We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too much to see” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Old Ghan Museum

Old Ghan Museum
Norris Bell Avenue, Alice Springs, Northern Territory, Australia
08 8955 5047
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 34 Attractions in Alice Springs
Type: History Museums, Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum describes the history of the legendary Ghan Railroad of Australia.
Seoul, South Korea
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Not too much to see”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

The Old Ghan Museum and Truck Meseum are next to each other. I went to the Truck Museum, but as with most things there it seemed expensive, but interesting. I saw all I needed to see of the Train Museum from the outside.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    15
    9
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
277 reviews 277 reviews
194 attraction reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
208 helpful votes 208 helpful votes
“Worth a look.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

The museum is worth a look for its historical significance with lots of old photos as well as an old Ghan train you can look over.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't go in summer and out of season!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

As it was not the peak season, there was no-one at the Museum and we had to find our way next door. The pricing was confusing and when we went to the museum the air-conditioning was unavailable and it was extremely stuffy in the building and on the train outside (not mentioning 47oC heat outside). However very interesting and informative. Tea room was also closed.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacchus Marsh, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Musuem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Enjoyed our visit here and enjoyed the Devonshire tea and lunch we had. Found prices reasonable and again there was something for everyone of all ages. The Ghan and its history was very interesting and provided insight to what life was like back then

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Old Museum”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This museum is near the Transport Hall of Fame. It's interesting, however, after three days in Alice Springs I didn't spend alot of time here.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Ghan Museum also viewed

Alice Springs, Red Centre
 
Alice Springs, Red Centre
Alice Springs, Red Centre
 

Been to Old Ghan Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Ghan Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.