We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great local vibe!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Cow

Sea Cow
110E Boundary St, Sydney, New South Wales 2021, Australia
(02) 9332 2458
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,849 of 5,306 Restaurants in Sydney
Price range: $13 - $26
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian, Fish & Chips
Restaurant details
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great local vibe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Now this is a tiny, and I mean tiny local haunt of ours... there are about eight tables inside, and four outside... it's mainly locals who know that it exists... it's on the corner of Boundary and Liverpool st.in Paddington...one orders and pays at the counter and then the waiter will bring the food to your table.. it's BYO and the food is the reason why the locals keep this little establishment busy... I must say I have noticed the meals are getting a tad expensive... what used to be a $17 meal is now $22... but the seafood is fresh !

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    4
    1
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Irving, Texas, United States
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good, casual seafood away from tourist area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

This restaurant was recommended by a local. It's good, casual, basic seafood. We really enjoyed the change of pace from the tourist areas. It's BYO, so bring your favorite bottle of wine with you. Also. Cash only.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“great weekend lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

An excellent casual cafe for a summer weekend lunch.
Staff are great and the seafood is always consistently good.
Prices are ok.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Good Fish and chips in a casual atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2012

Sea Cow is no upmarket seafood restaurant, but it is a great cheap casual seafood place.
Its tiny, with only a few tables, as I think most of its customers take away.
The fish is fresh, the calamari is great, and this is a no nonsense small local eatery,and you get value for money.
.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great fish and seafood, BYO wine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

We tried this place on the recommendation of our hotel, which turned out to be a great find! Reservations aren't needed on a weeknight, but do plan ahead and BYO wine; they just charge a few dollars for corkage. The seafood is fresh and very reasonably priced (under $20, with many items under $15) — this was the first time we had ever had barramundi, and it was great! Order at the counter, serve yourself water and glasses from the fridge, and they'll bring you your food. Some outside dining, but those tables go fast. Casual with lots of regulars and locals, not touristy. Wish we could have gone back!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sea Cow also viewed

Sydney, New South Wales
Sydney, New South Wales
 
Sydney, New South Wales
Stanmore, Sydney
 

Been to Sea Cow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Cow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.