We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best caravan parks I've seen” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BIG4 MacDonnell Range Holiday Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added BIG4 MacDonnell Range Holiday Park to your Saves list
BIG4 MacDonnell Range Holiday Park
Palm Place, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0871, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“One of the best caravan parks I've seen”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

I've stayed here a few times in a previous life as a tour guide/driver, so when I returned to Central Aus to show my partner around, it was a no-brainer as to where to stay with our campervan.

The facilities here are excellent, the amenties blocks are cleaned regularly, the pool area is a relaxing area to swim and chill out in, and the sites are spacious with plenty of shade (though some have more than others).

Staff are friendly and welcoming, and will help you out where they can.

Access had changed a bit from when I last visited, which could be better signed by either the town council, or on advice from the Park. There's no access to the Stuart Hwy from Palm Cct any more, so on exiting the park, you need to turn left not right to get on to the Highway. Coming up from the South, turn Right on to the Ross Hwy and then left on Palm Place; from the North, it's a left turn at Palm Cct, and then left again at Palm place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    32
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
41
52
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We came to MacDonnell Range Holiday Park with some concern and after having checked TripAdvisor, we were trying to decide between this and another park. After walking through both, we were really glad to have stayed here.

While this is a huge park, we had terrific quiet and seclusion on our site. We were on a powered and grassed caravan site that easily accommodated our 20 ft caravan. There were lovely bushes and trees surrounding the site and in 40 degree heat, we were very relieved to have the shade. Staff are very friendly, unobtrusive and helpful.

The amenities and facilities here are immaculately clean and convenient with several blocks available for use. There were some school excursions here during our stay (right across from us) and with the layout and privacy of trees etc. we didn't even notice them coming and going.

Because we were so comfortable here, we ended up staying, relaxing (catching up on sleep) and taking extra time out on our holiday. If we were to return to Alice, we would definitely be back here again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed on a powered en-suite site and while there made use of the bouncing pillow, pool and games room. The staff were friendly and helpful and on arrival we were shown to our site.

The site was small but well kept and clean and the en-suite facility was well presented. There were plenty of people on site but noise was low and we had a great night.

We all enjoyed the pool - a welcome cool down after a long drive.

After a swim our 2 oldest kids went to the games room but were unable to get cues etc. and so they were denied their 'break from the family' time which was a shame.

All in all I'd definitely recommend the place and stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tamworth, Australia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This is a beautiful caravan park. Immaculately clean, lots of shade and good grassed areas. We were there at the same time as some school excursions, which can be noisy, but they had their own area and our site was quiet despite being a busy time. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice springs
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This is our first time to Alice. We have only been here for 2 weeks of 16 but the caravan park ticks all the boxes. Service and staff very accommodating and always helpful . We have are own van. Ensuite very clean and nicely tiled. We have green grass and a concrete slab. As I said all boxes ticked. The cabins also look very nice and the deluxe like a hotel 4 star - lovely

Room Tip: Van spots with morning sun better than afternoon sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aalborg, Denmark
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

I understand why it is the most awarded.park. It is fantastic. The park is large but caters well with it's clean and tidy facilities.
There is a lot for kids to do and it is very family friendly. Although kids can be noisy.
Glad we stayed here.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

It is a good place for everyone to take a good break when traveling through outback of Australia. It is a really nice caravan park which is ranked at 2nd place in my list of Aussie Caravan Park when traveling around Australia. They organize some interesting activities everyday,t which you can get the info at reception.

First time, on the way to Uluru, we booked an ensuite site, which was covered well by grasses. Second time, when we returned for stopover, the powdered grass site with the shade was really big, and was covered by a big piece of mesh slab which made our tent very stable.

Location is very good, easy driving to town centre.

Really recommended this park for everyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BIG4 MacDonnell Range Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BIG4 MacDonnell Range Holiday Park

Address: Palm Place, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0871, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Alice Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MacDonnell Range Holiday Park is the most awarded park in the Northern Territory, famous for our Sunday morning pancake breakfasts! Situated at the foothills of the magnificent MacDonnell Ranges and only 4.5kms from the CBD, our park offers a quiet, relaxing holiday and an experience that only the unique centre of Australia has to offer. We offer year-round accommodation in a friendly atmosphere we guarantee you'll enjoy! Free Pancake breakfast every Sunday morning. April to September we offer free entertainment. Monday nights listen to our 4WD talk, Tuesday night view the night sky's with local astronomer, Thursday afternoon join us for biscuits and cheese. Bring a bottle of wine & watch the sun go down. Friday nights listen to Bush Ballads with a local singer/songwriter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your BIG4 MacDonnell Range Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BIG4 MacDonnell Range Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.