We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellence in Alice Springs” 5 of 5 stars
Review of RT Tours Day Tours

RT Tours Day Tours
2/16 Rieff Court, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
+61 08 8952 0327
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 26 activities in Alice Springs
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Bob Taylor is a Master Bush Chef that loves to share his passion for food, culture and country with travellers to Australia’s Red Centre. A Central Aranda man, Bob infuses traditional foods of the Australian bush into his fare to add flavours unique to the region. His deep knowledge of culture and country allows him to pass the stories of this amazing landscape on to his guests.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellence in Alice Springs”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Bob Taylor made a visit to Alice Springs for our group of six, including four from overseas, a really special and personal experience. Having booked for his Mbantua Tour and Dinner, he also offered to pick us up at the airport, took us to our accommodation and later that day collected us for the tour. We all enjoyed the visit to the Historic Telegraph Station Reserve and Simpsons Gap and his commentary on the history, vegetation and desert location was great.These visits were followed by the highlight dinner, cooked in no time by Chef Bob as we enjoyed the campfire and stars. The delicious menu included bush foods, herbs and spices. In addition Bob arranged transport the next day for us to board The Ghan. We certainly recommend Bob's tours for anyone visiting Alice.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
south strathfield
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“superb company under the stars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We were fortunate enough to end our trip with Bob's Under the Stars dinner- what great company he is and a superb host. Unforgettable tucker capped off an unforgettable time in the Outback. Good luck with your future endeavours, Bob.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Unique experience in Alice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We had an amazing experience with Bob, learning about the bush and exploring places around Alice. The 3 course dinner he cooked up for us on the campfire was incredible, the uniqueness of it and trying out different foods was very interesting, for example, emu and kangaroo, loved the desert!! Loved watching the stars come out and sitting around an open fire while Bob cooked for us. The conversation we shared was light-hearted and yet very interesting and informative. We will go home with a much better understanding of the bush and aboriginal culture. An unforgettable experience for us. Thank you so much for all the time and effort you put in for us Bob, keep on doing what your are doing because it is truly unique

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best thing we did in Alice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013 via mobile

We had a great time with Bob. He really knows the history, landscape, flora and fauna of the region. He's an interesting person too. The campfire dinner was something special - great food and company in a spectacular location! A must do when in the Red Centre.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Den Dungen, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Unforgettable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We made a trip with Bob in the desert. Very experienced guide and the best cooking in the bush. I will never forget this! Thanks Bob, Good luck.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed RT Tours Day Tours also viewed

Alice Springs, Red Centre
Alice Springs, Red Centre
 

Been to RT Tours Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RT Tours Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added RT Tours Day Tours to your Saves list