We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love my thai food and this place serves some good thai food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Green Palace Thai Restaurant

Green Palace Thai Restaurant
182 King St. Newtown, Sydney, New South Wales 2042, Australia (Inner West)
+61 2 9550 5234
Improve this listing
Ranked #803 of 4,210 Restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $4 - $8
Cuisines: Thai, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner
Neighborhood: Inner West
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“I love my thai food and this place serves some good thai food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

I love my thai food and this place serves some good thai food so if you love thai food like I do then come here and I have been here over 10 times I love the food so much

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    4
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Best vege mock food you can find in Sydney - 6 stars!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

I am so surprised at finding this place only has 3 reviews. If i could i would give it 6 stars. The food is sooooo delicious. I don't bother going for the menu, just choose from the cooked dishes in the bain-marie. Favourites include the mock duck, the vege curry, the crispy soy and almost all dishes eaten. Recommend highly. Just to let you know the ambience isn't something i would rate highly, but the food makes up for it!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great range of food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

It was along the busy strip in Newtown. A very popular choice. I was very impressed with the range of foods, and the subtle flavours in the dishes we chose. Anything with mushrooms in it is highly recommended, as are the dumplings.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whangarei, New Zealand
Top Contributor
399 reviews 399 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
324 helpful votes 324 helpful votes
“Good but choose well”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

I was lucky to go with Thai friends and this made a huge difference. They chose the menu items and we were well looked after. It is a very informal place and popular with alternative lifestyle people, vegetarians and health conscious/price conscious people.

Newtown is a buzzing place for food and bars so having a full vegetarian option like this - which is rare in Sydney - is good.

The food we had was very good.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Decent Vegetarian Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

Decent veggie food although it can a little greasy.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Palace Thai Restaurant also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Summer Hill, Ashfield
 

Been to Green Palace Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Palace Thai Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.