We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't rely on the Internet here” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lawson Motor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Lawson Motor Inn to your Saves list
The Lawson Motor Inn
117-121 Tarcutta Street, Wagga Wagga, New South Wales 2650, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Wagga Wagga
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Don't rely on the Internet here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

I often travel with only a tablet and smartphone. Thankfully I took a laptop with me on this trip to the Lawson or I would not have been able to availl myself of the Free Internet as the access is via an ethernet cable (and many modern devices do not have an ehternet port). Once connected to the internet (it was a $5 refundable fee to borrow a cable) I found the service patchy. When I could connect it was speedy but I found that I could'n't always get a connection.

Apart from that and the fact that the only breakfast option was in room we had a great stay at this property. As others have noted the rooms are huge and spotlessly clean, the beds comfortable, the sheets crisp, the staff friendly and the gardens pretty.

We left our tatty bathmat on the floor for replacement on our first morning and the same one was rehung by housekeeping, we had kept out towels for reuse but, as per instructions in room, left the daggy mat down for replacement.

Although it is only a two story property there was an elevator in the building; as someone who has trouble travelling light I appreciated being able to ride upstairs with my gear.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff K, Owner at The Lawson Motor Inn, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thanks for your review. As mentioned elsewhere, the WiFi issue will soon be rectified and available in all rooms and we will address your comments re the bath mat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    40
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
22
51
8
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The rooms are large and well appointed with very comfortable beds. The staff are very friendly and more than willing to try and help when they can. One slight down side is the lack of wireless Internet, you have to go old school and remember to bring your own Internet cable.

Room Tip: Try and stay away from the top of the stairs/elevator as it can be a little noisy when people are co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff K, Owner at The Lawson Motor Inn, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Hi Sally M

Complimentary WiFi is now available in all rooms and common areas so we hope that you will stay with us again when you are next in the Riverina.

Please let us know if we can assist you further in any way.

Regards Geoff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Staff are very happy and helpful throughout the whole stay. Bed was made and dishes were done (which was not expected) every day!!!! Had great rooms, which were very clean and the best shower you could hope for. We will defiantly be staying here again...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff K, Owner at The Lawson Motor Inn, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
MrsWood22

Thanks for your review and apologies for my delay in responding.

We look forward to your return when next in the Riverina.

Regards Geoff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tropical North Queensland
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

If it were possible to give this place 6 stars, I would. At this price point you are getting (almost) 5 star hotel value at a 3 star motel price. Huge, spotless, clean room with a kitchenette and a vast bathroom. Our night was as quiet as a church and you are just a short walk away from plenty of restaurants in the CBD.
Why would you ever go anywhere else when in Wagga?

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff K, Owner at The Lawson Motor Inn, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Thanks Missi0nary

We very much appreciate a review such as this from such an experiences tripadvisor reviewer.

And that is a great tripadvisor name too.

We look forward to the opportunity to serve your accommodation needs when you next visit our area.

Regards Geoff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This place is fantastic! We booked two rooms here for two nights while my husband and I were travelling with my parents. We phoned to make the booking after reading the Tripadvisor reviews and the receptionist could not have been more helpful. We arrived to find that the rooms were large and comfortable and spotlessly clean. Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff K, Owner at The Lawson Motor Inn, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Dear Stepford68,

Thanks very much for your review and we look forward to the chance to see you back if you are passing through Wagga again.

Regards Geoff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

I am rarely shocked when I enter a hotel room but for the price I paid for my room I was taken a back when I entered the door to my room.

This hotel is not only very clean but it has an amazing ambience to it.

The room was huge, it included a small dining table with two chairs, a two seater couch, study table with chair, large TV, closet and large Queen bed. All of this and the room is definitely not cluttered. The kitchenette is more than suitable and has plenty of bench space, a microwave and medium size fridge (not a bar fridge).

The bathroom is also very large and while the room has kept it's dated architecture, it seems to have either recently been renovated or is just kept in incredible condition.

Located about 2 minutes drive max to Wagga central city, and about a 30 second drive to a couple of take away places.

The only negative thing I can say is the motel has quite thin walls so you can hear your neighbours at night. I doubt though it's the type of motel that attracts noisy guests so I don't think there will be many parties at 12:00 at night.

I will definitely book this motel again my next stay in Wagga.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geoff K, Owner at The Lawson Motor Inn, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Thanks TravellersRus4,

We very much appreciate your review and thank you for confirming our rating.

Our management and Staff all work very hard to maintain & exceed our tripadvisor and official Star Ratings.

You must have had noisy neighbours during your stay, as when we built the Motel we went to considerable lengths to include special sound attenuation and thicker sections in all adjoining walls.

Regards Geoff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

A great stay....relatively quiet, ( other than the fact builders don't seem to add dampeners to buildings these days so some echo!!! ) but the decor is lovely.... service excellent. Breakfast was tasty , like real food... (Leaves other motel breakfasts cold, with their soggy, bread. Can recommend the bacon and eggs on Turkish bread... which we asked to be toasted.Would be wonderful if they had an in house restaurant as from experience many eateries in Wagga seem less than quality food unless we are choosing the wrong ones and is so nice on a cold winters night to be able to simply wander back to the room after a great meal. TheLawson was very clean and modern, with excellent bathroom facilities, ample room and bench space. The Lawson was spick and span and very spacious . As an ex local who had never stayed there before, other than the usual motel issue with overly soft beds which seem somewhat unstable when sleepers roll over, it was a great stay. Plus beds always seems small! Nice to find some wine glasses in the cabinet at the end of a long day( as some motels don't bother) ! Great value .! Highly recommend.

Room Tip: As it was way too cold for a swim cannot comment on the pool status. Would be fantastic of they had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lawson Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lawson Motor Inn

Address: 117-121 Tarcutta Street, Wagga Wagga, New South Wales 2650, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Wagga Wagga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 Hotels in Wagga Wagga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
****Wagga's newest and best AAA Rated 4 STAR Motel on the banks of the Murrumbidgee River in the CBD**** FREE Wi-Fi and FREE FOXTEL Channels in all suites. The Lawson Motor Inn has 40 high quality, larger than normal suites. All suites have kitchenettes with full size fridge, microwave & tea/coffee making facilities. We have a chargeback arrangement with a variety of restaurants throughout Wagga Wagga, to cater for our guests dining needs. Plentiful off-street parking. 2 X Guest Laundries available FREE of charge. The Lawson is located in Central Wagga! Only 5 minutes walk to the Civic Theatre, the National Art Glass Gallery, Farmers Markets and the main shopping centres. Only a 15 minute drive to the Wagga Wagga airport, Charles Sturt University, Kapooka and Forest Hill military bases, the Livestock Marketing Centre and all Wagga Industrial areas. Situated on the banks of the Murrumbidgee River with direct access to the riverside walking/jogging track. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Lawson Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lawson Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.