We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really comfortable and convenient” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alice Motor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Alice Motor Inn to your Saves list
Alice Motor Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   27 Undoolya Rd, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Alice Springs
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bucharest, Romania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Really comfortable and convenient”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I loved the place. It's not glamourous but comfortable, clean and well organized. i do recomend it, especially if you have are the self cattering type, since you have all the required facilities to cook, grill, or just make a sandwich. I also loved the laundry self service facilities...comes in handy when you travel for a long time

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AliceMotorInn, Manager at Alice Motor Inn, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thanks for your review Sabrah_1234. It was a pleasure having you stay at Alice Motor Inn and we hope your trip of Australia is going well. Thank you for appreciating the facilities at our motel. We look forward to having you visit the red centre and our motel again sometime in the future and we wish you and your friends safe travels.
Gaurav (Gee) Rekhy
Manager
info@alicemotorinn.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    120
    40
    10
    3
See reviews for
47
117
21
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey City, New Jersey
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I used the Alice Motor Inn as book-end lodging around a NT camping trip. From a cost perspective, it seemed to provide the best value in a small town like Alice Springs, considering most of your other options are hostels or the pricey casino. Everything was about decent for the $100 I paid for each night, including the bed, shower and kitchenette. The place was clean but clearly has not been renovated in quite a while - that being said it was just fine for its purpose, and the rooms are pretty spacious and not musty like some other places I've stayed. I was happy with laundry facilities (my chance to wash during a long Australia trip) and breakfast was rudimentary (toast, instant coffee, cereal). The main problem with this place is that if you don't rent a car, it is a pretty long walk to the town centre (Todd Mall and other attractions) and I ended up spending more on taxi's than I would have liked, especially as walking in Alice Springs in night is not advisable at all, but there is nothing in the vicinity of the motel, so you need to get into the town centre to eat, drink or shop, as well.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, England
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Overall we thought that this place was good value for money (it is cheap) but we regretted that we had not paid more for something better.
There were two aspects that disappointed. The first was that the facilities were somewhat run down. I would guess they date from the 70's and have had little investment since then. For example the air con is noisy. I was chatting to a guy who was driving across Australia in a 1943 army truck and even he found the air con noisy! He asked to change room but was told they were all the same. Still at least it kept us cool.
The second issue is location. It is a fair trek into town including a walk across the dried up river bed (I wouldn't like to attempt it in 10 mins) and we did feel uncertain about our safety. This could just be a cultural problem as I have not experienced living in a place with a significant aboriginal population before. However the Motel has fitted sliding gates across the compound which close in darkness. Residents are given a code to get in and out. I have never experienced that at a motel before and made me feel that our security concerns were not just cultural.
We solved this by hiring a car from a local company (Central). This not only enabled us to visit town to eat (plus the National Trust school and the old jail), but the original Telegraph Station, The Royal Flying Doctor Service, Simpsons Gap (in the MacDonnell Ranges) and the Alice Springs Desert Park. All were enjoyable. The Desert Park is world class and an essential visit if in Alice.
So the Alice Motor Inn is a motel and as you might expect is better suited to cars rather than to pedestrians. The free wi-fi was good but the 'free' breakfast consisted of a small kitchen with number of sliced loaves, a toaster and some crockery. Experienced Australians were also cooking breakfast. A sink is provided for doing your washing up.
Lastly I should compliment the Irish couple (from Limerick) who were managing the place. They were charming and provided the last word in my title.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AliceMotorInn, Manager at Alice Motor Inn, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Godwit

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of our property. Firstly I apologise if you found the aircon very noisy. We have recently got all our aircons serviced and checked and they are all performing fine. I am also sorry that you were advised by another customer that when he requested a room change he was advised they are all the same. We are a budget accommodation catering to the budget conscious tourists and make sure they have a very comfortable and pleasant stay at Alice Motor Inn. We keep our rates very affordable for our guests and ofcourse there are some luxurious accommodation providers in Alice Springs and of course luxury comes with a price tag. we have never claimed to be a luxury hotel. we have always promoted ourselves as a budget family run motel and I am confident we are giving people value for money. Another of your concern is security and you are the first guest who has had a negative impression about our security gates. Most of our guests are very happy with the security and many reviews on this very site compliment the security at our motel. Another aspect you have raised is the distance from town centre.Town centre is no more than a 15 minute leisurely walk ,but within a 5 minute walking radius we have about 4 eating places (restaurants and takeaways) and a supermarket as well.Lastly the breakfast you termed as "'free' breakfast consisted of a small kitchen with number of sliced loaves, a toaster and some crockery." is unfortunately not a true description at all. Firstly we do not need to provide breakfast as most of the accommodations charge for breakfast (and this can be $20 per head). We provide three kinds of breads, 5 kinds of spreads, 3 types of cereals and milk and fresh eggs from our chickens(depending on availability), The sole purpose of providing this is the appreciation we receive from our guests and for their convenience and it is just a little gesture from us. Again this is something which is widely appreciated by our guests as it is also saves the budget minded traveller some money. Again it is free but optional as it may not be what every guest wants. Thanks again for appreciating Katie and her cheerful nature. I willl pass on the compliment to her.
Please feel free to contact me for any information
Regards
Gaurav (Gee) Rekhy
Manager
info@alicemotorinn.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We used this place as a base for our one day trip to Uluru. For this purpose it was fine; the rooms were basic, but clean. Breakfast was DIY cereal, toast, tea and coffee. Eggs were provided if you wanted to cook them. Free WIFI was provided. There is even a gas BBQ if you want to cook your dinner!

The inn is located about 20mins walk from the centre of Alice Springs; the nearest place to find a restaurant, but be warned they seem to close by 9pm.

As I said I would recommend it for a short stay as a base for visiting Uluru which they can arrange for you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Oh my goodness! This has to be one of the worst hotels I've ever stayed in!! The room was stiflingly hot but the air con sounded like a plane taking off so you got a poor night's sleep. The bathroom was tiny and outdated although clean. The staff could not have been more helpful but the motel has definitely seen better days. The breakfast was basic but adequate. The staff and the breakfast make it a 2 star rather than 1 star. It did have these redeeming features.

It was a 20 minute walk into the centre in the blazing heat with no shade along the way (and we didn't dare try it at night see above for local lying across pavements). The centre itself isn't up to much although there are a couple of nice cafe's for lunch. Alice Springs itself is a horrible place with nowhere decent to have dinner and intimidating locals lying across pavements and drinking everywhere. Could not get out of this place quick enough! Stay in Yulara if you are going to Ayers Rock/Uluru.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AliceMotorInn, Manager at Alice Motor Inn, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Firstly, I would ask travellers reading this review to please take the time to read the other 3 reviews that have been written about Alice Motor Inn that have been posted in the last 2 days showing also, this traveller seems to have a very negative view of Alice Springs in general not just our motel which I find worrying.

I am deeply saddened by your comments and am sorry you did not enjoy your stay at Alice Motor Inn or for that matter you did not like anything at Alice Springs. I agree that our rooms maybe a bit dated but we ensure that our cleanliness levels and service are of the highest standards. I am not very sure about the “plane sound” made by our air conditioner and you have not mentioned if you addressed this with our staff and were the issues addressed. At times it is just a matter of making a small adjustment to the machine which would rectify this. Our air conditioners are regularly checked and serviced. We are a family run budget motel offering our guests very reasonably priced accommodation and facilities like free breakfast and wi-fi and these have been widely appreciated by our guests along with our service and cleanliness standards. The other remark you have made seems to be based around security as I am not able to comprehend the exact concerns. We have a very strong security system with cameras, fully fenced complex and automated gates. We have always been complimented on the sense of security we offer to our guests. The third concern of yours was a walk into town in the heat and the lack of shade to walk in. Alice Springs has very warm summers and temperatures can touch 40 degrees regularly. The walk from our motel to town is between 10-12 minutes. The other option of course is a taxi ride which costs around $6 to $7. Coming across a drunk local is a common occurrence in all parts of the world and Alice Springs is no exception. Being a small town, the issues are noticed and escalated in a far bigger proportion than in other parts of the world. We have some great restaurants and eating places within a 5 minute walking radius of our motel and I am not too sure about you not finding a place to enjoy dinner. I once again am sorry that we did not meet your expectations as a motel and perhaps as a town either.

Gaurav(Gee) Rekhy
Manager
info@alicemotorinn.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Stayed here for two nights.The room itself was faultlessly clean even though the carpets were stained and the furniture old.I didnt use the breakfast room although I could see plenty others did.I certainly would not walk into town from here at night but during the day no problem. This place would be great for companies with workers staying for a longer period in Alice as everything is available.I agree with other reviewers the lady at reception seemed great Im sure nothing would be too much trouble.Price alone you should give this place a try rather than always using the bigger chain motels.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wonthaggi, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We arrived early and we didn't have to wait until check-in time.The staff were extemely friendly and helpful, even when we asked if we could change rooms closer to the pool, (which they did without any fuss). Found the rooms and the area very clean. The breakfast buffett had a big choice to choose from and you defitinely walk away very full. It isn't very far to walk to the shopping centre and does not cost a fortune to get a taxi. We really found it to be a comfortable place.

Room Tip: We liked the rooms closer to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AliceMotorInn, Manager at Alice Motor Inn, responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Dear Annie M

Thanks for your review and it is a great feeling when our motel and our services are appreciated by our esteemed guests. We try to ensure we meet the expectations of our guests and provide them with a comfortable stay. Our guests also appreciate our professional handling of all tour requirements which we undertake on their behalf with various tour companies operating in the region. We try to accommodate all early arrivals if the room is ready and also try to accommodate all guest requests. After all our guests mean the world to us and ensuring their satisfaction is our main motto.Yes our buffet is simple but we like to offer healthy and quick options to our guests.We feel very happy when this is appreciated by our guestss. Town is a 10-12 minute walk or as you have pointed out a very short and inexpensive taxi ride which we are more than happy to ring for our customers.
Thanks again for your encouraging words and appreciation of our facilities and services.We look forward to another visit from you in the future.

Gaurav(Gee) Rekhy
Manager
info@alicemotorinn.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alice Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alice Motor Inn

Address: 27 Undoolya Rd, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0870, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Alice Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Alice Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alice Motor Inn - Quality budget en-suite motel rooms with great pool and barbecue area overlooking the rugged MacDonnell Mountain Ranges. Home style comfort, aircon and fan. Airport shuttle and town bus stop out front. Reception has the best tours to Uluru. 600 metres to the Town Mall; 400 metres to a supermarket/liquor store; Italian, Indian, Thai, & Chinese restaurants/takeout plus fish & chips. Free wireless internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Alice Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alice Hotel Springs

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alice Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.