We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop drinking and eat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Romano's Hotel Restaurant

Romano's Hotel Restaurant
Corner of Sturt and Fitzmaurice Streets, Wagga Wagga, New South Wales 2650, Australia
(02) 69 212 013
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #67 of 90 restaurants in Wagga Wagga
Cuisines: Dessert, International
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Lane Cove
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Stop drinking and eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Romano's is the place to go especially of a Friday after work. The restaurant has an excellent menu and warm ambiance. It is not just a pub bistro, it is a real restaurant but without pretention or an inflated price tag. Well worth a visit.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

43% Recommend
    4
    6
    7
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wagga Wagga
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“A little hit and miss.........”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Went here for a meal with a very large party recently. The menu wasn't anything too exceptional - traditional pub favorites with a twist or two, but offered a good variety at slightly above average prices. I had a steak which was very good. There was a mix up with two meals and so two of our party didn't eat until the rest of us had finished. This really isn't good enough and reduced my star rating for Romano's from 4 to 3. Note that Romano's don't split the bill which is inconvenient, especially with such a large party. I will come back again for another try sometime.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Poor food for a restaurant”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

When you walk into the restaurant, it is done really nicely and so lifted your expectation for the food. It charges pricey restaurant prices but serve pub quality meals.

I tried to gozleme, but it is nothing more than a piece of dough that's filled with ricotta (mixed cuisine?) that has been deep fried.

While the restaurant was near empty when I was there, the staff was friendly but rarely paid you any attention. It took a long time to get any service when required.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Terrible, won't stay again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

wasn't expecting a 5* or anything but for $45 a night would have expected a sink which wasn't peeling of it;s paint, a power point next to the kettle, had to move it to the only socket in the room which was not safe really to use, the bathroom was miles away from my room and was not really appealing.
No breakfast offered, found this a real drain on my bank balance

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Really enjoyable.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I've dined at Romano's both before they refitted the restaurant, and brought in the new menu.

It has really become a great place to dine. The food is good quality and the meals are well proportioned and good value. The changing specials are also usually very good.

The service could use some work, but I suspect it was due to lack of experience on the part of the staff.

I'd recommend the restaurant.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Romano's Hotel Restaurant also viewed

Wagga Wagga, New South Wales
Wagga Wagga, New South Wales
 
Wagga Wagga, New South Wales
Wagga Wagga, New South Wales
 

Been to Romano's Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Romano's Hotel Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.