We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected better” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lasseters Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Lasseters Hotel to your Saves list
Lasseters Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   93 Barrett Drive, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Alice Springs
Dannevirke, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Expected better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Have stayed at Lasseters a couple of times this year but the last visit probably didn't do them justice. Arrived in the evening on a Saturday during the recent heavy rains. The room was very good. Decided on room service and ordered 1 x duck & prawn red curry, 1 x curry, 1 x stir fried veges, 1 plain Naan bread and 1 x garlic Naan. Order took about an hour to arrive but was wrong. No duck but King Prawns only, no stir fried veges and no Garlic Naan. Contacted room service who redid order. About 45 minutes later order arrived. Still no stir fried veges. Overall a poor effort on the part of Lasseters. It didn't help that the girl taking the room service orders could not speak/understand english very well.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool or the ranges are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    187
    99
    30
    16
See reviews for
61
148
41
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (171)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was a long trip for me this time round so I spent around 10 days there this time (3 and 7). I wouldn't want to be anywhere else! As usual, they looked after me very well. Had (lots of) great meals at Juicy Rump which turns into a night club on Friday & Saturday nights/mornings and very popular with the locals. I also had a couple of meals at Sukra. Still good but must be a new chef there as it has changed a bit.

Service was excellent as always and of course, if you are there long enough (like this trip), you get to know the staff very well. Thank you to Sophie, Zenna and Ping (hope I got that right) for your great hospitality. There is one other staff member there who we affectionately called Brandy but not sure of her real name who was also great.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Have just arrived back after staying a week at Lasseters. Stayed in Block 5 and what can I say..WOW. From the moment of checking in I felt like I was at home, the reception staff were very friendly and helpful and when I got to my room (5123) it was perfect, Plenty of cupboard space to put your stuff, the most comfortable bed I have slept in, the rain shower was out of this world. Being up there for business I had a work car, no problem parking right outside the block. The pool area was amazing. Room service perfect and the staff smiling and friendly.Sitting out in the courtyard with the amazing view of watching the sunrise was spectacular. Would definitely recommend staying here to anyone travelling to Alice Springs. Thank you all at Lasseters for making my stay there perfect in every way

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darwin
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

When i arrived 2 staff obviously looking for something behind the desk and guests kept waiting with no form of recognition didn't start visit well as i was tired and just wanted to check in. I stayed in one of the old rooms and was disappointed. Look the room was ok... Bed was very comfortable but having seen and requested a new room was disappointed not to get one. Had room service which arrived cod so would suggest you go to one of the restaurants on site or off site to dine. Some one had also charged their beverages to my account and once they had gone through all the dockets were able to remove charge although did take awhile. Definitely ask for a new room and am sure you will have a better stay.

Room Tip: Ask or a new room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Worst hotel in Alice Springs to stay.
Premium rooms newly refurbished are nice but do not make up for the absolute lack of customer service and poor staff training. Upon arrival and departure front desk staff are polite however
Room service meals are consistently wrong and the worst I have had. Kitchen staff do not know how to cook an omelette - their idea is scrambled eggs with the bacon and vegetables lumped on top. Don't understand " sauce on the side in a separate dish, not over the main meal."
In room breakfast dining - menus are not collected even when you ring to ensure someone collects it. Food items ordered are missed. Menu is not replaced for the next day you need to ring room service to get another one. Some Staff are rude in The Rump Restaurant.
After the first bad stay I left a feedback form - no one got in touch with me. Unfortunately due to Crowne being booked out I had to stay here a second time. The same poor level of service was delivered.
Do not waste your time with this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't bother with this hotel. Go to the Crowne Plaza next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LassetersHotel, Food and Beverage Manager at Lasseters Hotel, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you for the further feedback you are providing regarding your recent stays with us. It is evident we have failed you each time you have stayed but have taken your comments on board and are in the process of resolving the issues you have raised. I do apologise again for our shortcomings and appreciate the frank feedback you have provided.

Regards,
Scott Healey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin. Northern Territroy
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I have been staying at Lasseters for years, both for work and pleasure.
The Hotel has undergone a lot of refurbishment of late, and the new pool area is fantastic (it's even heated for the cooler months).
On my last two trips to Alice Springs I have stayed in the 'New Wing'. The rooms in this new part of the hotel are far superior to the standard rooms, and are in close proximity to the new pool area, with great views of the pool on one side, or the McDonnell Ranges and Alice Springs Golf Course on the other side.
I found the room on the ground floor quite noisy, as all traffic to the lifts must enter at ground floor level, so I would recommend you request a room on the top floor (it is only 3 levels).. the top level is super quiet!
I would not recommend the standard rooms... so make sure you pay a little extra and secure one of the new rooms in the brand new wing of the Hotel.

Room Tip: Top floor of the new wing is a much quieter option than the ground floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
308 helpful votes 308 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Used To Stay Here 5 Yrs ago, Just returned, Rooms still good, large size, clean generous mini bar, Generally very quiet, on this occasion was a bit noisy, a few knuckleheads as co-guests. Lasseters have added a new Heated Pool 27C - Nice Touch.

Good restaurants inside, Juicy Rump had good meals, large portions.
Sports Bar crowded but easy to get service. Reception staff friendly, simple check in and out, called a taxi no problem.
The Casino is always a bonus for the bored, rich or wanna be rich !

Two night stay, Very Reasonable rates. Staff - Marco very helpful in locating lost'' iPod.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lasseters Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lasseters Hotel

Address: 93 Barrett Drive, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Alice Springs
#2 Business Hotel in Alice Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lasseters Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Low-rise Hotel & Casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Lasseters Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lasseters Hotel Alice Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lasseters Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.