We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting use of the old prison” 4 of 5 stars
Review of National Pioneer Women's Hall of Fame

National Pioneer Women's Hall of Fame
2 Stuart Terrace | P.O. Box 9193, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0871, Australia
+61-8-8952 9006
Website
Improve this listing
Activities: City walk sightseeing, Four-wheeling
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Over 100 Australian who were pioneers in their fields are featured at this museum, which tells their stories through photographs, artifacts and other memorabilia.
Gloucestershire
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Interesting use of the old prison”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I spent a happy hour looking around all of the interesting displays of women's achievements, including some video interviews with the original matron of the women's prison. Well worth a visit if you are in Alice Springs

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trudy F, Manager at National Pioneer Women's Hall of Fame, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Hi Judith, your review of our complex is very much appreciated and we are glad you enjoyed reading about some of Australia's amazing women and how they have helped to shape this fabulous country. The video you watched was made late last year and the lady talking in it is a member of NPWHF board and has been since we began. She is a wonderful inspiration to all of us and I for one hope I'm as active at 92 as she is. 30 years is a long time in one job and in particular through the early years of this 'Old Gaol'. NPWHF was successful in receiving a grant late last year to enable us to employ a curator, we have been without one for over 9 years so we are very excited about the year ahead. We will continue to recognise and celebrate Australian women as well as producing more exhibitions on the 'Old Gaol'. Again thank you for taking the time to write your review and we hope your remaining time in Australia is enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    34
    6
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rockhampton, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A Must visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

It was good to see that the old jail is heritage listed and put to very good use and that women are being recognised for their input into Australian life and politics . Well set out. Well worth a visit

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trudy F, Manager at National Pioneer Women's Hall of Fame, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Hi Gwenda, thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent visit to us. The 'Old Gaol' is a fabulous space and we are so pleased it was saved from demolition when it was de-commissioned in 1996. National Pioneer Women's Hall of Fame has the room to continue to grow and expand on both our first love NPWHF and the 'Old Gaol' history. International Women's Day, in March this year saw us launch our very first exhibition of Life in the Gaol-From a Female point of view. The short video of our current board member and former 'Matron' at the Gaol is what you watched whilst here and is the first of, we hope many more 'Gaol' exhibitions to come. NPWHF museum exhibits will also grow somewhat this year with the appointment of our first curator in over 9 years. We will continue to celebrate and recognise both pioneering women and women's firsts. So glad you enjoyed your visit and we are very appreciative of your positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“an experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

An amazing Older lady gave the few of us going through a very informative & funny introduction to the hall, she was delightful. Its a very well done display & worth seeing. Though a little creepy with inmates models popping up all over the place in The Jail!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trudy F, Manager at National Pioneer Women's Hall of Fame, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Dear Handbagtraveller, thank you so much for taking the time to write your review on NPWHF/Old Gaol. We have a wonderful bunch of volunteers who come in every week to help us keep the museum & Gaol open and without them we would not be able to remain open 7 days a week. Several of our older ladies have very wicked and witty sense of humour and no doubt one such lady was here on the day you visited. We are very proud of our museum and have just employed a curator after 6 long years without one. We are very excited and looking forward to the next 12 months as we update and expand on the exhibitions in the museum and add new exhibitions along with some modern technology. We are also putting together an exhibition on the Old Gaol history.This will greatly enhance the visitor experience as we move forward and offer exceptional value for money.





An amazing Older lady gave the few of us going through a very informative & funny introduction to the hall, she was delightful. Its a very well done display & worth seeing. Though a little creepy with inmates models popping up all over the place in The Jail!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, Ireland
Top Contributor
343 reviews 343 reviews
99 attraction reviews
Reviews in 157 cities Reviews in 157 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
“a good museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

there is a lot to see in this museum, the exhibits are well displayed, there are a lot of narative boards

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

A good look at local history, particularly the womens side of life. Is in the old Alice Springs gaol which has some very interesting history on it's own.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Pioneer Women's Hall of Fame also viewed

Alice Springs, Red Centre
 

Been to National Pioneer Women's Hall of Fame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage National Pioneer Women's Hall of Fame, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.