We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lawson Motor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Lawson Motor Inn to your Saves list
The Lawson Motor Inn
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   117-121 Tarcutta Street, Wagga Wagga, New South Wales 2650, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Wagga Wagga
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Blue Mountains
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great value!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2010

My husband and I have just returned from a road trip to Adelaide. Our last night was spent at the Lawson Motor Inn. After spending the day travelling from Melbourne to Wagga on an extremely hot day, I was impressed on our arrival at how friendly,informative and helpful the reception staff were.
We had a deluxe room that was on the first floor. The room was spacious, extremely clean and well set out. From our balcony, we could see the Murrumbidgee River. The fantastic air conditioning was a saving grace as the temperature stayed in the high thirties throughout the night.
On our departure, the staff again were thoughtful and interested in our further travel.

  • Liked — Newly renovated
  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    45
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
27
62
8
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Middle Park, Australia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2010

We stayed for one night in an exectuve room with a king bed. Very spacious and quiet. Small lawn area at the rear. A/C that is up to the australian summer. We will be back!!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2009

Wow, without a doubt a great hotel. Location is excellent, room was large and spotless, barthroom was new and fresh. Great price (only $5 more than another one i stayed at in Wagga that was really poor). Please dont stay here if you want dirt, noise, small smelly rooms!!!
We will be back.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NSW
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2009

Room are very spacious and super clean (one of the cleanest rooms I've stayed in). I stayed in the back wing of the motel and it was quiet and peaceful. I loved having my own kitchenette with a full sized fridge. Only critiscism is the pillows are hard and uncomfy. Overall, a very positive experience and I would return again.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wichita, Kansas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2009

Nothing fancy but nice and clean. Within walking distance of downtown Wagga. Not a "destination hotel" but a good place to stay if in the Wagga area.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2009

I stayed here for a business meeting in Wagga in Feb 2009. The rooms were very large, well appointed and very clean. I had to check out at 5:30am to fly back to Melbourne, so I wasn't able to check out the breakfast. I paid about $120 for the night on corporate rate, so I thought that was great value for a well maintained hotel with relatively new facilities.

Make sure that you eat at the Magpie's Nest restaurant. It's a little out of town but we ate dinner there and the food was AMAZING!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mudgee
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2009

Reception staff were most helpful. We had wanted a 1st floor room overlooking the river but hd to settle for a ground floor room which was lovely.
We did ask for a very quiet room which we were assured that we would have. However they did not tell us that they had their lawns mowed on a Staurday morning early in our courtyard.
Not impressed! What a way to upset the romance and relaxation.
Would definitely tell people to stay but they should ask about the lawns.
Just took the shine off a good night.
Wagga is a great town and good restaurants and has a certain calm about it.
Go have fun. Though I would think twice on staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lawson Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lawson Motor Inn

Address: 117-121 Tarcutta Street, Wagga Wagga, New South Wales 2650, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Wagga Wagga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Wagga Wagga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lawson Motor Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
****Wagga's newest and best AAA Rated 4 STAR Motel on the banks of the Murrumbidgee River in the CBD**** FREE Wi-Fi and FREE FOXTEL Channels in all suites. The Lawson Motor Inn has 40 high quality, larger than normal suites. All suites have kitchenettes with full size fridge, microwave, cutlery & crockery and tea/coffee making facilities. We have a charge-back arrangement with a variety of restaurants throughout Wagga Wagga, to cater for our guests dining needs. Plentiful off-street parking. 2 X Guest Laundries available FREE of charge. The Lawson is located in Central Wagga! Only 5 minutes walk to the Civic Theatre, the National Art Glass Gallery, Farmers Markets and the main shopping centres. Only a 15 minute drive to the Wagga Wagga airport, Charles Sturt University, Kapooka and Forest Hill military bases, the Livestock Marketing Centre and all Wagga Industrial areas. Situated on the banks of the Murrumbidgee River with direct access to the riverside walking/jogging track. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Lawson Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lawson Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.