We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice, welcoming motel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Lawson Motor Inn

Save Saved
You added The Lawson Motor Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Lawson Motor Inn
117-121 Tarcutta Street, Wagga Wagga, New South Wales 2650, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 25 hotels in Wagga Wagga
Melbourne
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“A nice, welcoming motel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I only stayed here one night but I found the reception staff very welcoming and very helpful. I had just a standard room overlooking the street but had a quiet night's sleep on a very good bed (firm mattress). The room and bathroom were both large and spotlessly clean but the kitchenette only had a microwave (no oven or cooktop). The shower was extra large and the bathroom had quality toiletries. There were a few nice extra touches such as providing decaf instant coffee sachets as well as regular. Also, while there was no wi fi, there was a free in-room cable broadband connection for laptops. There are a few peculiarities at the Lawson - signs suggesting you limit your shower time (in case the hot water runs out), toasters only available on request (if the in-room smoke detector goes off you share/pay for the fire brigade call out) and no meals except room service breakfast. The motel's location is a little way away from Wagga's CBD but right on the Murrumbidgee River (a very pleasant morning walk or jog). Finally, if you want a good, cheap meal, the Carvery Buffet at the RSL Club is excellent and drink prices are also very reasonable. The RSL also has free wi fi if you need it and a courtesy bus to pick you up and drop you back at the motel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    86
    34
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
21
43
8
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lismore, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

I have to agree with all of the other reviews - this place is superb. The rooms are large, the bathroom enormous and clean, the bed beautiful and plenty of car parks, location to town is great and at a decent price. I'm glad I booked my colleagues in as we all enjoyed our stay. We were upstairs which was quiet, even in the room close to the road. The staff were very helpful and directed us to close by restaurants. Lovely.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Only stayed here due to reading Trip Advisor ratings and it seems to live up to the ratings.

Over priced but beautiful rooms, modern with clean linen and towels, foxtel, Internet & good breakfasts! The water is hot as the rooms use a room by room hot water service & there is plenty of off street parking!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

My husband and I stayed three nights here in early September for our Son's march out parade. His girlfriend also booked a room too. Her room was upstairs above the reception and our room was on the ground floor with a little outdoor area and garden. We weren't disappointed.

After staying in adequate accommodation on the journey to Wagga, it was great to get here and find that the room was really large and comfortable and clean. The bathroom was positively huge and the kitchen area nicely appointed. The room oozed oldie worldly charm. There was plenty of space which ended up being a great advantage as the weather wasn't the best over our stay, and we were able to entertain family in the room and patio area during the day.

The shared laundry outside our room proved to be a hit too, as we needed to do a load while we were there. The cost of this service is free to paying guests.

We found that we were within walking distance to town and this meant that the car got a rest.

We found the staff were very helpful and polite.

The only negatives I can think of were that it would have been nicer to have a little more privacy between the patios on the ground floor. The trellis just wasn't enough. Also, I found I couldn't sleep too well, not from the bed point of view (that was very comfy), but from the fact it was so noisy. I could hear most of what was going on in the rooms on either side of me, which didn't help when one couple came in after a session at the pub and another couple came in really late and got romantic!
Having said that, I still think this motel was a good choice. We enjoyed our stay very much and would return if visiting Wagga Wagga again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We stayed at the Lawson for only one night on our way to northern N.S.W. We hadn’t booked and it was recommended to us by the visitor’s information service as it was meeting all our requirements. The high standards of the Motel were immediately evident by the cheerful receptionist who was most informative about the available accommodation options and facilities. We chose a room on the first floor overlooking the river which was quite large, very well fitted out with a magnificent, large bathroom and a kitchenette. Although not in the middle of town it was within walking distance and very close to many shops and restaurants. And something of a rarity these days, free broadband internet access in the room. All these justify its number one ranking amongst the Hotels in town with Trip Advisor.

Room Tip: First floor rooms with river view are worth considering.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We stayed here for 1 night whilst on a touring holiday. The room was excellent, a big room with a very comfy king size bed that meant a very good sleep after a reasonably long drive with the same again the next day. The bathroom was big with a great shower and lots of room. The Lawson is very close to all amenities, shops and eateries etc. but in a quiet location so no disturbances. Our room was on the ground floor at the end of the block, a good location. We had dinner at the Hog's Breath which has a facility with the Lawson to book your meal back your room account, as does several other restaurants in the town, a great idea.
Highly Recommended for your stay in Wagga Wagga.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room if you have a mobility problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Stayed in Wagga for one night to see our son march out. Booked the Lawson and so happy we did. What a lovely motor inn - with the lovliest staff. Brekky great. Just everything absolutely right about it. Room unreal - would so happily stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 3 - on I guess one of the main roads - but it was so quiet anyway upstairs - very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Lawson Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lawson Motor Inn

Address: 117-121 Tarcutta Street, Wagga Wagga, New South Wales 2650, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Wagga Wagga
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 hotels in Wagga Wagga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lawson has a range of 4 STAR federation style, spacious motel accommodations. Relax and unwind in one of our luxurious suites & feel at home even if you are away from home.The Lawson is located in central Wagga Wagga, a short stroll to shops, restaurants, Wagga Civic Theatre and facilities. *40 Larger than normal suites with high quality, elegant fixtures and fittings. *Located on the banks of the Murrumbidgee River with direct access to the riverside walking/jogging track. *Kitchenettes in all suites. *Off street parking. *FREE wired broadband & WI-FI in all suites. *Conference room, boardroom facilities with full catering offered. *Friendly staff. ***FREE WI-FI NOW AVAILABLE*** ***Elegant accommodation at affordable prices!!!*** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Lawson Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lawson Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.