We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“value plus +” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Heavitree Gap Outback Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Heavitree Gap Outback Resort to your Saves list
Heavitree Gap Outback Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Palm Circuit, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Alice Springs
Darwin, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“value plus +”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Based on the $76 internet special the Lodge room is not to be missed. Rooms have TV, A/C, fridge, tea & coffee equipment , microwave & ensuite facilities.
Rooms are clean the on site pub served good food. The only small down side is getting in & out of the hotel via vehicle you have to drive around a small block to get out (one way in one way out) On check in also received a voucher for a free drink when a meal was purchased which was a bonus.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    48
    19
    16
    12
See reviews for
22
40
9
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Nice place. cool weather at the time we went. nice to give my family a break from work.
the kids enjoy the bunk bed. we definitely gonna stay here always. very affordable price.
first time to feed and touch a wallabies. you can see them anytime at the back of your room.
Call them if you want to book. Dont go to the booking agent.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We were attracted by the Wallabies that come to feed in the carpark at dusk and we were not disappointed. The place is basic but that is what it is advertised as so you do know what you are getting. The receptionist was lovely and very helpful. The onsite pub served great food. The room was clean and beds comfortable. We spent two nights there after a few days at the rock, really for the price it does not disappoint, nice pool, lots of onsite facilities and very quiet at night despite being just across the Todd River to the main highway and surrounded by the MacDonnell Range which you think would amplify the road noise but we did not notice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

If you can get a decent motel room in Australia for $70 (internet special), that deserves a 4 star rating. This motel should be considered an alternative to staying at Ayers Rock which has very expensive hotels, particularly if you are happy just to leave early and get back late on a day trip out there. Unleaded was $2.095 at Ayers Rock versus $1.98 at Erldunda and $1.699 at Alice Springs. Rooms were pretty standard with the added feature of a microwave and toaster plus table and 2 chairs. As the motel is next to the Todd River, there are a number of locals who congregate the other side of the motel fence - which I was a bit more conscious of in terms of security of items, which any traveller to Alice Springs needs to be aware of no matter where you stay. Access in and out of the motel was a bit of a hassle. To exit the motel you needed to do a big loop to get back to the Ross Highway all on account of some new traffic island at the Stuart Highway intersection next to the motel - which makes the road extremely narrow for the roadtrains and oversized vehicles that need to ship equipment. As I did a number of trips from the motel to the centre of town - this extra loop was a bit inconvenient.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

While this accommodation is very cheap, it was advertised as a kitchenette room, but all they provided was a kettle, toaster and microwave. Basically this is a motel room. We expect cooking facilities, cutlery and crockery, and a sink to wash up in at the very least in a kitchenette, and when we complained we were told that what was provided was what they called a kitchenette. I have to say that the receptionist was very polite, and refunded our money, from where we went into an apartment in Alice with full facilities for a similar price.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Potts, General Manager at Heavitree Gap Outback Resort, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Hi Ron

Thank you for taking the time to forward your comments on Tripadvisor after your recent stay at Heavitree Gap Outback Lodge.

As your comments detailed, you experienced a few disappointments when you checked in at Heavitree .We have taken this on board and have now added Electric frypans and made sure everything is in the rooms to allow you to cater in your room quite comfotably while staying at Heavitree.

We do apologize for the inconveience this may have caused you .

Yours sincerely

Robert Potts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We stayed here on 2 separate nights before and after a tour to Uluru. We have the same room both nights. The first night the room seemed clean although basic but fitting with what we had paid. We had trouble locking the patio doors but managed to get them closed eventually. The walls are very thin and we could here next door showering and moving around aswell as people outside. There is an aboriginal community nearby who are often around the park and were quite loud. The staff were brilliant throughout our stay, very friendly and helpful. The local tavern looks like a tin shed but inside is quite nice and serves value meals; nothing fancy but brilliant for the money conscious traveller. We also received a voucher for a free drink when a meal was purchased which was a bonus! As previously mentioned we stayed 2 nights. The 2nd night the room wasnt quite as clean - there was soap scum left in the shower soap dish for instance, but not enough to make a complaint as we were only staying the one night. During the night our room was subject to some unwelcome visitors who had managed to enter through the afore mentioned patio doors and steal our wallet and phone before i awoke and my partner chased them away. The phone in the room wouldnt work to allow us to contact the police so we waited until the reception opened (luckily they opened early at 6am) When we mentioned the incident to the receptionist she told us that they hadnt had much trouble this year (our visit was the beginning of March) we called the police who informed us there had been 5 or 6 similar incidents in the area that evening in which cars had been stolen and a campervan had been completely cleared while the occupants slept in it! We asked if it was a one off as we had been told there was a big football game on that weekend so the area was busy but the female police woman said that they were always busy with similar incidents. I have to praise the staff as i was told housekeeping had been ticked off as the door musnt have been locked properly, 2 staff members went out to look to see if they could find the wallet somewhere in the area as it was taken by 2 aboriginal men who aparently normally just take the cash and ditch everything else, the girl in reception was brilliant and gave us tokens to use the internet to get our phone cancelled, the use of their phone and also money to try the payphone when we had trouble with theirs. My partner felt that a refund of some sorts should have been offered as he feels the incident could have been avoided had the security on site been greater and as the phone wasnt working there was no hope that the criminal could have been caught. (we were told that there is security patrols 3 times per night, this musnt be enough to put off any cheeky opportunists however). Overall the accomodation wasnt bad for the price, however if you visit be extremely safety conscious, double check your doors are locked properly, hide any valubles and check the inroom phone works just incase!

Room Tip: Perhaps 1st floor rooms would be a quieter and safer option?
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert_Potts, General Manager at Heavitree Gap Outback Resort, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Hi

Thank you for taking the time to forward your comments on Tripadvisor after your recent stay at Heavitree Gap Outback Lodge.

As your comments detailed, you experienced not one but a few disappointments during your stay with us, and I am sorry that this was the case.

We are constantly striving to improve on the way we do things here at Heavitree Gap Outback Lodge– our aim is to be one of the preferred Hotels here in Alice Springs, and conducive feedback from guests like yourself can only assist us in this quest.

Your feedback has allowed us to address some evident weakness in our property, and I would hope that if you were to ever visit our Hotel again we would be able to reverse your impression.

On behalf of Aurora Hotels - Resorts - Attractions I sincerely apologise your stay at Heavitree Gap Outback Lodge was not as we all would have hoped for.


Yours sincerely

Robert Potts
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maitland, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We only stayed one night here between exploring the East and West Macdonnell ranges. It was an excellent location at the scenic gap between both ranges - lovely rocky backdrop. The wallaby feeding was a highlight of course and I was glad to learn they restrict the food sold to 40 bags per night (we saw about 40 wallabies so probably just one bag each which hopefully is a supplement to their natural foraging). We had booked a kitchenette apartment but were upgraded upon check in to another room (can't remember the name but she said it had the same facilities as the Kitchenette which - as we'd bought pasta to cook for dinner -was our main requirement). The room was nice enough but no kitchen sink or washing up supplies (only microwave and toaster) so could only rinse dishes. Not too noisy considering highway and railway line so close but maybe bring earplugs in case or ask for a room further away.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Heavitree Gap Outback Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heavitree Gap Outback Resort

Address: Palm Circuit, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 16 Hotels in Alice Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Heavitree Gap Outback Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Heavitree Gap Outback Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heavitree Gap Outback Hotel Alice Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heavitree Gap Outback Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.