We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay in Alice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BIG4 MacDonnell Range Holiday Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added BIG4 MacDonnell Range Holiday Park to your Saves list
BIG4 MacDonnell Range Holiday Park
4.5 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Palm Place, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0871, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cairns
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great place to stay in Alice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights on our way to Ayers Rock and 2 nights on our way back to Mount Isa. A great park with clean amenities and friendly and helpful (most important) staff. We had a powered site for our camper van. The site was grassed and all were close to toilets and facilities. You usually expect a fairly high standard from Big 4 parks but this was better than we expected.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    39
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
47
54
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Eltham, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

You can do not better than this park. It has everything, and then some. They have the very best customer service, have a range of engaging activities, and the facilities have no peer. Cannot recommend more.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This park is maintained to a very high standard and has so much to offer the tourist.
Our deluxe cabin was immaculate, as was a powered site stayed on many years ago.
The absence of a soft chair or sofa was the only quibble.
We enjoyed the Sunday pancake breakfast as well as evening activities. These are a great way to mingle with other guests and learn more about the area.
The park has excellent and plentiful laundries & kitchens.
It is located in a quiet spot off the "main drag".
3 nights were not long enough and we will return!!!

Room Tip: For an extra peaceful time, ask for a site away from kids areas. Not that we had any problem!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This place took me by surprise, we didn’t book this park the tourist bureau did so we didn’t know what to expect. We have stayed at several caravan parks over the past 6 months and this one would have to come in first place or very close too. There is so much to do here for children (which in turns means mum and dad have a great holiday!), jumping pillow, playgrounds (1 big 1 small), playroom (great for teens, save your coins to play the games), bmx track, go carts you can hire the list goes on.

We stayed in a family budget cabin (bunks and queen bed, use the general toilet facilities, fridge, small kitchenette, tv), for 2 nights, was nice and very very good value for money. After 2 nights we had to move rooms and went to what I think they call a deluxe family cabin (around $190, own bathroom, fridge, flat screen tv, kitchenette) OMG this cabin was amazing! This cabin was like staying in a 5 star hotel just lovely, just make sure you ask for a newer cabin. If you are on a budget go for the family budget room, you will be happy its basic but has all you need and is nice and clean, if budget is not a concern go for the deluxe cabin.

The park is very clean, bbq’s look lovely nice and undercover, the pool area is nice, the staff are lovely and very accommodating, I can’t fault this park.

Ps don’t forget the free pancake BBQ on a Sunday morning!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We have stayed at this park several times and always found it to be excellent.
The sites are large, with good shade and grass coverage.
The amenities are immaculate and you almost feel guilty using the BBQ's as they are always spotless. The facilities available for kids include jumping pillows, pools, games room, several playgrounds, pedal go-carts and basketball half courts.
Entertainment is provided during the peak season (ie. star gazing, didgeridoo, nature talks) as is their famous Sunday Pancake Breakfasts (free) - so make sure your stay includes a Sunday.
They have a well stocked store and sell fuel (cost is actually the same as in town).
This is a great park for families.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
252 helpful votes 252 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Stayed here twice. Reception desk service was slow both times. Kept us waiting. Plenty of sites, very well organised. Plenty of amenities close to all sites. A little more expensive than alternatives close by - but you know you can rely on the cleanliness and services. Worth the extra.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Have stayed here whilst travelling in a motorhome, and then one night in a deluxe cabin. Could not fault it either time. Van sites are all close to amenities. Busy time of year when we were there but did not have to queue once to use showers or toilets. All amenities are spotlessly clean, as was our cabin the second time we visited. It is not withing walking distance of the town centre, but that did not bother us. If you turn right out of the driveway there is a great little pub with a family bistro around the corner. Food there was delicious and reasonably priced. The park reception does get busy from about 3pm on when it seems most people arrive to check in. Both times there was only one person on reception and wait time was about half an hour. Other than that though, I can't fault the place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BIG4 MacDonnell Range Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BIG4 MacDonnell Range Holiday Park

Address: Palm Place, Alice Springs, Northern Territory 0871, Australia
Location: Australia > Northern Territory > Red Centre > Alice Springs
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 27 Specialty Lodging in Alice Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — BIG4 MacDonnell Range Holiday Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
MacDonnell Range Holiday Park is the most awarded park in the Northern Territory, famous for our Sunday morning pancake breakfasts! Situated at the foothills of the magnificent MacDonnell Ranges and only 4.5kms from the CBD, our park offers a quiet, relaxing holiday and an experience that only the unique centre of Australia has to offer. We offer year-round accommodation in a friendly atmosphere we guarantee you'll enjoy! Free Pancake breakfast every Sunday morning. April to September we offer free entertainment. Monday nights listen to our 4WD talk, Tuesday night view the night sky's with local astronomer, Thursday afternoon join us for biscuits and cheese. Bring a bottle of wine & watch the sun go down. Friday nights listen to Bush Ballads with a local singer/songwriter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your BIG4 MacDonnell Range Holiday Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BIG4 MacDonnell Range Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.