We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really interesting!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alice Springs Telegraph Station Historical Reserve

Alice Springs Telegraph Station Historical Reserve
South Stuart Highway | P.O. Box 2130, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
08 8951 8211
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$78*
and up
Alice Springs Highlights Half-Day Tour
Type: Historic Sites, Cultural
Activities: City walk sightseeing, Four-wheeling
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This well-preserved telegraph station is the site of the first European settlement in Alice Springs, and offers free tours of the remnants of an old era.
East Dean,Chichester United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Really interesting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We visited The Telegraph Station as part of a tour and I found it so interesting! It's well laid out with plenty of explanation and we also had the benefit of our bus driver who added to it too. It's well laid out and reconstructed to how it was when it was working -pre 1932, with furnishings and fittings relevant to that period. So it's very interesting and easy to imagine how it all looked then. Very helpful chap in the shop too and you can buy and send postcards all over the world with the Telegrapg Station frank on them!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    178
    130
    31
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, WA
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
86 attraction reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Worth a visit.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

You will have a chance to walk around and see the buildings both inside and outside. Some of the buildings had historical displays inside. Be sure to visit the actual telegraph building. We also saw kangaroos while we were there.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Alice's little gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We only had a morning to visit 3 attractions with the Telegraph Station being at the top of our list. Unfortunately with no public transport we had to do all three relying on separate cabs. However, on arrival at the Station (very reasonable entrance fee) we felt that we had stepped back in time in our albiet brief visit to this wonderful and informative attraction. The surrounding area also offers lovely woodland walks which in our haste, we had to forgo in our mission to get to the school of the air. thus, on arrival at the Station the friendly staff pre-ordered us a cab which forgot to collect us. However, to our surprise one of the two staff offered to drop us down. Apparently a service they offer regularly if they can! AND.... they refused to accept payment for diesel. Cant believe how helpful these people were - Thankyou so Much!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
40 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Informative”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We spent about an hour here. It was about right to see the buildings and read the informative displays. We were able to learn about the history of this time in the history of Australia. It is worth a short visit if you are in the area. I would not rate it as a location in its own right.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Tamborine
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Telegraph Station”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

A must to go and see how these pioneers lived in this harsh environment. Seeing the buildings have been carefully restored with period furniture clothing and equipment used in this period made it all the more interesting. Fascinating to learn how many people lived on this small property and to see the yards and well there too. Seeing the blacksmith shop along with the wagon and the saddlery made it all the more interesting for me.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alice Springs Telegraph Station Historical Reserve also viewed

Alice Springs, Red Centre
Alice Springs, Red Centre
 

Been to Alice Springs Telegraph Station Historical Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alice Springs Telegraph Station Historical Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.