We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot chilli” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Flavours of India

Flavours of India
20 Undoolya Rd, Alice Springs, Northern Territory, Australia
(08) 8952 3721
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 70 Restaurants in Alice Springs
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Hot chilli”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Authentic Indian fare, friendly staff, congested setting.
They added hot chilli to my meal even after i had told them not to when ordering the biryani, and they did not offer an exchange.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    19
    14
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alice Springs
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Delicious Indian Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Couldn't fault the food at all, I did get a warm beer which was exchanged without fuss. They may need an extra wait person as table drinks service is a little slow.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Food is good but service is terrible”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

Had dinner there last week for my birthday. There were only 3 other tables of diners but there were obviously a lot of take away orders and the kitchen couldn't cope. We only ordered two dishes (a Tandoori platter to share and a prawn curry) and a bowl of chips for my grandson and we were there for almost two hours. We had finished our bottle of wine by the time the food came out. Our Tandoori platter came out without the naan bread. The prawn curry came out 30 minutes after the platter. We were going to have birthday cake there but decided to take it home rather than wait 30 mins for a knife!
The wait staff were not particularly friendly or helpful either. Next time I will order take away.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Northern Territory, Australia
1 review
“TO BE TRUE IT WAS AVERAGE”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I love the food don't get me wrong. The time of the meal coming out was good but the out side looks good but get inside it looks old mabey a face lift of the place but i will come back and try again but half and half i would not call it fine dine dinning it just looks old to me the place....

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Just average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This place was very near the motel I was staying in , the food was average but the service quite poor. I think this place will benefit from getting some service lessons from the manager Alice motor inn as he was exceptional. I ordered a Beef vindaloo but it took 20 minutes and the dish was served before plates arrived. Anyway I can only rate this average .

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flavours of India also viewed

Alice Springs, Red Centre
Alice Springs, Red Centre
 
Alice Springs, Red Centre
Alice Springs, Red Centre
 

Been to Flavours of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Flavours of India, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.