We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs an overhaul.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs to your Saves list
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   82 Barrett Drive, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early & Save
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Alice Springs
Charlottetown, Canada
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Needs an overhaul.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

There was nothing specifically wrong with this hotel. Room was OK, clean, but just tired, worn and dated. We had a balcony facing the mountains. A nice surprise was that it backed on to a nice little golf course so we were able to play several rounds by just walking out the back door. While the hotel is walking distance to town, it is a long walk. We had to taxi back with our "beverages and snacks". There is a small Casino just a few blocks away. Breakfast buffet was very well stocked. There is no Wifi but they give you a something like 20 minutes daily at no charge if you sit in the lobby. There was a sign outside that advertised Bike Rentals but when we went to rent them Front Desk said none were available because they had been stolen. They took the sign down. There is a car rental stand in the lobby, staffed for a few hours in the morning with a sign saying "we have cars". However, when we went to rent one, they only had cars available at the airport, not the hotel, and we would have to taxi both ways for pick up and drop off. One shock was that we left a cookie on the table in our room one morning and when we returned 5 hours later it was covered in ants. Very freaky. Front desk staff was unfazed by it and told me that just happens. Staff were pleasant.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor with a balcony facing the mountains. Decent view and was shaded so not to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-AKLLT, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Dear Sharon155023,

Thank you for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor, it is pleasing to hear that you enjoyed the views from your room, facing towards the McDonnell ranges and proximity to Alice Springs golf course which is ranked as one of the top 10 desert golf courses in the world.

I appreciate your feedback regarding interactions with the hotel team and will ensure your feedback is discussed in-depth.

As you have noted Avis car rentals offer a service from the hotel lobby which includes drop off and pickup. I will ensure your feedback is bought to their attention so that this full service offering is clearer to future guests.

I do apologise that ants took a fancy to your cookie, due to the location of Alice Springs, being a desert, it is common to see ants outside. Please reset assured that it would have been our pleasure to offer another cookie for your delectable consumption.

Thank you again for sharing on TripAdvisor, I do hope that you will allow us the opportunity to welcome you back at some stage in the future.

Sincerely,

Clinton Farley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    222
    99
    28
    13
See reviews for
67
154
41
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This hotel has decent amenities including a lovely resort type pool and the rooms are what you would expect given it is the Crown Plaza ie very clean, comfortably furnished and well maintained. My room overlooked the mountain which was great, it was quiet and the room service and quality of the meals was very good. However, the gym could do with some refurbishment and it needs to be serviced more regularly as there were dirty towels left around the equipment.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the mountain range.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-AKLLT, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear San_Moon,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the hotel recently. I note from your feedback that you may have visited prior to our recent conversion to DoubleTree by HIlton Alice Springs.

It is wonderful to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your time at the hotel and I appreciate your feedback regarding the fitness centre. We are currently scheduling a soft refurbishment in this area.

Thank you again for your feedback and I do hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel again shortly.

Kind regards,
Clinton Farley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

I loved my stay at Double tree (what a stupid name, I bet Paris Hilton was on drugs when she made that up). The rooms are a bit tired, but I'm sure they will be refurbished soon with the Hilton influence. Hannumans restraunt was awesome!! The staff were fantastic!! Particular mention to Matthew, the night manager. He bent over backwards to help us have a fantastic stay in Alice Springs. Thankyou Double Tree and thankyou Matthew!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-AKLLT, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Lan N,

Thank you for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor and for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Alice Springs.

It is delighting to hear that you found our team our greatest assets. Since taking management of the property on 1st May 2013 we have conducted intense training with the team and it is wonderful to hear that the service offered by Matthew was a stand out for you. Please rest assured that I will personally recognise Matthew for his efforts.

With regards to your comment "tired" I am pleased to let you know that a further refurbishment of the hotel is on the cards and is currently being planned.

Thank you again for taking the time to share on TripAdvisor.

Kind regards,

Clinton Farley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

My complaint was the Recption staff were not friendly. Received a cold welcome. The room was ok a bit on the dark side, needed more lighting. About 2 km's out of town. They had porter service, on our departure they didn't turn up to pick up our bags from our room. We had to carry them down ourselves just in time to meet our pick up transport. On the plus side they stored some of our luggage while we had a trip out to Uluru.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-AKLLT, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Rhonda O,

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Alice Springs. Please be assured that your feedback is greatly appreciated and I am sorry that you experienced a deficiently in service during your stay with us.

As the hotel only recently opened as a DoubleTree by Hilton property, we are currently reviewing all aspects of the operation and greatly appreciate all feedback which will assist us to review training and development and to meet the expectations of guests.

Please be assured that your feedback has been addressed with my Rooms Division Manager so to ensure our front desk team are further trained in the high level of warm hospitable service we pride ourselves upon.

Sincerely,

Clinton Farley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

The hotel has recently been renamed a Doubletree by Hilton as of May 1. Let's hope the Hilton people spruce up the place. It's not a bad hotel, the lobby is large and the rooms are large too. I had a room with a view of the McDonnells. The bed was quite comfortable and I felt fairly safe even with the warnings to keep your sliding doors locked at all times. I hear Alice Springs isn't a place you want to be at night....
But, the bathroom needs some updating, clean the grout in the tub. I'm a bath person and I took a shower each night because the tub just didn't spakle. The paint job is late 80's yellow and needs to go. The industrial sized wastebasket isn't very appealing either. The balcony has cracked concrete, rust showing in the railings, a broken plastic chair and ants. I didn't eat in the Thai (?) restaurant but I did have lunch and dinner at the bar/restaurant in the lobby. Not the best food I've ever had and the burger was fairly nasty. The pasta was ok for dinner. The service was good and the front desk people were pleasant enough. 3 star at best. The best part was the outdoor pool area was very nice and lovely landscaping all around. Good laundry facility but do not use the internet in the laundry room-rip off and didn't work in sending an email home. Breakfast was included but again, the chef just isn't the best at this hotel-I mean how can you make eggs taste bad? But they did...
Nice quiet area and good for sleeping. Get a room with a view of the Macs. Long walk to town but ok if you take shuttles everywhere.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-AKLLT, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear JessieNoelle,

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Alice Springs.

As you have noted, on 1st May 2013, Hilton Worldwide took management of the property as a DoubleTree hotel. We are currently conducting intense training and development with the team to raise the standard offered at the hotel. Feedback such as yours assists greatly in reviewing where we are currently at and how we can improve to achieve our goal of being the best of the best in the region.

I do very much appreciate all your points and can assure you that we are working to address all matters noted.

I do hope that you will allow us the opportunity welcome you back to DoubleTree by Hilton Alice Springs in the future.

Sincerely,

Clinton Farley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princes Risborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza for 2 nights in total (1 night before we left on our camping trip and 1 night after). It was a good place to stay for a few nights but I wouldn't have wanted to stay any longer. The room was nice but nothing special and the location wasn't brilliant. It was quite far out of town - about a 15 - 20 minute walk. However, the hotel staff were friendly and the hotel's commitment to environmental sustainability is brilliant!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-AKLLT, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear TravellingKimmi,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at DoubleTree by Hilton Alice Springs, I appreciate you taking the time to place feedback on TripAdvisor.

On 1st May 2013, Hilton Worldwide took management of the property as a DoubleTree hotel.

While you have noted that the hotel is approximately a 20-minute walk from town, by vehicle this trip is a short 4-minute drive. For convenience, taxis are also very reasonably priced at approximately $10 one way to the town centre.

Thank you again for posting TravellingKimmi, I do hope that you enjoyed your camping trip following your stay and we shall look forward to inviting you back to Alice Springs at some stage in the future.

Sincerely,

Clinton Farley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

The hotel was average and OK for a couple of nights.A taxi ride into town and restaurants so I tried room service which was fine. Biggest complaint in this modern age is that there is no WiFi in the rooms! Only available in a small area in reception. Hotel staff friendly and generally helpful. No reduction for a single person.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CF-AKLLT, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Judith_pb,

Thank you for choosing to stay at DoubleTree by Hilton Alice Springs. Please be assured that your feedback is greatly appreciated.

On 1st May 2013, Hilton Worldwide took management of the property as a DoubleTree hotel.

We are currently reviewing facilities and services offered at the hotel and feedback such as yours is well received as a suggestion to further consider as we strive to ensure all our guest needs are met. While we currently offer WiFi in the hotel lobby, bar and restaurant areas our guest rooms offer high speed cable. I do appreciate that WiFi in guest rooms is a valued expectation and something that we are currently looking into.

I do hope that you will allow us the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel on a future visit to Alice Springs.

Kind regards,

Clinton Farley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs

Address: 82 Barrett Drive, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Alice Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs 4*
Number of rooms: 235
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Alice Springs is located 15km from Alice Springs Airport and 500 metres from Alice Springs Convention Centre and Lasseters Casino. The hotel is a 15 minute walk or 4-minute drive from the town centre and adjacent to Alice Springs Golf Club, ranked in the top 10 best desert golf courses in the world! Experience eco-friendly luxury at the DoubleTree by Hilton Alice Springs hotel with views of the MacDonnell Mountain Ranges. Explore the rugged West MacDonnell Ranges, with their dramatic gaps and gorges, and the nearby red sand dunes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Alice Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.