We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most expensive, tiny and tasteless” 1 of 5 stars
Review of NONG'S Restaurant

NONG'S Restaurant
Shop 3/74 | Todd Street Alice Springs, Alice Springs, Northern Territory, Australia
+61 89538949
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 70 Restaurants in Alice Springs
Price range: $8 - $22
Cuisines: Thai
Description: Nong's Restaurant Alice Springs is the best restaurant for authentic Thai food. Nong is the owner who has more than 20 years experience in the luxury restaurants. She is now cooking for the customers you will experience the authentic Thai meals at Nong. We serve the most top Thai curries, Padthai, Noodle Soup, yummy Poppo Salad and more Thai dishes as your order.
Restaurant details
Description: Nong's Restaurant Alice Springs is the best restaurant for authentic Thai food. Nong is the owner who has more than 20 years experience in the luxury restaurants. She is now cooking for the customers you will experience the authentic Thai meals at Nong. We serve the most top Thai curries, Padthai, Noodle Soup, yummy Poppo Salad and more Thai dishes as your order.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Most expensive, tiny and tasteless”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

This is the worst Thai takeaway I've ever had. At $27 for a red duck curry and roti (no rice) I expected a lot ore vegetables and duck but it was more of an oily soup. The roti was thick with oil too. The duck was overcooked and tasted like it had been frozen. The only vegetables were a few floating courgettes and pumpkin and capsicum... No green vegetables. I'm appalled at the price charged for such a poor quality meal. The only good things were the service and the promptness of the service. I went here after reading a few good reviews but I must have missed the fresh vegetable day as this was an oily mess. There was no flavour at all
.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alisa P, Manager at NONG'S Restaurant, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Sorry for disappointed you since we moved without notice since we stopped running the business at Hartley Street and reopening again at Todd Street from 5 May 2014 which is difference owner and business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    14
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“As good as hanumans, half the price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Love this place for lunch. If you like hanumans you will enjoy Nongs, very similar Thai and Indian themed menu- main difference is the buffet style lunch menu and the more casual atmosphere of Nongs but don't let that put you off because the food is great and lunch is about $10 for a curry with rice or pad thai. I also went there when they had a green pawpaw salad which was amazing and I would love to see that on their permanaent menu. Nongs is BYO as well

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laidley, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Reasonably priced, food was tasty service was good very busy which is a good sign for a business. Convenient location.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great curry”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Bought take away to be consumed later for dinner. The beef massamun (Sp?) was great. The Yom Yum was OK. Service was fantastic and very friendly

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Nong's serves very tasty Asian food. We were pleased we found it and enjoyed a good cheap lunch. Would recommend it to visitors as a lunch destination.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed NONG'S Restaurant also viewed

Alice Springs, Red Centre
Alice Springs, Red Centre
 

Been to NONG'S Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NONG'S Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.