We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely picnic spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alice Springs Telegraph Station Historical Reserve

Alice Springs Telegraph Station Historical Reserve
South Stuart Highway | P.O. Box 2130, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
08 8951 8211
Website
Improve this listing
Visit like an insider
Top Rated
$79*
and up
Alice Springs Highlights Half-Day Tour
Activities: Four-wheeling, City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This well-preserved telegraph station is the site of the first European settlement in Alice Springs, and offers free tours of the remnants of an old era.
Australia
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“lovely picnic spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This is the place to go to find out about the start of Alice Springs. Its well set out lots to read and look at. It also has a great bar b Q area and grassy picnic area set under huge gum trees overlooking the Todd River. great runs/walks lead off from here too

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    152
    37
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alice Springs, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The way we were.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

A great place for a picnic or barbeque and to explore the historical,first buildings of Alice Springs. Take a walk into the surrounding area and you will share the reserve with the native wildlife; kangaroos, colourful parrots and weird lizards. Always cooler there during the scorching hot summer days and you may be lucky enough to have water in the original springs the town was named after. The picnic grounds are free to enter and the barbeques are for public use. If you want to visit the fenced historic buildings a small fee is paid but well worth it to experience the atmosphere and see how conditions were for the first residents.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“very interesting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

we enjoyed our visit, learnt heaps about our history and especially valued the information boards about the Gillen family and their contribution to recording knowledge of Central Australian Aboriginal culture. Well worth a visit. My 3 year old grad-daughter liked the hands on activities especially sending morse code messages and the presence of so many local free flying birds was an unexpected bonus. We would have loved to have had time to do the walk along the Todd River into town as well - we were not aware of this until our arrival and so had not made allowance in our schedule .

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miners Rest, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“The Beginning of Alice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

If you are interested in history this is a good place to visit, we spent a nice morning hear wondering around the various buildings, taking you back to where Alice Springs actually started. There are also several walks you can take from here and there is a nice view of the local area, it would be a great place for a picnic

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nearly missed it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Our last morning in Alice we decided to visit here. We are so glad we did. Very informative and pleasant to see before our 1pm flight.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alice Springs Telegraph Station Historical Reserve also viewed

Alice Springs, Red Centre
Alice Springs, Red Centre
 

Been to Alice Springs Telegraph Station Historical Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alice Springs Telegraph Station Historical Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.