We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of RT Tours Australia

RT Tours Australia
2/16 Rieff Court | Saadeen, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
+61 8 8952 0327
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 29 Activities in Alice Springs
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Bob Taylor is a Master Bush Chef that loves to share his passion for food, culture and country with travellers to Australia’s Red Centre. A Central Aranda man, Bob infuses traditional foods of the Australian bush into his fare to add flavours unique to the region. His deep knowledge of culture and country allows him to pass the stories of this amazing landscape on to his guests.
Carey Gully
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Bob made our girls week in Alice Springs fantastic and memorable. We went out on his Mbantua Tour and Dinner on our first night after being kindly welcomed at the airport. He then dropped us off to our accomodation and we were on our for a couple of days before we ventured off on a road trip for two days and nights, He is very willing to accommodate for any length and requirements for you! We went to Palm Valley to which I had already been but a couple of others in our group of five girls hadn't been. Not only did I appreciate and learn lots more about the area than last time but I also had the added bonus of having food prepared and very comfortable accommodation which was definitely not included when I went with the family (not that I didn't enjoy that also!) I would highly recommenced this for a relaxing, informative and very, very tasty trip especially if you are looking at doing something a bit different. We tasted bush food and some meat that I hadn't tried. Bush tomatoes and Emu were new to me and also Kangaroo which I enjoy was also superbly cooked.
Many thanks to Bob for making this a trip that we will talk about for years to come and thanks for putting up with us crazy girls :)

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellence in Alice Springs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Bob Taylor made a visit to Alice Springs for our group of six, including four from overseas, a really special and personal experience. Having booked for his Mbantua Tour and Dinner, he also offered to pick us up at the airport, took us to our accommodation and later that day collected us for the tour. We all enjoyed the visit to the Historic Telegraph Station Reserve and Simpsons Gap and his commentary on the history, vegetation and desert location was great.These visits were followed by the highlight dinner, cooked in no time by Chef Bob as we enjoyed the campfire and stars. The delicious menu included bush foods, herbs and spices. In addition Bob arranged transport the next day for us to board The Ghan. We certainly recommend Bob's tours for anyone visiting Alice.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south strathfield
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“superb company under the stars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We were fortunate enough to end our trip with Bob's Under the Stars dinner- what great company he is and a superb host. Unforgettable tucker capped off an unforgettable time in the Outback. Good luck with your future endeavours, Bob.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unique experience in Alice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We had an amazing experience with Bob, learning about the bush and exploring places around Alice. The 3 course dinner he cooked up for us on the campfire was incredible, the uniqueness of it and trying out different foods was very interesting, for example, emu and kangaroo, loved the desert!! Loved watching the stars come out and sitting around an open fire while Bob cooked for us. The conversation we shared was light-hearted and yet very interesting and informative. We will go home with a much better understanding of the bush and aboriginal culture. An unforgettable experience for us. Thank you so much for all the time and effort you put in for us Bob, keep on doing what your are doing because it is truly unique

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best thing we did in Alice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

We had a great time with Bob. He really knows the history, landscape, flora and fauna of the region. He's an interesting person too. The campfire dinner was something special - great food and company in a spectacular location! A must do when in the Red Centre.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed RT Tours Australia also viewed

Alice Springs, Red Centre
Alice Springs, Red Centre
 

Been to RT Tours Australia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RT Tours Australia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.