy party till 4 a.m - which was the case during my stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    35
    26
    17
    8
See reviews for
3
12
54
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

The hostel is very quiet and clean. Backpackers clean all rooms and the kitchen daily. 10mins walk to todd mall and trainstation. 8bed dorms big enough.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

No sleep x 2 nights. 10:00pm curfew in outside area not adhered to. Laundry workers start before 6am so washing machines/dryers in action early. Noisy corridors. Floors under sofas unclean. Secure luggage accessible by all. It was neither a restful nor pleasant experience.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

I chose to stay at the Haven because it was handy for the station, and it is only a short walk into town.

I stayed in an 8 bed dorm. The room was quite dingy/dark, and although the beds were comfortable enough the cleanliness of the bed linen was questionable. I saw stains on some sheets and some of the other dorm beds looked like they had already been slept in, though the sheets not changed. The bathroom also got incredibly steamy and damp whenever anyone took a shower, because the extractor fan did not work, plus the sink hadn't been cleaned properly in a while (scum around the taps, etc).

Overall the hostel is pretty average. It isn't very dirty but it isn't very clean either. The facilities aren't very bad, but they're not very good either. Another example is breakfast; yes, there's free breakfast but it is only bread and jam/spread with tea or coffee.

I also found reception hit and miss; some of the ladies were absolutely lovely and super duper helpful, and others were grumpy and clearly care at all about their customer service, acting as if it were a chore to help you.

Rather hit and miss on the whole.

Room Tip: Book through HostelWorld for cheap deals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Quite good location, 5-10mins from town
Stayed here twice, before the tour and during the tour
First time private room, second dorm. Same room only private had fewer bunks and some extras
Had a problem with key to dorm, as did others. Staff tried to fix but didnt work, I gave up
Average room and bathroom
Dirty shower curtain in dorm room
Breakfast, toast free or make your own
Private room not worth the extra

Room Tip: Private room not worth the extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HavenResort, Front Office Manager at Haven Backpacker Resort, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Dear Charlie,

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear that you didn't think that the double room was worth the extra money. Our room rates for our double rooms start from $75 per night. The facilities in our private rooms include a double bed, a set of bunks in case families stay, tea and coffee making facilities, LCD TV, fridge, sofa, private bathroom and individual outdoor seating area. These are extra to what you get from an 8 shared dorm for $23.00 per night.

With regards to the key system, we have reviewed and reset the key card system which has sorted out the problems that we experienced during your stay.

Hope you enjoy the rest of your travels.

Kind Regards

Isabel Rowley
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

The Haven was perfect for travel especially for young people. It wasn't loud or noisy at night, we stayed in private dorm for an amazingly cheap price and slept quite well. Breakfast is provided in the mornings and pancakes which was such an amazing bonus! Rooms were clean and serviced. Amanda was fantastic at organising our whole trip pretty much, definitely recommend this place for a place to sleep at Alice out of all the backpackers there! We had a fantastic time at the Haven, right near the town centre which was perfect and excellent security at night. Thanks so much to all the team!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

Good friendly staff, within walking distance of town stayed three nights, place was clean and other backpackers friendly, great lawn for laying out in the sun.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Haven Backpacker Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haven Backpacker Resort

Address: 3 Larapinta Drive, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia (Formerly Larapinta Lodge)
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Alice Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Haven Backpacker Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The welcoming, Award winning Haven Backpackers Resort is a 3 star Alice Springs accommodation that is ideal for budget leisure travellers and backpackers. Situated only a short walk from the centre of Alice Springs and offering excellent amenities, Haven Backpackers Resort is an ideal place to stay for a great price. Winner of the Northern Territory Tourism Awards for Backpacker Accommodation and Finalist for the Golden Backpack Awards for best hostel in the Northern Territory, Haven Backpacker Resort will meet all your expectations. Guests at Haven Backpackers Resort will appreciate the outdoor swimming pool and outdoor cooking area with BBQ, TV, and patio seating. The property also features shared kitchen facilities as well as a TV lounge and laundry room. Convenient shuttle service (charges apply) to and from the airport, cafes, and shopping. There is no shortage of fun outdoor tours and adventures for guests to enjoy. A small sample of the activities includes camel rides, hot air balloon rides, trekking through the Outback , or a trip to the spectacular rock formations of Uluru. Our travel desk will help you book any tour that you need and we offer some fabulous discounts. All rooms have high ceilings and include en-suite shower rooms, security card entry, air conditioning, brand new beds with lockable backpack storage and the latest technology in bed bug resistance comfortable mattresses. Twins/doubles and family rooms are kitted out with 32" LCD flat screen televisions, refrigerator, tea and coffee making facilities and sofa. We also have 4 & 8 share rooms and a floor with - "female only" rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Haven Backpacker Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haven Backpacker Hotel Alice Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Haven Backpacker Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.