We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We enjoyed our stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Desert Palms Alice Springs

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Desert Palms Alice Springs to your Saves list
Desert Palms Alice Springs
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   74 Barrett Dr | PO Box 3196, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Free WiFi
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Alice Springs
Colorado
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“We enjoyed our stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

We stayed one night in a 2-bedroom cabin that was quite unique from any place we had every stayed before. The cabin was fairly plain but spacious and clean.
It had a full-width covered porch. The bathroom was a narrow full-width room across the back of the unit with a curtained shower area to the left end, a sink in the middle, and toilet to the right end. Also, had a nice compact kitchenette with good appliances.

It wasn't cooled down when we got there but, after putting our room key in the wall control, the unit mounted high on the wall opposite the main bed quickly cooled it down.

The second bed was directly against the wall opposite the foot of the main bed giving it more the appearance of a large cot. We never used it.

The hotel is away from downtown on a nice side street not far from the casino on the same street. It's seriously fenced with a security gate. When we asked why, we were told there were some problems with intoxicated natives at night downtown and this was their way of keeping folks safe. They recommended we avoid downtown after dark. We felt safe there.

The office is not staffed at night which turned out to be a minor inconvenience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    90
    57
    32
    10
See reviews for
64
83
18
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Union Bridge, Maryland
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Friendly front desk, Had a nice room in individual cabins with cooking faculties, not fancy but everything you need, quite location, stayed for 2 nights, The pool could have been a little cleaner, leaves in it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angie R, Owner at Desert Palms Alice Springs, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Hello, and thank you for your review. As mentioned in the response to another guest we did have a problem with the swimming pool pumps with 2 out of the 3 breaking down at the same time so it was difficult for the 1 pump to keep up with the leaves/dust for a few days until they could be replaced. I can assure you we do day pride in keeping our swimming pool clean as it is our centre point and it is cleaned every day and the first job of the day. Apart from that I are glad you enjoyed your stay. Regards Angie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

I just needed a couple of days to chill out before facing the world of backpacking again and this wasn't a bad choice. I agree with the other reviewers who say (some of) the staff could be a bit more jovial (there was one exception, a lovely girl with dark hair). They were reasonably helpful, but didn't seem to believe me that the wifi wouldn't work for me in my room. It really wouldn't! I had to sit outside the laundry to get it to work, which was a little annoying - especially as this was probably the number one reason I booked to stay here.

The pool wasn't quite as well-maintained as it could be so I didn't swim, but the pool area is a great place to relax.

The rooms are nicely done with everything you need and they're clean and quiet. It's located pretty well with a bus stop outside, but only a 10-15 minute walk to town anyway.

I wouldn't rave about it, but it did the job and I felt I could really relax in my room, uninterrupted. It was worth what I paid, which was $99 per night, but I'm glad it didn't cost any more.

Room Tip: If you want wifi make sure you ask them for a room near one of the hotspots. I found the one near re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angie R, Owner at Desert Palms Alice Springs, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Hello, and thank you for your review. In regards to the WiFi I am not sure what room you were staying in but we did have problems with the Wifi in rooms 34 to 47 for a period as we were waiting on a transceiver that had been ordered. This has now been fixed and we have had no further complaints. Likewise we did have a problem with the swimming pool pumps with 2 out of the 3 breaking down at the same time so it was difficult for the 1 pump to keep up with the leaves/dust for a few days until they could be replaced. I can assure you we do day pride in keeping our swimming pool clean as it is our centre point and it is cleaned every day and the first job of the day. Once again many thanks for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orroroo, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Once again a fantastic stay here. clean rooms, efficient and friendly service. The pool is a great bonus, chance of mixing with other guests for all over the world. Its a safe environment. Great Stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We had two separate one night stays in the Resort. Reception staff were helpful and efficient, and both rooms in which we stayed were clean and well equipped. There were spare beds in the room, useful for sorting our bags but they did make the room feel cramped at times.The site is made secure at night with sliding gates locked at 8pm, for cars and pedestrians so it is essential to take the paper with the gate code if eating out!
It was a short walk to the Doubletree by Hilton (formerly the Crowne Plaza). for our evening meals. It was deservedly very popular and booking was recommended. The other restaurants and shops of Alice Springs were a longish walk away, the use of a car is advisable.There was free Wi Fi but the signal strength varied.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Again I have stayed at this 'green oasis' in the outback, it is so relaxing after travelling especially around the swimming pool with a cold beer :-). Just a great place to unwind. Management and staff were just great and nothing was too much trouble. It is just a real comfortable place to stay. Look forward to my next visit in 2014.

Room Tip: As I have said before, get a chalet near reception, not so far to get refreshments !
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Room was a good size, relatively clean, and the bed was comfortable. However, it was old and hadn't been kept up - paint flaking off the walls, gouges one walls and woodwork, etc. No hair dryer, iron, ironing board. When I asked about a hair dryer, it was, "oh, yeah, you can check one out if you come to reception." Staff at reception not really helpful. Also, unless you have a car, it's a long way to shops and restaurants and no shuttle.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angie R, Owner at Desert Palms Alice Springs, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. The Desert Palms Resort is a 3.5 star rated property located 1 km from the town centre of Alice Springs. Although we don’t have hair dryers in the rooms they are available from reception at your leisure, there is an iron and an ironing board in our guest laundry which is open 24 hours for your convenience. There are several of the best restaurants in Alice a next door and a short distance from the hotel including Hanumans, The Juicy Rump and the Golf Course Club House. I am sorry you felt the rooms were old and tired, they were painted approximately two years ago and if we know the room you were in we will certainly have a look at the paintwork. Once again thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Desert Palms Alice Springs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Desert Palms Alice Springs

Address: 74 Barrett Dr | PO Box 3196, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 Hotels in Alice Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Desert Palms Alice Springs 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An oasis in the outback, the Desert Palms is a 3.5 star outback property offering individual studio villa accommodation, set around a crystal clear free-form pool with island, waterfall and surrounded by tropical gardens. All villas are air-conditioned and include bougainvillea-covered verandahs, private en suites and kitchenette facilities. The hotel offers outstanding value for the visitor wanting comfort at an affordable price. We're located in the main accommodation centre of Alice Springs on the banks of the Todd River, close to town, Lasseters Casino - Alice Springs entertainment hot spot, the Convention Centre and the Alice Springs Golf Club is our backyard. Some of the best restaurants in Alice Springs are within meters of the Desert Palms. These include the Golf Course Club House, Hanumans (Indian/Thai) and Balloons Bistro at the Double Tree by Hilton and four restaurants at Lasseters Casino including the Juicy Rump. We offer a small kiosk/shop on-site where food items and liquor can be purchased, a guest laundry, BBQ area, secure gated off street parking directly outside each villa and FREE Wifi. Desert Palms offers a calm, peaceful environment, which creates a sense of relief for the weary traveller. After a hectic day of travelling by road or air take pleasure in watching the world go by on the privacy of your own private balcony surrounded by palm trees while watching the spectacular sunsets over the MacDonald Ranges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, T4B, Expedia, Orbitz, EasyToBook, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Desert Palms Alice Springs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Desert Palms Hotel Alice Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Desert Palms Alice Springs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.