We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OLDER STYLE MOTEL BUT QUIET AND COMFORTABLE” 3 of 5 stars
Review of City Park Motel

City Park Motel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added City Park Motel to your Saves list
City Park Motel
3.5 of 5 Motel   |   1 Tarcutta Street, Wagga Wagga, New South Wales 2650, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 25 Hotels in Wagga Wagga
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“OLDER STYLE MOTEL BUT QUIET AND COMFORTABLE”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

My friends and I have stayed at this motel on 3 previous occasions but we have always stayed in one of their apartments in the street around the corner. The 5 apartments are either one bedroom or two and are quite old (probably 60's building) but are clean enough. Our favourite apartment has two bedrooms, one with a queen bed and one with a double and 2 singles. With a separate lounge, dining and full kitchen areas, it meets the needs of 4 blokes perfectly on a weekend visit to an event in town. My only comment to the owners is to watch their rates for the older style apartments as at $200 per night, you are very much at a level where your newer competition could take your business away if you shopped around.

Most recently, I visited by myself and stayed in one of the standard motel rooms. This was more than comfortable for me given I wasn't in the room a lot. The air-conditioining was fine for the 32 degree Nov day and cooled the closed up room quickly when you got back to the motel. My only criticism was of the group of workers who obviously stay a bit. They chose to sit on seats outside their rooms and smoke and talk a lot early in the morning (6:30am), before starting up their noisy diesel work utes, disturbing the sleep of others.

Room Tip: Try for a room towards the rear of the motel, a little further away from busy Tarcutta St. I doubt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    11
    9
    2
    5
See reviews for
10
5
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

The service was terrible, lady at reception was quite happy to argue with us, it was late, we had young children (aged 2 and 4) they wanted more money for the kids. When we refused they said we would not get any other motel in Wagga Wagga. We took our chances and left, and found a motel that was larger room and cheaper! I felt they tried to rip us off as we were vulnerable and they thought we would just pay what they asked as we had the young children settled.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2010

I have stayed at this hotel a few times over the years and thought it was time I wrote a review. Firstly, Wagga Wagga is a pretty big place for country NSW and there are a lot of hotels to choose from in and around town.

Having said that, I have not stayed anywhere else for a long time. The staff are very friendly, the rooms are very clean, have some pay-tv channels and free wireless internet. It's right next to the one of the main roads and highway, so it's easy to find, but there's no traffic noise.

The middle of town is just a few minutes walk across a sports oval, which can be a nice stretch of the legs after a long days drive. The main street has lots of restaurants and take-away places for you to choose from.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wangaratta, Australia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2008

I have stayed at this motel several times, most recently early December 2008.
The motel is a basic motel has excellent owners and staff who go out of their way to look after you. There is a garden setting.
The rooms are comfortable. The most recent one I stayed in had a queen and a single bed. All the beds have electric blankets for the winter weather.
The usual tea and coffee facilities are available, a fridge, TV and airconditioning. The bathroom was well stocked with small soaps, shampoo, shower caps, ample towels, face towels, cotton buds etc. The room was very clean and tidy.
The motel is just off the main road (Sturt Hwy) and close to the centre of Wagga. Traffic noise is not a problem.
There is a large park, Bolton Park, over the road and a swimming centre nearby.

  • Liked — Service, Price and facilities
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2008

My friends and i booked the City park motel for a long weekend away to Wagga, We expected a real price point accommodation. We were surprised how comfortable the rooms were to start with. The service we received from the owner was far beyond the call of duty. I would highly recommend this motel for anyone traveling through Wagga looking for good country hospitality and comfort. thanks for making our stay so enjoyable.

  • Liked — the service
  • Disliked — it was ideal for us
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to City Park Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Park Motel

Address: 1 Tarcutta Street, Wagga Wagga, New South Wales 2650, Australia
Location: Australia > New South Wales > Wagga Wagga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 25 Hotels in Wagga Wagga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City Park Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your City Park Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Park Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.