We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clifford-Bradshaws on the Line” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Alice Springs Telegraph Station Historical Reserve

Alice Springs Telegraph Station Historical Reserve
South Stuart Highway | P.O. Box 2130, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
08 8951 8211
Improve this listing
Book a Tour

Type: Historic Sites
Activities: Four-wheeling, City walk sightseeing
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: This well-preserved telegraph station is the site of the first European settlement in Alice Springs, and offers free tours of the remnants of an old era.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Clifford-Bradshaws on the Line”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

Wonderful place. We were recommended by one of the cousins who visited awhile back. Our grandfather is Shirley Thomas Bradshaw and we learnt that Thomas Bradshaw was one of the station masters 1899-1908. We also posted three postcards as there is a special postmark stamp from the Telegraph! Cool place! Nice to learn that our grandparents used to work in places like this! Would definitely returned when the weather is cooler so we can have BBQ! Saw a speeding kangaroo zooming past us.....I will say, that kangaroo can compete with Husain Bolt! LOL!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    94
    19
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
48 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Great spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

You really feel like you're in the 1800s when you visit this reserve. Well worth the trip. Good map provided and signage. Saw my first Euro just behind the stable area outside the fence. Would have liked to visit the cemetery but I was with a bus tour with set times.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Victoria, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“the telegraph station”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

The telegraph station is in such good condition and information is well presented and easy to understand

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Overland Telegraph Station”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Fantastic historical site and genuine staff promoting and talking about the history. Great displays and interactive displays

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Birthday party in park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

The Telegraph Station is a very interesting place, and enjoyed a childrens birthday party in the park, what a great venue

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alice Springs Telegraph Station Historical Reserve also viewed

Alice Springs, Red Centre
Alice Springs, Red Centre
 

Been to Alice Springs Telegraph Station Historical Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alice Springs Telegraph Station Historical Reserve, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Alice Springs Telegraph Station Historical Reserve to your Saves list